We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Emilia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Emilia to your Saves list
Villa Emilia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Calabria 115-117, 08015 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #22 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A True Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed recently at the Villa Emilia (September 2012). What a cool and hip hotel. Great location; short one block walk to the Metro. Very comfortable and well appointed room. Hotel staff was first rate. Great little restaurant and bar. We highly recommend the Villa Emilia to anyone looking for a great Barcelona hotel.
Emil and Lorraine Apostolos

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Villa Emilia, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We truly appreciate your comments about our hotel. We hope you had a wonderful time in Barcelona and would like to welcome you back in a near future!
Warmest regards, Hotel Villa Emilia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,033
    475
    77
    18
    11
See reviews for
163
1,045
41
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Az.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I found this place on tripadvisor and it turned out to be a gem. It's in a great location, a short walk from a major intersection with available tour options (Red Bus tours). There's no question you're in a busy city, but there is a nice feel about the neighborhood with numbers of small restaraunts and sidewalk cafes. Villa Emilia's staff was most accommodating. Upon arriving Franco at the front desk, along with a trainee (wish I had learned her name) did everything possible to make our brief stay memorable and pleasant. I quickly learned from other employees that this is what guests can expect in this impeccably clean and smartly appointed establishment. Our room was on the 3rd floor so we did not experience the noise others might have had on the 6th floor directly beneath the roof top terrace bar. I would advise those of us who are early risers and wish for a quiet room, request a lower room....we had a front room and on a Monday night stay had a wonderful night of sleep. A great stay....thank you Franco and your colleagues, you do a great job.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaEmiliaHotel, Director Comercial at Villa Emilia, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
We appreciate your extensive review of our hotel as it will undoubtedly be very useful to other travelers. We hope you had a wonderful time in Barcelona. We would like to welcome you back in a near future! Our staff is really happy to hear from your comments about their service. Wishing you all the best!!

Warmest regards, Hotel Villa Emilia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Starting from the spotless rooms till the service passing to breakfast and location it worth what u will pay for, hotel manager was great he would even care about your personal requests by himself, pay for the breakfast that has a large variety of food that you will never regret, metro 1 block away,
Just take care of your laundry as it happened twice that laundry came back with some missing items (which they brought to me after calling the laundry they deal with), beds are harder than 4 hotels standards however it will be healthy for your back.
Diffidently will be back again!!

Room Tip: A corner room with street view is the best, street is not noisy so avoid the back yard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Very pleasant boutique style hotel in a convenient location in Barcelona. Absolutely no complaints about this hotel. Very well furnished in a modern and appealing style (at least to us a couple circa 30 years old). We also visited Zinc bar (on the hotel's roof) on a couple of occasions during our visit to the hotel and enjoyed the experience. The hotel is located very close to the metro and we found the location to be very good for access to a variety of sights and restaurants. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Upon check-in the receptionist tried to put us in a twin room rather than a double, we objected to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Full disclosure: I'm writing this while listening to music blaring from the floor above the one where we are currently staying here at the Villa Emilia (we're on the 6th and the Terrace Bar is on the 7th). We were not told of a Friday night party on the terrace nor were we asked if we'd like this (or any other) floor. Given that we flew from California and are still exhausted, this is beyond frustrating.

The room is fair (albeit sparse) and our 'view' is of a wall, a crane and hanging laundry (not nearly as charming as it sounds). Amenities in the room are extremely limited (while that's not entirely uncommon in European hotels, the price of this one would seem to warrant a bit higher standard than that to which they, apparently, hold themselves).

We returned to the room (after having left it at approximately 10:00am) at 3:30pm and it had still not been made up by housekeeping (minor, I suppose, but frustrating nonetheless).

To be fair, it is in a great location, has an afternoon/early evening complimentary tea (along with stale pastry, but better than nothing) and free WiFi.

The bottom line is that, when I return to Barcelona, I'll be looking for other accommodations.

Room Tip: Be sure NOT to stay on the 6th floor unless you plan to be up late and enjoying the party on the 7th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel in September for my husbands 40th birthday. The hotel is clean,the staff were outstanding and the decor was very modern. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone. The metro is only a short walk away and a great way to get around. Stay here and you won't be disappointed !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Hotel is modern, staff are friendly, rooms are a comfortable size with modern decor. Bathrooms are modern with good showers. Roof top bar is a nice retreat on a balmy evening. We didn't really mind being in a quieter more suburbian quarter of Barcelona. There are still plenty of great eating jaunts within 3-4 blocks either side. The stroll down to the University or Plaza Catalynia is only about 10-15mins max. Breakfast had a good selection, very fresh and good food. We didn't have it every day as some days it was much nicer to go and eat like Barcelonians do at a local tapas place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Emilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Emilia

Address: Calle Calabria 115-117, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#21 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#31 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#50 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Emilia 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Emilia is a modern property situated in a prime location in the heart of Barcelona, perfect for business travelers and holidays trips. Its 53 double guestrooms are fully equipped and decorated with exquisite taste. Guests can enjoy Mediterranean food in the Zinc-Bar, lounge on our famous Terrace, enjoying live DJ/music and cocktails, or organize special events and meetings in the Salon Rojo and El Privat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Villa Emilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Villa Emilia Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Emilia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.