We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soho Hotel

Save Saved
You added Soho Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Soho Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gran Via 543-545, 08011 Barcelona, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #33 of 516 hotels in Barcelona
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights after having been to Madrid and Seville. This was bay far the best hotel I have stayed at in Spain. The value you get for the price is excellent. The rooms are very clean and modern. The front office is extremely friendly and would give you tips and advise on were to go and show you directions. The locatoin of the hotel is also ideal. It is only a few minutes walking from La Rumbla and the famous Gracia Street.
All in all, I receomend this hotel.
I had stayed in a 35 Euro hotel in Madrid that was an absolute dirt hole. So the 20 additional euros that this hotel charges were absolutly worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepció H, Reception Staff at Soho Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having shared your experience on our hotel, and we are grateful for your lovely comments.
We are delighted to learn that you appreciated our “trendy” rooms designed in the aim of creating comfort.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Soho hotel very soon,

Kind Regards,

Reception Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,314 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    687
    521
    72
    23
    11
See reviews for
99
771
55
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Yes, "urban cool" is a pretty good way of describing it - but unlike some hotels that merit this description, not 'up itself' in any way at all. Excellent service at all times - all staff spoke very good English and were very polite and helpful. Breakfast was very good with a decent choice of food. Room was very spacious and we both loved the design. Only slight disappointment was the balcony - not much of Barcelona to overlook as ours (as would all on that side) looked out onto the courtyard of a block of flats of similar height to the hotel. Balcony is therefore overlooked from all sides by flats and you look down into a communal area with a playground etc. The view over the top is quite limited too so, all in all, wouldn't go for the balcony next time. However, overall experience very positive and very good value given size of room and location. Oh, and the best value restaurant I've ever had the pleasure of eating at is just round the corner Soho Hotel plus Codium restaurant - hard to imagine there's a better value, classier combination anywhere.

Room Tip: Balconies don't necessarily offer much in the way of a view and may be overlooked from all sides...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepció H, Guest Relations Manager at Soho Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Soho for your stay in Barcelona.

We trully appreciated all your lovely comments which I will definitely share with all the staff.

We hope to see back soon.

Kind regards,

Daniela Iglesias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milw., WI
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Not sure what I can add that others haven't already said. My wife and I stayed for 5 days in Spetember. Very contemporary, feels like your own apartment rather than a hotel. High end materials throughout and extremely nice staff. Only complaint is that the King bed is actually two beds pushed together which is quite (and unfortunately) typical for Europe.

Location is good, close to the Las Ramblas but not on top of it, very chic, exceptional value, will stay again. Book it already!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepció H, Reception Staff at Soho Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear guest,

It is great to hear that you had a wonderful break in Barcelona and the hotel was matching your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Soho hotel Barcelona very soon,

With Kind Regards,

Reception Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We visited Soho Hotel for two nights in November 2012 to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. From the moment of arrival, we were treated warmly and immediately given a free room upgrade. The reception staff couldn't have been more polite, we were given recommendations for food and places to visit, and help with travel and airport transfers.

The hotel has a fantastic aesthetic, and our room was immaculately designed without being too cold. The bed was Huge, shower powerful and hot, and the ambience of the room (as well as the company) was a pleasure to relax in/with.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepció H, Front Desk Department at Soho Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Phil_T76,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Soho for your stay during such a special occasion.

We feel glad of having been able to satisfy your expectations regarding the Hotel and the service provided by our staff.

We would also like to thank you for taking your time and sharing your opinion about the Hotel with all Tripadvisor users.

If you future travel plans bring you back to Barcelona, we will gladly welcome you back.

Best regards,
Front Desk Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Soho Hotel was an easy 15 min drive from the Sants station. We reached fairly early in the morning and since no rooms were available, we used the restrooms in the lounge to freshen up. Didnt have any issues at all as it was quite clean. There is a neat business center in the basement with coffee machines as well as free internet, we used that quite a bit to book our tickets during out stay there.

The rooms itself were very modern, spacious and the bed was very 'sleep-worthy'! The staff at the front desk was always very helpful and had some great suggestions on places to eat or party. We even got a coupon that helped us get our cover charge waived at one of the clubs.

The hotel is located right next to the Urgell Metro station. Getting buses / cabs is very easy as well as the hotel is on the Grand Via. We recommend however that in order to get to most places, it is better to walk down a few minutes and enter the Metro from the Universitat station as that helps avoids changing trains sometimes.

The hotel is near the Las Ramblas and while we mostly walked over to Las Ramblas most of the times, sometimes it is advisable to just cab it to save time.

Definitely a place we would like to go back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepció H, Front Desk Department at Soho Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Ajitabh,

First of all, thank you for choosing Hotel Soho for your stay in Barcelona.

We would also like to thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Soho with all Tripadvisor users as an external opinion of the Hotel has for us a high value.

Whenever life brings you back to Barcelona, we will be pleased to receive you back into Hotel Soho.

Best regards,
Front Desk Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed here in October of 2012 and it was a great stay. It was actually the first time I stayed in a hotel in Barcelona as usual stay with friends who at the time were away. This was a great choice and I would recommend it without a doubt - excellent value!

The value comes from the fact that the services are adequate yet minimal - the staff is great and the rooms are gorgeous but there is no bar or restaurant or extra services that up the costs. So if you can live without valet, bar, etc, you'll be happy.

One tip though is if you're sensitive to noise at night, ask for an inside courtyard room, which I did after the first night. At my request they had given me a room with a great view of the city, but it faced the street and I was kept up all night with traffic and people noise from outside. They were happy to switch me (well, seemed happy ; ) and I had a great stay.

Photos on their site are exactly what you get as well, no surprises!

Also a very short walk to La Rambla (not even 10 minutes) and the bus from and to the airport is less than a 5 minute walk away - you pass by the hotel directly from the airport.

Room Tip: If you don't mind noise, the view facing towards the city is amazing. For a quieter stay ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We absolutely loved my stay at the Soho Hotel. From the minute that we checked in to the minute we left, we were delighted. Check in was easy with two of the friendliest reception agents who pointed out the highlights. No request was too small.
The hotel itself is a funky boutique hotel in a safe area. The room we booked was the Terrace room which was large, modern and spotless. At night we would sit on our terrace with a glass of wine and watch the families below meet and play. This was a great insight on how the Spanish families live and we enjoyed their lifestyle.
The city of Barcelona is at the hotel's doorstep....a little walk and you are right in the centre of things. A little shop a few doors down, Bellepane serves coffee, homemade goodies and sandwiches. Even Starbucks is close. This hotel is definitely on our top list of places to stay.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to the Terrace Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recepció H, Reception Staff at Soho Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear guest,

It is great to hear that you had a wonderful break in Barcelona and the hotel was matching your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Soho hotel Barcelona very soon,

With Kind Regards,

Reception Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Hotel

Address: Gran Via 543-545, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#31 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#54 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Soho Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Soho welcomes its guests with a glassed-in lobby and offers 51 rooms, outdoor terrace and pool with panoramas overlooking Barcelona, a media center with free Internet access, a breakfast-room with terrace on the ground floor, free WiFi throughout the building, and private parking facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, TravelClick, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia
Hotel Soho Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soho Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.