We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious Rooms, stylish decor, great air con!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Ramblas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia Ramblas to your Saves list
Catalonia Ramblas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrer de Pelai, 28, 8001 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Brighouse, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Spacious Rooms, stylish decor, great air con!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We spent 5 days here and had a fabulous time. The hotel was clean, modern, stylish, the room was spacious and well set up. Huge bed and great air con. Check out Muccis just around the corner for good coffee, homemade pasties, quiche and pizza, small place but amazingly tasty and well priced food. Avoid beer in the chinese restaurant, cheap meals but 11 euros for a "litre" of beer that turned out to be a small pint. Visit the square, there are some great places to eat and drink and usually some form of entertainment happening. A great break, Barcelona is amazing - try the open top bus tour too! Enjoyed a dip in the pool but had to wait for a place to sit as it was very busy. Club sandwich and coffee in the food area by the pool area was good. friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    311
    76
    31
    27
See reviews for
128
316
33
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Siena, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here one night on business. It was a Shame that i wasn't able to use the spa or pool. Downside to being in a good hotel on business. The location is excellent and you can easily explore Ramblas, Boqueria, the old town and the port. The staff were pleasant and professional. Breakfast is expensive but varied and if you enjoy a big breakfast it's worth it. Hope to go back here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Hotel is close to the cruise port, bus stops for sightseeing and getting to the airport. The service was overall very good, nice people working there. The negative for me, was no ice buckets or ice machines available on any floor. You had to go down to the lobby bar and pay a couple Euro for it. Maybe that is the norm in Europe, I don't know, as this was my first time. The rooms were very clean and modern, nice bedding, very good quality, made for a good sleep. As for wash clothes, that was another thing the rooms did not have. I am used to those in any hotel room. For what we paid, I expect the ice and the wash clothes. Overall the stay was comfortable,and I recommend the hotel, but shop around for best price, as I saw many hotels in this prime location of Barcelona.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My hopes with the hotel were not high, as during my previous visit to Barcelona I have stayed in another 4 starts hotel which was total crap. This one was much better; the room looked as newly refurbished although kind of impersonal. I have not had time to use much of their services, so I cannot rate those (not even the free wi-fi in the room), but the check-in/check-out were speedy and the breakfast quite rich. The location of the hotel is great, close to the stop of the Aerobus (cheapest fast connection with the airport), close to Raval and old city, good for both business and pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed at Catalonia Ramblas for 2 nights after a cruise from SOuthampton to Barcelona. It was great for us because the cruise transfer dropped us in the Piazza de Catalonya and this was a minute whe hotel. We were not able to check in (only 10:00 am) but left our luggage and went straight out on to Las Ramblas which is round the corner from the hotel. These two locations are key areas in Barcelona - the piazza is the main stop for the open top bus tours (all of them!) and the tourist infromation, whilst Las Ramblas is the nightlife centre for Barcelona with loads of bars, restaurants, shops, stalls, street entertainers and more.

We stayed in room 701 which was a suite. Had an issue with the lift as this only goes to 6th floor so you have to walk up two flights of stairs (with our luggage!) but it was worth it. Our room was very large - a huge bathroom with double sinks, bath and shower; a small vestibule with mini bar, wardrobes and coffee maker; a big bedroom with massive double bed, lounger and desk/dressing table; but the best bit was the terrace which had two chairs and table, two loungers and a pool/jacuzzi. The views from here looking out over Las Ramblas to the cruise port and over to the olympic park were amazing as this was the tallest building around. We were staying on the eve of the festival of Sant Juan (23rd April) and it was great watching all the fireworks going off round this area. But when the doors were closed, it was not too noisy (loads of bangers going off) and we slept really well in a very comfortable room.

The hotel is very modern and has a pool, a gym, restaurant and bar, but to be honest we didn't use any of them, we wanted to be out getting the most from Barcelona. But coming back in the evening after eating it was great to sit on that terrace and enjoy the view.

MY ONLY ISSUE WAS THAT WE HAD TO PAY FOR A BUCKET OF ICE. wE COLLECTED IT OURSELVES FROM THE BAR, BUT WE HAD TO PAY 2 EURO, WHICH I THOUGHT WAS A BIT OF CHEEK REALLY FOR A VERY BASIC REQUEST.

But overall really enjoyed our stay - the staff were friendly and helpful and we had no problem checking in or out.

Room Tip: Rooms 701 and 702 are on the roof and both have terrace and swimming pool. Those on level 6 are big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Myself and my partner came to BCN for 3 days. We stayed at this Hotel. Room was very nice. Pool is pretty OK. Position is great for all tourist stuff. Hotel was let down by complete lack of staff, the internet does not work at all (regardless how much the staff insist it does - we tried it on 3 different devices, it doesn't), our room was also street facing so ear plugs were necessary. I would consider staying at this Hotel again but I am sure there is a better option as its not cheap. Also - the gym was not up to scratch for a 4 start hotel. 1 running machine that is half broken and 2 old bikes does not constitute a gym!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed in this hotel twice, before boarding our cruise and afterwards for 3 nights. The rooms were quite different, with the first being much larger with a large, separate rain shower and toilet. The second room was a little smaller and the bathroom facilities were adequate but not as good as before. Both rooms had excellent air-con, and offered nice touches such as fruit, mineral water and chocolates. However, this hotel offers a wonderful location close to two Metro stations, Las Ramblas and Plaza de Catalunya.
The front desk staff were excellent, spoke good English and made great recommendations for places to see, dinner and regarding directions. The hotel has extensive amenities, including pool, fitness centre, spa and bar. Wi-fi was free and worked perfectly throughout our stay in all areas of the hotel.
We would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here on another visit to Barcelona.

Room Tip: Ask for room with separate shower and toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Ramblas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Ramblas

Address: Carrer de Pelai, 28, 8001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#87 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#122 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#129 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Ramblas 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its privileged location right in the middle of the city enables guests to enjoy the city's sights while being conveniently near its shopping centre. Whether one visits the Gothic Quarter, follows the Gaudi Modernist route, strolls down the Ramblas, goes shopping on the city's Paseo de Gracia... the heart of Barcelona throbs with life next to the new Catalonia Ramblas hotel. The Hotel offers a Spa and relaxation area with exclusive services and treatments available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Catalonia Ramblas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Ramblas Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Ramblas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.