We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel in Barcelona!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Emilia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Emilia to your Saves list
Villa Emilia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Calabria 115-117, 08015 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #23 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Boutique Hotel in Barcelona!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This is a lovely boutique hotel in Barcelona. I chose this place after reading all the great reviews here and am glad I did! It's a great value hotel. The rooms are very clean, modern, and very nicely done. Minimal decoration to keep a simple stylish look. Do ask for a room facing the street, it's quite nice. The lobby is great too, loved the ambiance. And you get complimentary free drinks at the rooftop bar in the afternoon if you'd like. Of all the hotels we stayed in Europe we liked this place the best in terms of style and atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    980
    453
    76
    18
    11
See reviews for
155
1,000
40
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hagley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
318 helpful votes 318 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We only stayed for he night before a cruise but we were really pleasantly surprised. The rooms are really quite big, lovely huge bathrooms and a generally modern boutique flavour throughout. Breakfast, although only continental, was great. I would definitely stay here again. Only gripe....... Make sure you are NOT in a room on the first floor - way too noisy as you overlook the reception and bar area.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This lovely hotel is located away from the busy La Rambla, but two blocks from a subway system that gets you anywhere in the city quickly. The staff at the hotel is unbelievably friendly, helpful, and informed. The lobby of the hotel has a quiet bar area that is a great place to unwind with a glass of wine after a day of sightseeing. There is also an elegant and intimate rooftop terrace where you can have dinner -- good food! -- or just drinks. Breakfast is included in the price of our room and we thought it was better than most. Served in an actual dining room -- as opposed to sterile breakfast area -- we were offered coffee (cafe con leche served to us), teas, juice, toasts, pastries, cheeses, meats, cereals, and yogurts. Our room was pretty, the bathroom was spotlessly clean, and the bed was extremely comfortable. We were in Barcelona for the solstice, which is celebrated by everybody in the city setting of fire crackers and fireworks all night long. It was fun to see, but we were worried about whether or not we would be able to sleep that night (our room faced a street). To our surprise, the windows in the hotel kept our room completely quiet through the night. Awesome! I heartily recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Had a great stay at this hotel. A little off the tourist beat but then you don't get the hordes. Has a neighbourhood feel. Nicely appointed rooms, friendly helpful staff, good breakfast buffet. Easy walk to the Las Ramblas and Playa Espagna, one block from Gran Via so well suited. Metro very handy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We were impressed with the decor in the hotel initially as we arrived. They have live music on some nights and also in the afternoons they had some little nibbles for free.

The buffet breakfast is superb and the menu at the bar looks quite nice. I didn't try to food at the hotel, however the menu looked pretty good.

The hotel has bikes available to ride and we took them for a day. The price wasn't too appealing at 20 euros a day though.

We stayed on level 6, and the room was very spacious and exceptionally clean. The hallway had a very strong smell of cinnamon or something like that, which was a little bit strange.

The location of the hotel was ok, but it was still quite a walk to get to the main parts of the city such as Catalunya etc. The metro helps with this as there is one on the corner of the street.

Overall, if you don't mind a walk, or to catch the metro, this hotel would be a great choice for you!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

From the first time you enter the lobby, you feel the coziness because the friendly staff and the atmosphere.
The room was nice, clean WIDE and modern, which made us feel comfort.
We informed them that we are on our honeymoon. So, they sent us an invitation to have a drink at the bar. but we preferred if they put some flowers inside our room. :P
you have 3 or 4 metro stations near of the hotel, grocery shop, small restaurants and cafe shops and Barcelona shopping mall "walk-able" (Great location)

The price was reasonable comparing to the hotel.

I recommend this hotel for all travelers.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This was our 4th time in Barcelona and the best hotel to date. We spent 4 nights at this hotel in June and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. I had emailed three days before our arrival to request a quiet room and they responded quickly to say they had taken note of my request. Our room was on the third floor at the back of the hotel and there was no external noise at all, just from noisy guests in the corridor late at night! As a previous reviewer mentioned, the beds are hard - but then we have a hard bed at home so this was not a problem for us, we slept very well. If you don't like a hard mattress, then perhaps you need to consider carefully before booking here. The room was spotless and well turned out each day. The breakfast was excellent as were all the meals we had in the hotel. The service is also excellent and the staff genuinely friendly. With regard to the roof terrace, the night we arrived it was fully booked so we ate in the restaurant. We did manage to get reservations for two other nights and on each occasion there was a private party in full swing which we did not mind - it added to the atmosphere. Clearly this is a popular venue with the locals for celebrations so book as soon as you arrive and do not be surprised if there is no availability. In my opinion, you do pay a premium for eating on the roof terrace ( approx £16 for a BBQ sirloin steak and jacket potato - good) and I thought it worth it because of the setting, others may not. The hotel is about 15 mins walk from Place de Catalunya and place d'Espania and there is a metro station 3 mins away. Some people may prefer to be closer to the centre, but we were on holiday so no rush and we enjoyed the walk along the sun dappled avenue. We plan on staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Emilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Emilia

Address: Calle Calabria 115-117, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#41 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Emilia 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Emilia is a modern property situated in a prime location in the heart of Barcelona, perfect for business travelers and holidays trips. Its 53 double guestrooms are fully equipped and decorated with exquisite taste. Guests can enjoy Mediterranean food in the Zinc-Bar, lounge on our famous Terrace, enjoying live DJ/music and cocktails, or organize special events and meetings in the Salon Rojo and El Privat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, EasyToBook, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Villa Emilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Villa Emilia Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Emilia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.