We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique and very friendly hotel, would return without hesitation.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal L' Antic Espai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal L' Antic Espai to your Saves list
Hostal L' Antic Espai
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes 660, principal, ES-08010 Barcelona, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€22 (EUR)
Ranked #51 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A unique and very friendly hotel, would return without hesitation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

My wife and I booked a long weekend in Barcelona and made the decision to stay at the Antic Espai for four nights based on the reviews here. I am glad we did. This is a charming hotel with friendly and helpful staff. From the welcome Cava to our departure, no effort was spared to make guests feel comfortable and at home.

Firstly this is quite a difficult hotel to find. The taxi driver who drove us there had never heard of it and missed it first time round. The sign is discreet to say the least. The best way to find it is probably to head for the Patagonia Restaurant at 660 Gran Vía Cortes Catalanes- the door to the hotel can then easily be found.

Entry is up a flight of marble stairs to the first-floor, which would possibly make the hotel unsuitable for travellers with limited mobility as there is no lift. It looks to me as if the hotel takes up a floor of an old apartment building. This is a charming hotel, ideally located with most of the main tourist attractions within easy walking distance. The owners were happy to offer assistance and local advice and would ring ahead to make reservations at restaurants as well as recommend some very good ones.

Our room was a decent size and comprised a balcony, bedroom, dressing room and bathroom. Standards are very high here and the room was kept spotless. There was no "Do not disturb" sign but we never were- despite making a couple of late starts to the day. The balcony was shared with two other rooms, which may raise privacy issues for some but wasn't a problem for us as we went during low season and kept the curtains drawn when changing. The bed was just to my liking- nice and firm- and meant that I got a good night's sleep right from the start. Breakfast is ordered the night before and served on the balcony. We didn't take advantage of this as there are a number of coffee shops in the immediate area where we preferred to take breakfast. There is a safe in the reception area where guests can store valuables rather than in the room. This isn't a large chain hotel, so does not possess some of the facilities that would normally be associated with one of those- there's no bar, restaurant, health spa or swimming pool; the rooms don't have mini-bars or tea/coffee making facilities, however L'Antic Espai more than makes up for such minor shortcomings with charm. Wi-fi internet is available as is free access to a computer. I cannot imagine a major chain hotel decorated like this. There is beautiful period furniture in the rooms, collections and display cabinets all over the hotel. I noticed that the marquetry on our bed matched that on the bedside table and the wardrobe- someone has gone to a lot of trouble furnishing the rooms to their taste. There is barely a space in the whole hotel that is not taken up by a china figurine or other collectible. It could be said that the overall effect verges on kitsch, however this is no bad thing and gives the hotel a unique character.

I have never stayed in a hotel quite like this and am very glad I chose L'Antic Espai. Both of us agree that we would happily stay there again. I was sad to leave Barcelona and L'Antic Espai and hope to return to both soon.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    174
    40
    20
    13
See reviews for
75
361
125
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

I stayed for three nights; I didn't really take advantage of the owners' knowledge of the city, as I already knew where I wanted to go and, most of the time, how to get there. But when I did ask for information, they were very helpful. They can judge when you want to talk and when you don't. I appreciated the loan of a laptop to get online in the privacy of my room.
The problem some people mentioned about light in the corridor seemed to have been fixed, as the light came on automatically when I went in the door. I liked the fingerprint access too, Suggestions for improvement are small: make the label on the doorbell a little easier to read in the dark - for example a larger and clearer font. I ended up buzzing a neighbour (who was very patient and uncomplaining). Bring the TV screen in Room 108 down a little - I got a tired neck looking up at it! The antidote to anonymous, corporate-looking hotels.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgolpe, Owner at Hostal L' Antic Espai, responded to this review, December 14, 2009
Hello and thanks a lot for your contribution with your recommendations. It’s really a help for us to here what others peoples, like this one, said about what we can change and what really work it.
The Label on the bell we need to find a solution because is really small but is the space that is fixed on it. Maybe a little sing outside can help. The problem in this historical buildings is that for everything we want to do we need to ask for a permission because it’s historical protected. If we don’t ask for it, we get a ticket to page.
The television is height because is on the walls. Otherwise you can go again it when you move around in the room.
Our place is really a very little one and somehow your house in Barcelona, come and check yourself, we are sure that you will agree with us.
Best regards,
Abel Estévez González.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

Eight of us (seniors) were at the hostal for three nights. We hated to leave our charming, intelligent hosts, Abel and Sergio, the good conversation and travel advice, the lovely antiques, cava and breakfast on the porch. Not for people who want brandname hotels, but rather for those who like the charm of boutique and personalized experiences.
Centrally located; we walked everywhere with additional recommendations from our hosts. They know the city and appreciate its many offerings. We felt like we had a good picture of Catalonia
Their is ample privacy despite its size.so group members can come and go as they wish, congregate in the comfortable 'parlor', or read in a quiet place. Do not be scared by the flight of stairs. Your baggage is carried for you, and safety is not an issue. Pickpockets do inhabit the Barcelona streets

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

This beautiful hostal sets the bar very high. The interior is gorgeous; the rooms sparkle. The owners pay tremendous attention to detail. They are very friendly, very helpful. We had a complimentary welcome glass of sangria plus a complimentary bottle of water on arrival. We could get soft drinks or hot drinks or sangria at any other time for a small fee. We were able to leave our laundry and for a small fee it was cleaned and folded by the end of the day. We stayed in two different rooms. Both were of a very high standard. One opened onto a terrace where we had breakfast (a small additional fee for breakfast). The bathrooms were shiny and well equipped. There is only one small thing to be improved - sound travels easily from inside and outside the rooms. A little weatherstripping might solve this. Hostal L'Antic Espai is a gem!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

Wonderful and more wonderful. Sergio and Abal are the best, best location, great collections, great breakfast, we loved every moment and fell in love with them. I can not imagine a better place to discover the soul of such a beautiful city. S&G Cape Cod Oct 31,Nov 1 and 2

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wpg.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

We stayed for only 1 day, but found this location well-suited for our needs, i.e. walking to Plaza Catalunya, Palau de la Musica Catalana, the magnificent fountain at park citadella, the waterfront, along the ramblas, etc. , even to Sagrada Familia. The room 103 was sufficient in size and nicely decorated with a splendid enclosed balcony sitting area. Good Bathroom facilities, but the shower was small. The stairs were a challenge with 2 suit-cases and 2 carry-ons, but someone on their way out (associated with the management?) gave us a hand. The maid brought us a small welcome pitcher of sangria. Because we don't speak more than a few words of greeting, etc. in Spanish, we did not discover until leaving the following day that the management has a tourist bus pass for use by the guests. We expect that would have been useful in, for example, getting to & from Guell park. We left early in the morning, so had only coffee brought to our room, but the breakfast offered for a reasonable price looked appealing. If we were to return to Barcelona, would give L'Antic Espai serious consideration again. For new-comers, restaurants for evening meals typically open at 8:00; grazing at tapas bars in the afternoon is a good idea.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgolpe, Owner. at Hostal L' Antic Espai, responded to this review, November 25, 2009
Many thanks for your contribution with this review.
The room where you spend your holidays was the 102, the only one with this private balcony. The shower is really small, but how long you spend inside it? There is not space to make it bigger.
We have not elevator and our place is in the first floor, but, we try to help when the peoples arrive.
The made don’t speak English, is not usual to find English speakers in Spain, especially if you don’t have a special studies.
We don’t have any tourist bus pass. We only sell the tickets for the tourist bus cheaper here than on the bus. But is not that you get a free ticket for it, you get two Euros discount per person.
The breakfast is any time available, also very early in the morning or late in the afternoon. If you had asked, for sure you have got it.
With plenty of restaurants recommendation we are waiting for you to discover the Spanish gastronomy.
Regards,
Abel Estévez González
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

My mom and I visited Barcelona for a few days and after reading the reviews on this site, we decided to give it a try. The owners were very helpful in identifying and reserving restaurants and places to visit and we stayed in a quaint and clean room. The breakfast served was well planned and just right to begin the day. Even though our room faced the main street, the room seemed fairly sound-proof and for two "light" sleepers, we had no trouble getting a good night's rest. Our only surprise was no elevator and a couple flights of stairs but the staff was attentive and took care of getting our bags to and from our room. Transportation to the airport was exceptional too. Reasonable cost and definitely a place to come back to!

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal L' Antic Espai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal L' Antic Espai

Address: C/ Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes 660, principal, ES-08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#75 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal L' Antic Espai 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L´Antic Espai arises after a dream of creating in Barcelona a special space with an old world charm. we create an place in which always, we wished to enjoy a pleasant stay and where you feel like in your own house. Our services and personalized treatment will make you to remember and miss us for ever in all trips you plan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hostal L' Antic Espai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal l` Antic Espai Hotel Barcelona
Hostal L' Antic Espai Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal L' Antic Espai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.