We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location - which gives this hotel the fourth star as it had some issues” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Miramar Barcelona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Miramar Barcelona to your Saves list
Hotel Miramar Barcelona
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Carlos Ibanez 3, 08038 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic location - which gives this hotel the fourth star as it had some issues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

There's no denying the fantastic location, beautiful views and proximity to the centre of Barcelona due to the cable car and public transport.

All the staff were incredibly helpful and the breakfast (though rather pricy) gorgeous. We ate in the restaurant on our first evening and apart from having to wait a rather long time for our main course, it was worth is as everything we were served was delicious. (The head waiter apologised profusely for the delay and offered us a drink on the house as compensation.) We also tried out room service which again was superb (and actually reasonably priced). The free wi-fi worked without any problems.

The room was very boutique as described on the hotel's website, however: The doors to the shower didn't meet properly, hence one stepped into a pool of water after each shower. Obviously a design fault. The flatscreen TV was quite small - I had expected something bigger for a room this size. It almost felt like an afterthought.

What was really frustrating was the noise from other guests and the bar. The layout of the different floors means that most rooms are facing a 'common area' which is the centre of the hotel. Consequently, as sound travels upwards, we could hear people talking on our own floor and below us. Friday and Saturday evening we couldn't choose to listen to the pianist as the music was audible in our room behind our closed door. The room doors also slammed from early morning and into the late evening. So noise was an issue.

For the price of our stay, we did expect something more exceptional and unfortunately, we didn't feel that the hotel lived up to that.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    150
    41
    30
    31
See reviews for
77
310
12
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bodmin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent 9 days at this hotel from 25th March till the 3rd April, we chose the Hotel Miramar because of all the great reviews on Trip Advisor. We had upgraded to a suite before our stay and upon our arrival, the reception staff were helpful and our room was ready straightaway. I would say after staying in Barcelona for that length of time that this hotel has got one of the best views, we certainly picked the right hotel for us. Our suite was very spacious, queen bed and large bathroom. The only problem we had was that the canopy kept coming out onto the balcony shading the sun, to cut a long story short we changed rooms to another suite, which was not as big as the first but had better views. We used the gym and spa facilities, I had one of the best massages (called Journey to the nile) i've ever had. Overall the hotel ticked all our boxes, very helpful front desk staff, bar staff good fun and the waitresses at breakfast, brilliant! and we could relax and chill out using the hotel facilities and then head off downtown when it suited us. The only gripe we had was the rather unhelpful restaurant manager, we liked to go and get our breakfast, take it up to the room then go have a gym workout and eat our breakfast later, he didn't like this and certainly told us so. We did speak to the general manager who was very helpful and kind, all in all if you are looking for a relaxing break in a busy city, we would definately recommend this hotel. Tip: A great locals tapas bar called Canete, just off the La Ramblas in Union Street is a must!

Room Tip: We had room 402 & 517, the dual aspect rooms are better as you have a very good view of obth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time in Hotel Miramar so I did not know what to expect. I was very surprised with the warm welcoming at the reception. The staff explained me what to do where to go in barcelona and gave me many good adresses. The room was beatiful with a breathtaking seaview. I had really good dishes and amazing wine in their restaurant Forestier. I'd say that was one of my best vacations, I could enjoy the calm relaxing atmosphere of the hotel and the fun of Barcelona at the same time

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

An outstanding hotel in a stunning location. Satff were brilliant and the rooms clean and beautifully turned out. One slight problem - though the weather was anything but red hot - the ouitdoor pool was closed for renovation work. Let's hope we can enjoy it on our next stay.
The Forestiere restaurant where we ate on the final night was stunning. I can highly recommend the sample menu - and reckon the six course menu is probably even better if that's possible!! Thoroughly enjoyable and would recommend this hotel to anyone who fancies an upmarket stay in this fantastic city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0telMiramar, Front Office Manager at Hotel Miramar Barcelona, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Edward H

Thank you for selecting our hotel for your recent trip to Barcelona and for writing such a nice review about your stay. Our goal is to ensure that our guests are 100% satisfied with their stay so we are glad to read that we exceeded your expectations.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon on the summer season to enjoy our outdoor pool!

Paula Forero
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
One Hyde park, London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

When we arrived at this disgusting looking building which looked like a car park, there were no staff members at the desk or front door so we had to wait 15 minutes until served. As soon as we checked in, we were told to make our own way up to an absolutely horrible suite with no facilities. The pool and spa were both shut during our visit which was not meant to be the case, resulting in a very unhappy family. The food was horrendous, as well as the unhelpful staff. The worst part of this horrendous hotel was the outrageous cleaners who didn't replenish any of our bedroom amenities such as shampoo, conditioner, bubble baths towels, and drinks which caused mayhem.

This hotel is a joke, next time we're staying in the 'W' which is far better.

Not recommended under any circumstance whatsoever. Worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0telMiramar, Front Office Manager at Hotel Miramar Barcelona, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Britishairwaysfirst,
First of all thank you for taking a few minutes from your valuable time to write a review of our hotel. I sincerely apologize for this accumulation of shortcomings, your comments are really important to us but they don´t match with our standards so I would really appreciate if you give me the opportunity to contact you directly to discuss what happened to the email address pforero@hotelmiramarbarcelona.com or to the phone number +34 932811600.
We were really surprise to read the way you describe our hotel building taking on account that our hotel was an old Palace Alfonso XIII opened on the mountain of Montjuic, during the celebration of the international exhibition in Barcelona in 1929 and we do maintain the original façade. Our Miramar suites are 45m2 dedicated to luxury and comfort with an adjoining lounge and spectacular views to the city of sea. Since we are always improving to make our guest stay more enjoyable we would appreciate if you inform us about the facilities you were expecting to have since I doubled checked with housekeeping and the preferred boutique group standard facilities are offered. Since guest satisfaction is our number 1 goal we will serious study the possibility of introducing your suggestions.
As for the inconvenience with our spa we would apologize because due to maintenance routine works we closed the indoor pool from the 02nd until the 4rd of April, but I double checked with our maintenance team and our other spa facilities such as Jacuzzi, sauna, hammam and treatments were opened for our guest to enjoy all time. Although the Jacuzzi, sauna and hammam were opened we do understand that for some our guest the indoor heated pool was important so to the guest that inform us about this inconvenience in the front desk we offer the possibility to go to Hotel Rey Juan Carlos I to use their facilities offering as well complimentary transportation facilities.
Considering the above you can understand our honest interest in clarifying your stay and perception of our hotel. As you can see on recent Tripadvisor reviews, we are proud to read that thanks to our commitment with guest satisfaction we receive really positive comments in all aspects and we are sure that if you give us the opportunity we will be able to change your review into a positive one.
Thanking you again for your time and your comments, I look forward to hearing from you soon

Yours Sincerely,

Paula Forero
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband took me to hotel miramar for a birthday treat -and what a treat! I have one day of my trip left and I simply could not wait to post a review. The setting is delightful - extremely peaceful, overlooking a quiet park; 20mins walk to centre or 2 mins to cablecar to barceloneta. Room unbelievable -modern, kingsize bed, enormous bathroom and I have never met such charming, helpful, friendly and welcoming staff - a special mention to Marc on reception for answering our endless questions with such grace, and to Mohha who welcomed us in the bar each evening with such friendliness and professionalism - I cannot thank you all enough for what has been my best ever hotel experience (and I have travelled a lot!)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0telMiramar, Front Office Manager at Hotel Miramar Barcelona, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Sopenick

Greetings from sunny Barcelona! Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this inspirational feedback, we are glad to read that you enjoyed the time with us!
I will pass on your compliments to Marc and Moha, comments like yours are inspiring for all the members of our team and stimulate us to improve the service every day!

It would be wonderful and an honor to welcome you again!

Paula Forero
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Spent three nights here and used as a base for exploring the city on foot.
The room, food and personal service from the helpful staff were all beyond expectation, as were the views from the terrace and our room.Only spoiler was the officious and rather silly maitre d' who made us feel less than welcome at dinner on the first night. He wanted us to know how busy he was and how lucky we were that he found us a table (all nonsense of course).
Although he let his colleagues down, I did not think it fair to mark the hotel down. There are of course plenty of excellent restaurants in Barcelona if you don't wish to be treated thus.

Room Tip: Front room with view of port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0telMiramar, Front Office Manager at Hotel Miramar Barcelona, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear TonyLeMasurier

Thank you so much for taking time to write such a nice review about our property and your stay with us. We are glad to read that we exceed your expectations.

On the other side, we would like to apologize for the situation you encountered in the restaurant. I already passed your comments to the F&B manager who will make a proper follow up about what happened to gain a better understanding of what has shaped your perception on the service.

Thank you again for your comments; we will be looking forward to host you again during your next visit to Barcelona

Paula Forero
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Miramar Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar Barcelona

Address: Plaza Carlos Ibanez 3, 08038 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#65 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#74 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#80 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#81 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Miramar Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Miramar Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Miramar Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Miramar Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.