We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Emilia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Emilia to your Saves list
Villa Emilia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Calabria 115-117, 08015 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #22 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rhinebeck, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

We just returned from seven nights at this boutique hotel in Barcelona. It is an exceptional value. Rooms are good sized--small but not cramped. It is well situated a short block from the Metro which takes you (very quickly) to almost all of the major attractions. The staff is helpful and friendly. The room service to top notch. We'd return tomorrow if we could.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,032
    474
    77
    18
    11
See reviews for
163
1,043
41
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, england
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

Had high expectations for this place given the high ranking and good past reviews. It didn't disappoint. The hotel is in a great spot just far enough out of the mayham of the touristy Ramblas but close enough to be in the heart of the action in a 5 min tube ride. The rocafort tube station is literally a 30 second walk around teh corner. The hotel itself is lovely, the rooms are a nice size and our room looked out onto the front of the hotel - I didn't have a problem with noise. The bathroom is lovely and modern - but yes the shower did tend to soak the floor. Another potential problem is the aircon, it didn't impact us but it didn't seem to be switched on and if it was hotter it might have got uncomfortable. I didn't think they have the system working till summer hits properly. We got a great rate that included breakfast which was fab - lovely choices and all presented in a really nice way. The staff were also helpful and friendly. Overall a great choice for a weekend in barcelona and I'd definatley stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2009

The price was $117/day with tax, but without breakfast on bookings.com. The room was large, with modern decoration. The front desk staff was attentive and helpful and performed beyond expectations. The hotel is a half block from the Rocofort Metro stop, and within walking distance of the Placa Catalunya and the old city. There are many small restaurants in the neighborhood for breakfast; the hotel charges 13 euros per person per night. There was a dispute with the bill which was resolved fairly and promptly. I booked the Villia Emilia because of the outstanding Trip Advisor reviews which are deserved. Stay here!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

An excellent small hotel situated yards from the Rocofort metro. We have just returned from a three night break and find it hard to fault this hotel. We booked a three night package which included breakfast and welome drink for E110 (£100) per room/night, which we think is very good value for a city hotel. The standard rooms were of a good size and attractively furnished in contemporary style, and the bathroom had large walk-in shower. Breakfasts were excellent - a good selection of fresh juices, meats, cheeses, cakes brads and pastries and even cava! Luckily we even had enough sun to enjoy the lovely roof terrace too! We would definitely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

Nice rooms, spotlessly clean, modern and comfortable beds. A little on the small side although this is to be expected for a European city.

Small irritations; the shower fluctuated between luke warm and scorchingly hot which certainly kept you on your toes! The toilet seemed to have a life of its own and would occasionally flush spontaneously whilst neither of us were in the bathroom.

We didn't stay for breakfast as it was 13 Euro's each for continental breakfast, and for just 8 Euros between us we could get fantastic brunches in some lovely friendly local cafe's.

Location: Slightly too far out for us despite the metro being next door. With hindsight we would have been happier in the Bari Gotic as this was more our scene with a higher density of bars, restaurants etc. However Eixample grew on us after strolling the streets, it's a friendly residential neighbourhood with a nice vibe to it.

I was apprehensive about the trip as the majority of people I know who have visited Barcelona were mugged or pickpocketed during their stay. We were on our guard but had no problems. On the flight on the way back there were 2 groups of men who said they had been mugged around La Ramblas area at night. This area gets slightly rough towards the docks at the bottom of town, so take care in the evenings.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

Lovely hotel, close to a tube stop helfway between Placa de Cataluna and Placa de Espana. Modern room, brown and cream, wooden/laminte flooring.
Would classify this as a boutique hotel, small dining area for breakfast and a bar with Piano. Bar area lucks like a wine bar, so much that we almost missed the entrance.

There is an open terrace bar at the top which I imagine is great in the warm months.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granollers, Barcelona
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2009

Nice hotel, well situated to visit Barcelona, not very expensive for the Barcelona standard (I do work in Barcelona and lived there for more than 30 years). The shower is nice a wide even though you finish with half the bathroom wet!! :-) I had an inner room which was very quiet. The view from the window was a typical inner part of buildings blocks in this area of the city (l'Eixample).
I have choosen this hotel because it was near for a friend's place and I was leaving Barcelona very early in the morning. It did the worl. I did not expect such a good breakfast. Everything was delicious, pastries, honey, mermelades, white wine, natural orange juice, etc. Moreover, at night, there was a very nice atmosphere with someone playing a piano while visitors where having a cocktail.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Emilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Emilia

Address: Calle Calabria 115-117, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#21 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#51 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Emilia 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Emilia is a modern property situated in a prime location in the heart of Barcelona, perfect for business travelers and holidays trips. Its 53 double guestrooms are fully equipped and decorated with exquisite taste. Guests can enjoy Mediterranean food in the Zinc-Bar, lounge on our famous Terrace, enjoying live DJ/music and cocktails, or organize special events and meetings in the Salon Rojo and El Privat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, T4B, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Villa Emilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Villa Emilia Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Emilia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.