We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay at St Jordi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Jordi Apartments

Save Saved
You added St. Jordi Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St. Jordi Apartments
Comtal street, 33, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Barri Gòtic)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #306 of 516 hotels in Barcelona
Bodrum City, Turkey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay at St Jordi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My mum and I stayed in the St Jordi Apartments on Carrer Fontanella from 11th to 15th February and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The apartments are roomy, spotlessly clean and in an ideal situation.

The small kitchen area has everything you need for making a snack (including fridge and microwave) - apart from a kettle (I had read this previously and had taken a travel kettle with me). There's a dining table which seats four and a sofa. There's also a small sideboard and a great flat-screen TV. There's a washing machine if you need one and cleaning materials are to hand.

The two single beds are very comfortable and the bathroom had everything needed (including hairdryer), with a plentiful supply of hot water. Bath sheets and hand towels were changed daily. There's a safe in the wardrobe.

Both the lounge and the bedroom had a balcony - we were on the third floor and it was great to look out over the street below and watch the world go by.

The location is ideal. Just down the side of El Corte Ingles, two minutes' walk to Placa de Catalunya, five minutes' walk to Las Ramblas. It's a safe location, the street it's on is well lit and busy most of the time. Having said that, the double glazing is fantastic and once the balcony doors are shut, you really don't hear any traffic noise at all.

Getting there from Barcelona is so easy - just catch the Aerobus from the airport and get off at Placa de Catalunya and within two minute you're at the apartment!!

I really can't recommend these apartments highly enough. Just a couple of tips - next door is a Chinese buffet restaurant. The food on offer was okay but not nearly warm enough, it wasn't even lukewarm. We did find a fantastic little restaurant. If you go to the top of Las Ramblas and take the first street off to the right, you will see a small place on the right called Restaurant Tallers. It's a homely kind of place (it is busier at lunchtime than in the evening) and is really clean. You get a four course meal (nothing fancy, just good wholesome food) plus wine (half a bottle per person) and bread for 9 euros - bargain!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front to enjoy the balconies and the "people watching" opportunities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    8
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
9
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mooloolaba, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

St. Jordi apartments were perfect for spending a few days in the centre of Barcelona. The apartments were spotlessly clean and had great modern appliances (kitchenette and washing machine). Our apartment was upstairs and we could look out of the balcony on the centre of town. We were met on arrival and greeted very pleasantly and given all the information we needed. Would recommend these apartments to visitors to Barcelona.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

- Great location (Close to Placa Catalunya), good bed, decent living room and nice kitchen/utensils.
- Apartment interiors were ok.
- Extremely poor air conditioning (it was so warm we couldn't sleep properly)
- No service at all- they don't have a reception and there is no staff/person you can easily contact in emergency or for any guidance. The main phone was never picked. The mail was not responded to. After a lot of struggle we reached someone who couldn't speak English !
- No hot water on the second day and again no one to help...
- Our apartment had poor ventilation and there was no view at all, not even a street. It felt quite claustrophobic in there.
- We were charged us a late check-in fee of 15Euros for reaching after 10pm (which was not mentioned at the time of booking).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Great location; adjacent fabulous food market; not far to walk to Las Ramblas where tour buses depart; clean, comfortable; well looked after; no microwave. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the street - double glazed windows,. no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houten, Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

Clean, good beds, great bath/shower. Kitchen has all basic things you may need.
Great location. Most Barcelona highlights within walking distance. Right next to an indoor marketplace.
Nice view.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2008

These apartments are like something from a horror movie. Words cannot describe this place, but I'll give it a try...

Do you like giant cockroaches that are not afraid of humans? Well then this is the place for you. Never in my life have I seen such disgusting conditions. The bathrooms are full av cockroaches, stains, strange fluids and other filty things. The room makes you feel like you're in Guantanamo Bay...and if you're taller than 175 cm the beds will be way too small.

Do NOT trust the pictures you've seen of this place, there is no similarity between them and the real thing!

My room faced some kind of air vent, so falling asleep was literally impossible because of the noise, and strangely enough there was no air in this air vent so the room was extremely stuffy. And trust me: you do not want a stuffy room in Barcelona during the summer, unless you want to have the worst vacation in your life.

As if falling asleep wasn't hard enough, every night a very annoying south american guy from the staff banged on everybodys door trying to make people go out and party with him....it felt like he only worked there because he was desperate for friends which was kind of creepy.

Yes, this place is just as weird as it sounds, and even weirder....I'm actually shocked that it still exists...I was psychologically and physically broken down when I got home, first I showered for an hour and then I slept for 16 hours....what a horrible experience

  • Liked — leaving it
  • Disliked — entering it
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2006

web site of apartments.

---

BOOKINGS
c/ Aribau, 185 - 5º 4ª - 08021 Barcelona
Tel. ---
Fax. ---
email;
---

in the Gothic area! Check out their web site above.

We stayed at this easy to find, apartment for 5 nights as a family. 3 bedroom 2 bathrooms (other sizes available), fully equipped kitchen, lift, quiet, located walking distance to most attractions and bus/train stations. Walking distance from Plaça Catalunya and rumbla.
Daily maid service at our requested time. 140euos+ vat or tax per night for a family of 4. Who can beat that? Cash or credit card.


  • Liked — Location price 2 bathrooms kitchen maid service A/C TV
  • Disliked — no phone- no problem for us
  • Tips/Secrets — The shopping mall Gloria is 3 stops from this apartment , next to the big bullet shapped building. Mall for locals, CHEAP!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St. Jordi Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Jordi Apartments

Address: Comtal street, 33, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Barri Gòtic
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #306 of 516 hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your St. Jordi Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Jordi Apartments Hotel Barcelona
St. Jordi Apartments Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Jordi Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.