We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you can get a good deal well worth a look” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Barcelona Skipper

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Barcelona Skipper to your Saves list
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avinguda Litoral 10, 08005 Barcelona, Spain (Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“If you can get a good deal well worth a look”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

Hotel

This is a bizzarely named stylish hotel in the Port Olimpic Area. It has a business slant to it but would also be good for people holidaying as well.

Getting There

The cheapest way is to get a T10 ticket at the RENFE station (Spanish Rail) at the airport. This entitles you to 10 journeys of up to 1 hour 15 minutes on the train, metro and bus and any combination of those. You can also use it for more than one person, you just need to time stamp it for however many people you are using it for. It costs 7.30 Euros and available from the metro stations. A Barcelona Card also entitles you to free public transport and can therefore use the RENFE to get to the town.

After landing pick up you bags and follow the signs for RENFE, then get the train to Passieg de Gracia. Trains run every half hour and journey takes 30 minutes. Transfer on to Line 4 to La Pau and get off at Cituadella del Villa Olimpic (about 4 stops).
The metro isn't particularly lugagge friendly and the transfer to the metro involves a walk of about 10 minutes with some stairs.

Exit the metro then look for the two big towers (these are very useful for finding the hotel). Head towards the tower on the right (Hotel Arts), and the Hotel Pullman Skipper is 50m to the right. The whole journey takes about 1 hour.

Other options to get there from airport by public transport are the Aerobus (which is not included in a T10 ticket or Barcelona card)which will drop you off in Placa Catalunya and the regular bus service.

The Room

We booked through Expedia and got a special deal on a Superior room, however we were intially put in a Classic Room. The Classic Rooms have a 'city view' (i.e. the Ring Road) and no balcony. The hotel explained that the expedia bookings come through to them as a booking for a Classic Room so be aware of this. They were happy to change our room when we showed our booking.

I would definately recommend the Superior Rooms. We staying in one that faced the sea and which meant the balcony got a lot of sun in the morning. In the hotter months it might be better to stay in the east facing rooms as their balconies were shaded.
The sea facing rooms were numbered 27-45 and the east facing 1-26. You'll only see the sea if you're on the fourth floor or above and the hotel has six floors.

The grounds are very stylish and a pleasure to look at from the balcony.

The bathroom was clean and spacious with a separate shower and large bath.
A Flat Screen TV with some English channels and DVD player that will also play CDs are provided. The TV can be played through speakers in the bathroom.

The Hotel also has a DVD rental facility.

Location

It is located in the Port Olimipic area about 100m from the beach. There are plenty of trendy bars/clubs around which double up as fancy restaurants e.g. Shoko, the ICE bar, Opium bar and CDLC as well as the more cheesy row of bars/clubs/restaurants in the port itself.

The old town is about 15 mins walk away if you take the direct route past the gasnatural (butterfly) tower and a leisurely 30 minute stroll if you walk along the seafront and through Barcelonetta.

All the main tourist attractions in Barcelona are spread evenly throughout the city and can be accessed easily by bus/metro but I recommend walking if you have the time. Check out the Parc de la Cituadella. The Zoo there is also worth a visit.

The metro stop (Cituadella del Villa Olimpic) is 5 mins walk away and is on the line to barcelonetta (if you're lazy).

A supermarket can be found in a shopping centre about 10 mins walk away in "El Centro de la Villa" on Google Maps.

There is a cafe next door to the hotel which does breakfasts + sandwiches etc.

Other facilities in the Hotel

It has a gym and spa (which weren't open when we stayed, check the hotel website for more details) and 2 pools, one on the roof which is open all year round and slightly heated. There's also a jacuzzi on the roof. The main pool in the centre of the hotel is outdoor and open in the summer.

The Syrah restaurant is open all day and is where you have your breakfast. Breakfast is good but nothing particularly special. We didn't eat there for lunch/dinner but reviews suggest the food good but the atmosphere is lacking.

The bar is expensive for spirits (12 euros a time ouch) but you can get a beer for 4.50 and a glass of cava for 4.50. Room service has a minimum 5 euro charge as well.

Wireless internet is also free throughout the hotel and is reasonably speedy

Overall

Would definately stay at this hotel again. Top notch.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    487
    115
    26
    15
See reviews for
176
662
66
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt am Main
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

I was lucky with my room being on the 6th floor and with sea view. The location is a bit remote, walking distance to south/west end of La Rambla is a good 15 minutes and you can easily walk/drive by since it's as charming as a parking garage.

Breakfast is certainly not worth 25 Euro, unemotional atmosphere and scarce buffet,
let alone present staff being rather absent.

When I learned internet access was free I was the more surprised that, lacking ice-machines, they charge 5 Euro for bringing Ice to the room. Asking for ice at the lobby bar is rather useless, only after showing my 45 magnum they would give me a glass full and not charge for it. Anyone I spoke to in service did not want to comment on that ridiculous policy.

Finally I was asking for late check-out, at midnight on a Saturday, and was asked to check back on Sunday, my day of departure. Well, I had better get up early anyway, not to miss the ample desayuno.

I guess Accor just doesn't do it for me, nice try, but I better spend just a little more than 150 Euro a night and get something real.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

We stayed at the Skipper Pullman four nights over the New Year Period. The hotel is located along Passeig Litoral Mar and right in front of the pedestrianised beach area which is littered with little eateries and bars. At a mere 200 m from the entrance of the hotel is the Ciutadella-Vila Olimpica metro stop of line 4 giving you direct quick access to the more central parts of the city (passeig de gracia, gothic quarter, ...). The hotel is flanked by the Arts hotel on one side and by the Barcelona biomedical research center on the other side. The neighbourhood is very safe and pleasant to walk through. The rooms of the hotel are comfortable with high-quality linnen and upholstery in the rooms. The bathrooms are spatious and equiped with all modern amenities. The rooms also have a second (inner) door that provides extra insulation from possible corridor noises. The rooms basically come in two varieties : the exterior ones that face the streetside have no terraces and generally less light. Windows can't be opened either. The interior rooms face the garden/pool area of the hotel and give either a frontal sea view of sideway sea view. These rooms have terraces and have larger windows that can be opened. The breakfast is of a good standard. Staff is polite but does not ooze with personality or with attentiveness. Wifi is free and available everywhere in the hotel. The business center is likewise free of charge and available 24/24. All in all this is a very nice hotel of the Accor group that offers value for money. One default in the design of the rooms was the shower door which does allow a trickle of water to escape onto the bathroom floor when taking a shower. This could be easily remedied in my opinion though.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viana do Castelo, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

I've stayed in Barcelona's Pullman (or AB Skipper) like is also know for three nights.

The staff was amazing, all of them friendly. When i checked in they upgraded my room to a better room (front to the sea). The hotel is near Barcelona's marina, and is 2 minutes walking from the beach. At night the pubs and bars are all in that area, what is great if you want to go to barcelona to enjoy the nightlife)

The room had all the conditions to be a 5 star hotel, and there was a metro station very close to the hotel, from where you can go to any place in Barcelona.

This hotel is highly recommended. (Sorry for my english)

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

If you're going to BCN during summer its perfect location for the beach, its right on Port Olympic, not far from Port Vell, however, its a bit far from the city center, its def not a walkable distance. I found that the service is not all that great for a 5 star hotel, there were a few agents there were being a bit rude and uneasy to approach... It was my husband's birthday the day when we checked in, the front desk agent was very nice and noticed it, just about 15 mins later she sent a box of chocolate to the room... breakfast is exellent, can't ask for more, overall is great!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuengirola, Spain
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

We had a chance to try this lovely hotel during our return trip to Barcelona. From our initial check in at the reception through to checking out, we found the staff very helpful, polite and efficient. The room had every possible facility for your comfort and need, everything in the room was very trendy and uptodate. The hotel is located about 100 metres from the Metro which is only 3 stops to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas area. We really love this hotel and would definately come back to stay here again sometimes in the future.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

This really is a first-rate hotel within yards of the sea-front and marina and still only twenty minutes walk (or five mins on the metro) from the centre of the old town. The room was ultra luxurious with a fine view of the city. We had breakfast included in our rate. The standard of the food was superb though we did find some of the waitresses just a little surly. The front desk staff were very helpful however. We would definitely recommend this hotel to others. The roof top pool (which we didn't use) was worth the price alone. It wasn't the cheapest hotel around but for a five star hotel, it wasn't at all outrageous.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullman Barcelona Skipper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Barcelona Skipper

Address: Avinguda Litoral 10, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#14 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#15 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#40 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#47 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#83 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Barcelona Skipper 5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barcelona, Port Olímpic, only 50 metres from the beach.An ideal location next to the beach and an excellent starting point, no matter what your reason for visiting Barcelona.Our prime location features fast connections to the airport and the main roads leading into the city. Taxis, the underground metro, buses and trams are just a few meters away from the hotel... plus a relaxing stroll alongside Barcelona's beautiful beaches will bring you to the world-famous Rambles. A 20-minute walk in the opposite direction will lead you to the new Diagonal Mar district with its famous Barcelona Forum Convention Centre, the flagship of the new Barcelona.All rooms are touched with contemporary design and are fully furnished and fitted to provide optimal comfort. The hotel's extensive common areas are filled with natural Mediterranean light and offer a luxurious view of our private interior garden.Our personalised service and commitment thrives on meeting your needs so that you can make the most of your stay in Barcelona.Pullman Barcelona Skipper is the ideal hotel that combines business and leisure, creating a product that can offer you the best in services and technology to ensure success, combined with premium recreation and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, ACCOR, Splendia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Pullman Barcelona Skipper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Barcelona Skipper Hotel Barcelona
Ab Skipper Barcelona
Hotel Ab Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Barcelona Skipper, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.