We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel for Pre-Cruise Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Emilia

Save Saved
You added Villa Emilia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Emilia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Calabria 115-117, 08015 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #22 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Peoria, AZ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Boutique Hotel for Pre-Cruise Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We flew to Barcelona from Madrid for a one-night stay before our cruise. What drew us to this hotel was the rooftop terrace bar and restaurant. The hotel is on a corner with small discreet signage. The lobby is tiny, but off to one side is a very nice bar and continuing "around the corner" is a restaurant area with a very complete and delicious breakfast buffet. Our room was new and very nice, with a view of a neighboring backyard. The rooftop turned out to be a real gem. We were there on a Friday night and they were doing a bar-b-que. There also was a marvelous Brazilian band that began at 8 p.m. For us older folks, this was a real treat as we miss so much in Spain with their 10 p.m. start-times. We ended up spending 3 hours enjoying the music, fine wine, excellent food, and a terrific wait staff. We were most pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    947
    440
    72
    18
    10
See reviews for
152
965
37
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Villa Emilia may not be the largest hotel around but what they do with what they have is incredible! The staff need to be mentioned first as they could not have been more helpful nor friendly. The entire hotel and its rooms are very nicely decorated and ours was always kept very clean. Breakfast though understandably limited was clearly of good quality. Its also conveniently located within a 5-10 minute walk of a metro station which is very handy. The room even came with the added bonus of a complementary bottle of wine and free welcome drinks down in the snazzy bar! No hesitation about returning there or recommending it to anyone visiting!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

What a delightful place to stay in Barcelona. I only booked for one night but as soon as I walked in, I knew I wanted to stay longer. This small boutique type hotel has all the comfort you need and excellent staff as well. One word, superb!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I spent the nights of Nov 13 and 14 in this lovely boutique hotel. The staff was always courteous and helpful. My room was clean and comfortable although a bit noisy. Next time I'll ask for a room in the rear and on a higher floor. As a solo traveler I really liked having a restaurant in the lobby so I didn't have to venture out at night by myself. I enjoyed 3 delicious meals there where the service was as good as the food. The only thing I found lacking was the Wi-Fi service. It was extremely slow.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Very nice boutique hotel. Comfortable and friendly staff. Reasonable rates and free wifi.
While it is right near the metro and close to the placa espanya, there isn't much else around. In other European cities I traveled through, I was able to get lost in the neighborhood and find restaurants and cafes to stop into and try. Hotel Vila Emilia didn't have too many interesting eateries within walking distance. But, like I said, it's easy to take the metro anywhere from the hotel.
The only other negative thing I had an issue with was the strong scent throughout the room and lobby. Like other reviewers reiterated, they need to turn down the perfume smell. It's a bit harsh. We were just glad we were able to open the balcony window for fresh air.
Overall, i would reccommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at hotel villa emilia for 3 nights19 nov to 22 nov 2012 and loved our stay. Couldn't have been more comfortable & happy. The hotel is very fancy with welcoming & friendly staff. Rooms were clean and modern. 10/10 to the staff...right from the person behind the counter, bar staff, waiters, room cleaners...everyone were superb and soo friendly. We had a 17 month old son with us and was wondering if it would be comfortable for all of us at such fancy hotel. But have to say the staff was very helpful and proactive. Would recommended this hotel to everyone. Loved our stay at the hotel & barcelona ofcourse.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Villa Emilia, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We thank you so much for sharing your enjoyable experience at Hotel Villa Emilia and for describing its atmosphere and your impressions in a such elaborated and lovely way.
This kind of comments invite us to improve further. Our hotel works hard to make our guests experiences pleasant and worthy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed here 6 nights {10-16th Nov}...couldn't have been more happy.
Excellent ,very helpful staff. Bar staff always smiling.
Rooms clean and modern{ could do with a few more coat hangers,coat hooks }.
Beautiful aroma throughout the hotel.
Fantastic rooftop terrace,very chilled out area,no view to shout about,but your not up there for that.
If you like a cuppa in room,you'll need a kettle,and the mini-bar fridge is ok to put milk in.No facilities for tea/coffee in room.
Breakfast expensive in hotel, plenty of places to grab a brekkie nearby.
Large supermarket 1 block away..very cheap,get your wine/chorizo/etc.
Metro 1 block away
Or a 15-20 min stroll to Ramblas area.
I would recommend the opentop,hop on/off bus tour,very good,and helps you get your bearings
A safe area...but as always in Barca, Be Aware of your belongings.

Room Tip: It didn't bothrer us ,as we are early risers,but rooms facing the road does get a bit noisy, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Emilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Emilia

Address: Calle Calabria 115-117, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#17 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Emilia 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Emilia is a modern property situated in a prime location in the heart of Barcelona, perfect for business travelers and holidays trips. Its 53 double guestrooms are fully equipped and decorated with exquisite taste. Guests can enjoy Mediterranean food in the Zinc-Bar, lounge on our famous Terrace, enjoying live DJ/music and cocktails, or organize special events and meetings in the Salon Rojo and El Privat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Villa Emilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Villa Emilia Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Emilia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.