We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal L' Antic Espai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal L' Antic Espai to your Saves list
Hostal L' Antic Espai
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes 660, principal, ES-08010 Barcelona, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€22 (EUR)
Ranked #54 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Loved this hotel, very small and personal. Spent 3 nights, lovely firm mattress, small enclosed balcony off room 102 which was lovely to relax in. Owner picked us up from airport in a classic car and was very helpful. Staff great too. It's located in just the right place to do everything. would I book it again, absolutely. Only stairs to get to the hotel, but owner offered to carry our suitcases, which was not necessary for us, but might be worth knowing for others as it is located on the first floor of a building.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    174
    40
    20
    13
See reviews for
75
361
124
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We spent three nights in room 102, having booked it at the last minute and secured a very reasonable price. The decor in the B&B is very distinctive, but it's nice not to stay in a bland hotel, and the owner was very helpful and accommodating. It seemed that they go to a lot of trouble to help making everyone's stay comfortable and enjoyable.

Our room was great, and we had a small living room area, although the sofa and armchairs weren't particularly comfortable. The only other downside is that most times we passed through, there wasn't anyone on the reception, although this wasn't really a problem for us.

Finally, it's worth noting the location which was fantastic, and a short walk to the Ramblas.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgolpe, Propietario at Hostal L' Antic Espai, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thanks a lot for your contribution and nice report.
One we need to clarify: Reception Service 24 Hours make the product in cost for the clients and the company more expensive. The situation at the moment is not for it. Who want to pay more??'
Sorry, but it's a solution for the real economy problems. We want to keep our company open.
As you said; It's not a problem and necesary.
Regards,
Abel Estévez González.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

When you're looking for this hotel, look up! There is a small and unassuming sign placed high on the building, and we walked right by it a few times before we found it. Once we made it, we had a great stay! Our room had a beautiful little balcony with antique couches and furniture, and was well equipped with everything we needed. Unfortunately it was a bit cold outside to really enjoy the balcony, but in warmer weather I know it would be perfect! The highlight of the stay was definitely the breakfast they set up for us every morning. It was just the basics, coffee, OJ, and some pastries and toast, but they served us on a grand table with antique china. Because of the nature of our trip, just a relaxed little tourist stop, it was the perfect way to start our mornings in Barcelona. The men who ran the hotel were helpful and friendly, and gave us all the information we needed to explore the city (and they were a big help when we ran into a few travel hiccups). The one thing I would warn people about is the restaurants they recommended to us for the "best" tapas and paella in the city were disappointing at best. Its not their fault if they have gone down in quality, but for Tapas definitely try the nearby Tapas 24 instead. The only downside I would say that was specific to the hotel was that the bed was a bit hard for us and could have used a mattress pad. It was in a PERFECT location though, walkable to most of the places we wanted to see and the metro as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed in. We stayed one night after our cruise in October, and it was one of the highlights of the trip, for sure. Not only were the staff extremely helpful when booking (via e-mail), they were friendly upon arrival, and arranged transport to the airport when we left. The stay was wonderful. I loved the bed (it was firm), the showers were hot, and the temperature in the room was comfy even in October. The next morning a lovely breakfast was served to us in the porch. I highly recommend it. Lots of antique breakfastware was used, and it was just beautiful. The hotel is also full of antiques, making it truly a museum experience as well. The hotel is in walking distance from Las Ramblas and La Sagrada Familia, if you prefer to see the city on foot. Overall, I highly recommend this place and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Warm and friendly welcome.
Tricky to find at first but we succeeded - so anyone should.
Very central and a few minutes from anywhere you could wish to visit.
Communal area could be more welcoming but the floor with the rooms was very well furnished.
Sorry but we (the wife and I) are a pair of 'Princess Peas' and found the bed firm. (We have this problem in 5 star hotels too). Breakfast basic but prompt and personal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgolpe, Propietario at Hostal L' Antic Espai, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
We truly thank you for your advice concerning the decoration and design of our Hotel, but it’s been design following our good taste and by the way, there’s nothing written about whether someone has a good taste or not. It all depends on people’s point of view. We think our place is cozy and well decorated and that is the opinion of the 98% of our guests as well.
Concerning our beds and its comfort, again, it depends on people’s taste; and most of them are really satisfied with the quality of the beds. Yet, it is honest to say that some can find them a little bit hard.
We have three different kind of breakfast; they vary from a Spanish breakfast to a continental, Of course, if someone choose the cheapest one, you would have the basic one then.
We hope to see you soon here at “L’ Antic Espai”
Regards,
Abel Estévez González.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Clean, well presented and close to all travel networks. Sergio was a brilliant host making a number of excellent recommendations of where to eat, things to do. There aren't any hot drink facilities in the room, Sergio showed me the kitchen and how to make a drink! Fantastic, we popped into the supermarket round the corner for essential supplies and had a cheeky bottle in the room for a pre dinner drink whilst getting ready. So great location, great network. We were here in February and were blessed with good weather. It was like a warm UK spring day, on most days, it did turn colder and wetter as the week went on. Sergio is opening a hotel in Cuba and that will be on the list. Thanks Sergio you helped to make our trip memorable. Chris and Heather

Room Tip: We were in room 102 which was fab
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We have just come back from a 4 night stay here. Sergio and Carla were helpful, friendly and attentive. The hotel is small, intimate and beautifully decorated with some interesting antiques. The location is perfect for sightseeing, we walked everywhere. We felt that we were in a safe and accessible location too, albeit situated on a main road, this gives good links to transport if you so wanted.

We were in room 102, with a small balcony, which was an added magical touch. This hotel is most suited to travellers who like something a little different and unique. Sergio was very kind and on the last day we were able to leave our bags in the room until our evening flight, all of his recommendations for eating and sight seeing were spot on too.

Thank you Sergio and Carla xxx

Room Tip: Room 102, a little street noise as to be expected, but nothing to distract from holiday -
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal L' Antic Espai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal L' Antic Espai

Address: C/ Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes 660, principal, ES-08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#73 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal L' Antic Espai 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L´Antic Espai arises after a dream of creating in Barcelona a special space with an old world charm. we create an place in which always, we wished to enjoy a pleasant stay and where you feel like in your own house. Our services and personalized treatment will make you to remember and miss us for ever in all trips you plan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hostal L' Antic Espai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal l` Antic Espai Hotel Barcelona
Hostal L' Antic Espai Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal L' Antic Espai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.