We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Emilia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Emilia to your Saves list
Villa Emilia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Calabria 115-117, 08015 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #32 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel is a beautiful Boutique Hotel located in downtown Barcelona.
It is not too far from many of the attractions and is in a quieter area and not on a busy thoroghfare.
Renovated in recent years it relies on Trip Advisor referrals and I am glad to add it to the list of "Thumbs up" places to stay. It does not have resort type amenities but it is pleasant, clean and well maintained.
Great value for the money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,048
    487
    80
    18
    13
See reviews for
167
1,063
41
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Storrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Just returned from a three night stay. Metro is a five minute walk away so location is not a problem. Indeed, it means that the hotel is in a quiet area but allows easy access to all main attractions. If using the metro a reasonable amount the T10 ticket is a MUST slicing the normal fares around a half. Rooms at the Villa Emelia are modern and cleaned every day - breakfasts were excellent - piano (live at weekends) bar full of atmosphere and warm surroundings. All staff were great...without exception. This hotel not only caters for its guests - it cares for them too! Excellent.
Stuart and Jackie

Room Tip: We stayed on the fourth floor and the double glazing was so good that no road noise was present. Ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I picked this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews and was so impressed. The hotel staff were so personable and the decor was spectacular. The breakfast was the best I've seen after recently visiting Paris, Vienna and Munich. It is a special find in the heart of Barcelona and easy to get around.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in Jan 13.
The hotel was modern, friendly and clean.
The staff were very good too.
I think you would get more from this hotel during the summer months as you could sit on the beautiful roof terrace and relax. As there are no heaters it is impossible during colder spells which is a shame.
Although there are lots of restaurants and bars around the hotel it is not close to the main attractions. If you like a lot of walking you'll be happy here.
The only real downside was that the rooms were very warm and the air con is not switched on until summer. This means you have to have your window open which can be rather noisy.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed at Villa Emilia in September 2012 and overall really loved the location, service and the rooms. The staff were extremely helpful and very attentive. My only critique would be, the pillows - were flat and hard (so bring your own) and the rooms don't have a bath tubs. I think hotel has some rooms with bath tubs, but VERY few. Obviously that is not a deal breaker.....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We (party of 5) stayed last weekend and were very happy with our stay. Our rooms were ready early and were clean and comfortable and had a safe. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were offered breakfast €10 per day and it was so tasty with plenty to eat and a good range of food on offer. We also ate in the restaurant the first night and enjoyed the music. We enjoyed complimentary afternoon tea each which was plentiful and delicious. Drinks are a little expensive with a Bacardi without a coke costing €8.

My sister's handbag was robbed and the manager and staff were most helpful in identifying the culprits and taking her to meet the police. I would advise travellers to be extra careful with handbags etc. from the time you arrive in the airport as there are a lot of pickpockets on the lookout for vulnerable people.
All in all we had a fab few days in Barcelona and were extremely satisfied with Villa Emilia and will definitely return again and recommend family and friends also.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Villa Emilia, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We wished to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments about our manager and staff and for letting us know what was interesting for you during your stay in Barcelona. We especially thank you for sharing your opinion about Villa Emilia on Tripadvisor as it is always interesting for other travellers to read positive comments about our hotel. In regards to the incident with the robbery to your sister’s handbad, we are sorry for any inconvenience you may have had. As you advice, it is very important to be extra careful with our luggage, handbags, etc. from the time we arrive in the airport. If people take care of their belongings, the time they spend in Barcelona will be always great. Thank you for your time and comments, and we truly do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Don't get me wrong - we loved this hotel, and we had a wonderful deal using our airmiles (now avios) which gave us room and breakfast for a fraction of the normal price, so I really can't complain. But, while exquisite attention to detail has been paid to the style of the hotel - gorgeous fragranced reception area, very chill-axing bar, wonderful taped music (Moby etc) and extremely good live piano over the weekend - I couldn't understand why the designers had chosen such uncomfortable beds. Our bedroom was light and stylish, with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the crossroads - but our double bed was actually two singles pushed together (but not secured) and with separate duvets. The mattresses were really quite hard, and my bed wobbled audibly whenever I shifted position. Also annoying - there was no full length mirror (we could only check how we looked by using the mirror in the lift!), and the only bathroom socket was about six feet high on the wall and no good at all for our electric toothbrush.
With these details addressed, however, the hotel would score a perfect 10. We felt very relaxed here, in spite of the beds, and we even ate in the bar every night as it was so good and relaxing - with very pleasant and friendly service. There is free afternoon tea, coffee and pastries between 5.0 and 7.0, and we took this twice after getting in from pounding around the city.
Worth knowing: the hotel is a very short walk (or one metro stop) from Urgell metro station, one of the Aerobus stopping points. I hadn't realised this, so we ended up unnecessarily travelling to Placa de Catalunya and then taking a taxi. Travelling back, the aerobus stops at another intersection with Urgell, one street down, but it only took us a few minutes to walk up to the stop at the Placa d'Espania, also one metro stop away from the hotel's very close metro at Rocafort (2 mins walk).

Room Tip: We only know about our room - it was on the corner, potentially noisy, but not at all. It was very l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Villa Emilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Emilia

Address: Calle Calabria 115-117, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#27 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#47 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#76 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Emilia 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Emilia is a modern property situated in a prime location in the heart of Barcelona, perfect for business travelers and holidays trips. Its 53 double guestrooms are fully equipped and decorated with exquisite taste. Guests can enjoy Mediterranean food in the Zinc-Bar, lounge on our famous Terrace, enjoying live DJ/music and cocktails, or organize special events and meetings in the Salon Rojo and El Privat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Villa Emilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Villa Emilia Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Emilia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.