We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast in an awesome place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Con Estilo Balmes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Con Estilo Balmes to your Saves list
Casa Con Estilo Balmes
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Balmes, 395 - 6th fl - 1a | Sant Gervasi, 08022 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save on Activity tickets
Ranked #107 of 303 Barcelona B&B and Inns
USA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast in an awesome place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

My wife and I had the best vacation ever! We stood here for 3 nights, and the breakfast was delicious! Recently-cooked bread, brownies and fruits, fruit juice and coffee (as many as we wanted, despite what some people say).
We really enjoyed our stay, it was just as described and the large terrace was great (specially at sunset).
We will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    17
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
10
25
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

I have never stayed in a hotel where you are only allowed one cup of coffee with a very mean breakfast - no cereal, no cooked breakfast, no cooked meats. No signing when you get here to say its on the sixth floor and no indication of when you arrive of what you need to do when you arrive. For the price we paid its rubbish!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2007

We stayed at the Casa con Estilo in October this year. The description of it being a typical Spanish house is correct. The hotel is situated on the 6th floor. When we arrived the elevator was out of order, (not the first time this year). Our suuitcases where taken in the staff elevator, but we were expected to climb all 127 stairs everyday and evening of our stay. Definatley not reccomended for anyone less than fit. None of the staff spoke English. No water in the rooms. The Dining roon has one table which you share with other guests. There is a communial balcony, but there are no views as it has high hedges and is also very small. Breakfast is very basic. The hotel is on the main Balmes Rd which is noisy all night. It is close to the Trainline, about 100 yds. We did not find any entertainment in the area. The market square mentioned in the decription does not have a busy night life with resturants on every corner. Or not the market square within walking distant. Barcelona as usual is brilliant. But this hotel is just a bit far out of the centre. I am sure the staff were very friendly. But the language barrier was quite annoying.

  • Liked — the room was very nice
  • Disliked — the stairs and lack of english being spoken
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2007

Casa Con Estilo was the perfect place to stay for a short break in the city. situated in a quiet area, but so quick and easy to la ramblas, few minutes walk from metro, direct to the main station. very pleasant area. got a bit confused with where it was, (take a lift up to the 6th floor with the help of the porter) then knock on the door! the owner was very kind and helpful. room was very clean and tidy, great atmosphere! room was very spacious and comfortable.had breakfast included in the price and this was also very nice, served on the balcony. A definete must!!

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2006

Absolutley what we were looking for in a City break. The place was beyond what we expected. My girlfriend and I booked the apartment with the private balcony and it was well worth the extra money. Wonderful service from the Maid. Good location for walking around Barcelona...bear in mind it's not in La Ramblas which suited us just fine. Definitely recommending it to all my friends!

  • Liked — It was quiet and clean, and friendly in a good location
  • Disliked — The struggle with our bags from the underground station!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Con Estilo Balmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Con Estilo Balmes

Address: Balmes, 395 - 6th fl - 1a | Sant Gervasi, 08022 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 303 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Con Estilo Balmes 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast Casa Con Estilo Balmes is located in the 6th floor of an early 20th century building, in Balmes street. "Sant Gervasi" is a very quiet, peaceful and welcoming neighbourhood. Along its streets you can find bars, coffee shops, restaurants, little boutiques and public parkings. In 10 minutes you can switch this peace with the animated city center by taking the metro or the bus, with their stops located very close. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Casa Con Estilo Balmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Con Estilo Hotel Barcelona
Casa Con Estilo Balmes Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Con Estilo Balmes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.