We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Emilia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Emilia to your Saves list
Villa Emilia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Calabria 115-117, 08015 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #23 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice boutique hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed for a couple of nights in January with my 18 year old daughter and we loved it. We had 2 double rooms, very comfortable and clean. Mine had a bathtub too. Breakfast was delicious and plenty of it. We had great cocktails in the bar too. The staff were very helpful and accommodating.
A nice quiet location. Easy to get to everything as the Metro station is only a 2 minute walk. Great to come back to in the evening after a busy day sightseeing. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    996
    462
    76
    18
    11
See reviews for
156
1,016
40
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel is a beautiful Boutique Hotel located in downtown Barcelona.
It is not too far from many of the attractions and is in a quieter area and not on a busy thoroghfare.
Renovated in recent years it relies on Trip Advisor referrals and I am glad to add it to the list of "Thumbs up" places to stay. It does not have resort type amenities but it is pleasant, clean and well maintained.
Great value for the money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Just returned from a three night stay. Metro is a five minute walk away so location is not a problem. Indeed, it means that the hotel is in a quiet area but allows easy access to all main attractions. If using the metro a reasonable amount the T10 ticket is a MUST slicing the normal fares around a half. Rooms at the Villa Emelia are modern and cleaned every day - breakfasts were excellent - piano (live at weekends) bar full of atmosphere and warm surroundings. All staff were great...without exception. This hotel not only caters for its guests - it cares for them too! Excellent.
Stuart and Jackie

Room Tip: We stayed on the fourth floor and the double glazing was so good that no road noise was present. Ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I picked this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews and was so impressed. The hotel staff were so personable and the decor was spectacular. The breakfast was the best I've seen after recently visiting Paris, Vienna and Munich. It is a special find in the heart of Barcelona and easy to get around.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in Jan 13.
The hotel was modern, friendly and clean.
The staff were very good too.
I think you would get more from this hotel during the summer months as you could sit on the beautiful roof terrace and relax. As there are no heaters it is impossible during colder spells which is a shame.
Although there are lots of restaurants and bars around the hotel it is not close to the main attractions. If you like a lot of walking you'll be happy here.
The only real downside was that the rooms were very warm and the air con is not switched on until summer. This means you have to have your window open which can be rather noisy.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed at Villa Emilia in September 2012 and overall really loved the location, service and the rooms. The staff were extremely helpful and very attentive. My only critique would be, the pillows - were flat and hard (so bring your own) and the rooms don't have a bath tubs. I think hotel has some rooms with bath tubs, but VERY few. Obviously that is not a deal breaker.....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We (party of 5) stayed last weekend and were very happy with our stay. Our rooms were ready early and were clean and comfortable and had a safe. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were offered breakfast €10 per day and it was so tasty with plenty to eat and a good range of food on offer. We also ate in the restaurant the first night and enjoyed the music. We enjoyed complimentary afternoon tea each which was plentiful and delicious. Drinks are a little expensive with a Bacardi without a coke costing €8.

My sister's handbag was robbed and the manager and staff were most helpful in identifying the culprits and taking her to meet the police. I would advise travellers to be extra careful with handbags etc. from the time you arrive in the airport as there are a lot of pickpockets on the lookout for vulnerable people.
All in all we had a fab few days in Barcelona and were extremely satisfied with Villa Emilia and will definitely return again and recommend family and friends also.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Villa Emilia, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We wished to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments about our manager and staff and for letting us know what was interesting for you during your stay in Barcelona. We especially thank you for sharing your opinion about Villa Emilia on Tripadvisor as it is always interesting for other travellers to read positive comments about our hotel. In regards to the incident with the robbery to your sister’s handbad, we are sorry for any inconvenience you may have had. As you advice, it is very important to be extra careful with our luggage, handbags, etc. from the time we arrive in the airport. If people take care of their belongings, the time they spend in Barcelona will be always great. Thank you for your time and comments, and we truly do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Emilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Emilia

Address: Calle Calabria 115-117, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#36 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Emilia 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Emilia is a modern property situated in a prime location in the heart of Barcelona, perfect for business travelers and holidays trips. Its 53 double guestrooms are fully equipped and decorated with exquisite taste. Guests can enjoy Mediterranean food in the Zinc-Bar, lounge on our famous Terrace, enjoying live DJ/music and cocktails, or organize special events and meetings in the Salon Rojo and El Privat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, T4B, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Emilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Villa Emilia Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Emilia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.