We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again... for the 4th time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of H10 Casanova

Save Saved
You added H10 Casanova to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
H10 Casanova
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 559, 08011 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 516 hotels in Barcelona
Hemel Hempstead
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Back again... for the 4th time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Well, further to my last review a few things have changed at the hotel. Since my last stay just after the H10 takeover, normal service has been resumed.

The breakfast 'room' has been expanded, and judging by the numbers staying (UK Half Term week), it was needed. The glass partition has been removed to make a little extra space, and the recess is the corner has been converted to fit in about 5 extra tables. Thats all good, but it makes breakfast time a little more crowded.

The rooms are still good, although I think they may need a lick of paint in a couple of years time, but everything is still very clean and well maintained.

The big plus here is the staff, extremely helpful and really aim to please.

Looking forward to staying again in February, and will be my only choice for staying in Barcelona.

Room Tip: High floor, or courtyard internal room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    353
    361
    56
    17
    14
See reviews for
83
360
22
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Booked a short break for myself and my husband, and this hotel was perfect for us. The bed was really comfortable and the bathroom was spotless. Our room was on the 5th floor and there was a constant hum of traffic, but that's what you expect from a city centre hotel. The location made touring the city easy, being a 5/10 min walk from Placa Cataluyna where the buses all seem to stop. This is also where La Rambla starts, which although full of people, is great fun. The medieval quarter is much quieter and beautiful. We had breakfast at the hotel, which was great, lots of choice with something for everyone and a good way to set up for a day out. One cost saving hint, try the Aerobus from Barcelona Airport; it runs really frequently, is cheap and efficient...... avoid the taxi option and save yourselves some money for Sangria!!!!

Room Tip: The higher the room, the quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice hotel. Excellent location. Room very clean and a great breakfast. The only down side was the metro. We were on the 4th floor and you could feel the floor rumble when the metro passed. (I am a very light sleeper so maybe not a problem to most people). We did two days on the hop on hop off bus, a really great way to see Barcelona. We also caught to aerobus 9.95 euros return and so close to hotel a and only takes about 30 mins from airport. Taxi around 35 euros each way.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights with our 2 children - we requested 2 rooms close together and had rooms with an interconnecting door which was perfect. Our room was above-averagely sized with an extremely comfortable bed and the children had twin beds which they slept very well in. We did not face the street and the rooms were very quiet, there was a good choice of TV channels including BBC1 and BBC2 and a free safe. We had breakfast included - there was an excellent choice of hot and cold food including fresh fruit, cereals, bacon, hash browns etc, and good choice of drinks (fruit juices, tea and coffee etc). Location was great - very close to the Aerobus stop, Urgell and Universitat metro stations, and an easy walk to the Ramblas, Barri Gotic etc. Overall a fab location for a short break!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a stylish, well located hotel with a friendly welcome. The reception staff were multilingual, very pleasant (although overloaded; trying to do too many things at once meant none were done very quickly or efficiently).
Room well supplied with bathroom stuff and had a good facilities, average size, good condition.
Free Wi-fi - Excellent! Well done, H10!
Bar staff very friendly and accommodating; really made me feel welcome; thank you.
Good breakfast if totally self service.
So if all these good things, why only an average score?
Unfortunately, the room had a very strong residual smell of tobacco that just would not go away - I felt like a kipper.
The room faced the Gran Via and the sound insulation on the door windows was not great. Add to this the earthquake-y rumble of the metro and the noise coming from the Hotel's corridor, this was an above averagely noisy location. I found it hard to sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Nice Hotel, decent size room , very clean.
10 minute walk from Plaza catalunia, 15 minute walk to the market

We took aerobus from the terminal, to University station, (arrived at 23:00)
and the walked 6-7 minutes to hotel (around 5 euro per person)

Allowed us late checkout! thanks!
free wifi was not very fast, but ok for checking emails.

rooftop bar seemed nice, but closed due to rain, the pool is very small, for chilling not for swimming...

we were on 7th floor, facing the street, was not noisy when closing the window.

We did not have breakfast , so no idea how it is..

Room Tip: we were on 7th floor, facing the street, it was not noisy when closing the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Our travel agent recommended this hotel as a stop on the way back from a Mediterranean cruise. It's location is fairly central - about 10 - 12 minutes walk from La Rambla, and a good walk to such attractions as La Perdrera and Casa Batillo. There are several pleasant, inexpensive restaurants and food outlets nearby, and they have free WiFi as part of the service. The hotel itself is very pleasant, the staff are helpful and multi-lingual and we got a free glass of champagne on arrival!

Room Tip: Try for a room on level 4 or above - probably a little less street noise (but not a major issue).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to H10 Casanova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Casanova

Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 559, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#37 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#45 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#114 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Casanova 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rafaelhoteles by Casanova is situated in the heart of Barcelona, just a few meters from the Paseo de Gracia and Las Ramblas. It is a hip elegant hotel that perfectly matches the cosmopolitan and modern spirit of this thriving regional capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, Otel and Agoda so you can book your H10 Casanova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Casanova Hotel Barcelona
Casanova By Rafael Hotel
Casanova By Rafael Barcelona
H10 Casanova Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage H10 Casanova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.