We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Emilia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Emilia to your Saves list
Villa Emilia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Calabria 115-117, 08015 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #33 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

i booked this hotel for a romantic, surprise birthday celebration weekend. I was a bit apprehensive before I arrived as I had read a couple of negative comments. However, we could not have been more pleased. Everything was just great. The room was lovely and clean, bathroom modern and clean. The breakfasts were well worth booking with a good choice and and good standard. All hotel staff we encountered were very helpful and friendly. Location was good as far as we were concerned with a 10 minute walk to top end of Las Ramblas. There wasn't a great deal on the doorstep but we got a peaceful night's sleep and there was a metro station close by. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Sue

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 354Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Villa Emilia in Barcelona in January 2010 for 2 nights. The hotel is beautiful with modern stylish rooms and 'perfum smelling' atmosphere. The bar is also very nice. However, it is situated a bit far from the city centre and you should spent sometime getting there (or by walking to the subway.) Still, it is rather close to the train station.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is indeed a very well run charming little boutique hotel. Drawback: It is not exactly in the city center and so a bit away from the action. The subway is very close though (Rocafort). I do recommend this hotel for people with a focus on Montjuic, because you can walk up there from the hotel in 15 to 20 mins. As already mentioned amenities are somewhat insufficient. The two elevatars are pretty small and very busy in the morning. Unfortunately the hotel is right on an intersection of two backstreets. People who have noise issues should go for an upper floor room facing away from the streets. Breakfast is 14 Euros and pretty good, but well within the limits of what you pay for it.

Room Tip: People who are noise sensitive should go for an upper floor room on the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boardshorts48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We spent 6 nights in Villa Emilia and it was an excellent option for our stay. It is located in a quiet but well lit street just a few metres up from the Rockefort metro. Hotel has a great design and great service. The room we had, facing onto the street, was very comfortable and well appointed. Only criticism was a lack of kettle and iron in the room but otherwise everything we needed. There is a very nice bar on the roof which is great for a cocktail at sunset. We tried the buffet breakfast on 2 mornings and there was a great selection and very fresh. Plus a glass of cava to finish off and get your day started right. We also had an excellent massage from the in-house provider on our second last day to help our worn out feet a break. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quinneK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Villa Emilia, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
We thank you for sharing your opinion with other travellers. It was such a pleasure having you in our hotel. We hope you visit us again in Barcelona soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Good service, the hotel is near the metro and 20 minutes walk Rambla. We fully enjoyed our stay.Free coffe break in the afternoon. Tapas and wine excellent, lovely staff, terrace so beautiful.I recommend it, we'll be back.

Room Tip: Wifi free, comfortable room, no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivier w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Villa Emilia, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We thank you so much for sharing in Tripadvisor your enjoyable experience at Hotel Villa Emilia. The best present for us is making your stay in our city an unforgettable memory. Best regards from all the team at Hotel Villa Emilia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Don't be fooled by the modern/stylish atmosphere this hotel has, the staff are very rude and arrogant (must be a Barcelona/Spain thing?).

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon, and I must say that the staff were completely rude from the moment we walked in. We specifically requested a double bed (queen/king) however they gave us two single beds.

Upon complaining about this, they eventually moved us to another room which effectively also had two single beds placed together too. We requested a queen size blanket, and when the staff came they simply 'handed' it to us - didn't bother to even come and make up our room.

The hotel also lied about parking when we booked, stating that the cost is EUR 19 per day. We reserved a parking spot well in advance and they confirmed a parking spot onsite. When we arrived we were directed to park next door. Upon exiting after 2 nights, our parking bill was EUR 25 per day, even with the hotel stamping our ticket. The hotel did not want to do anything about this situation and said it is nothing to do with them? Complete rubbish! We were ripped off.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere, really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Villa Emilia, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for sharing your opinion, it is very important for us to know about our guests experiences so we can improve further. Our hotel works hard to make our guests experiences pleasant and worthy, and we apologize if it was not the case with you. We take note and will make
sure it does not happen again. On the other hand, we are proud to offer our valued guests a modern hotel, with sleek contemporary and well equipped rooms, a good location, very convenient for traveler and close to public transportation, a wonderful bar with music on some of
the nights, a great place to relax on the rooftop, and a staff very helpful and attentive...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

stayed here in Mid October for 2 days before heading off to our cruise. The hotel is very nice, clean and close to public transportation. The hotel staff were very helpful. Loved the little bar in the hotel. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYvirg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#60 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 2,989 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#9 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,104 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#29 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 2,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#10 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 507 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#11 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 3,493 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#25 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 3,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Emilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Emilia

Address: Calle Calabria 115-117, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#28 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#42 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#59 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Emilia 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Emilia is a modern property situated in a prime location in the heart of Barcelona, perfect for business travelers and holidays trips. Its 53 double guestrooms are fully equipped and decorated with exquisite taste. Guests can enjoy Mediterranean food in the Zinc-Bar, lounge on our famous Terrace, enjoying live DJ/music and cocktails, or organize special events and meetings in the Salon Rojo and El Privat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Villa Emilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Villa Emilia Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing