We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The chef was less than enthusiastic, not hands on as promised.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cook and Taste Barcelona Cooking Classes

Cook and Taste Barcelona Cooking Classes
C. Paradis 3, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
+34 933 02 13 20
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$81*
and up
Ranked #35 of 545 Activities in Barcelona
Type: Classes/Workshops, Classes
Activities: Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Find out about the authentic local culture through its gastronomy. Our half-day Barcelona cooking classes are highly participative. You will learn how to cook the Spanish dishes that have travelled the world. You will cook them yourself with the aid of an experienced chef and the complicity of a small group. - Spanish cuisine classes - Tour of La Boqueria market - Team-building activities - Corporate events - Foodies walking tour
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The chef was less than enthusiastic, not hands on as promised.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I took a one day cooking class and market tour. I specifically asked if it was a hands on class and the women said, 'yes.' However, when i arrived this was not the case. The pro: all you can drink wine during our class, location was good, menu was very good. Con: I could not hear the chef during the market tour, he would just speak directly to one member, not 'hands on' as promised, price/quantity was average, pretty short class, far too many members in the class and the chef seemed less than excited to be doing the class (he could have been sick, but not sure, he had the sniffles).

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsanchis, Propietario at Cook and Taste Barcelona Cooking Classes, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Rachel,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about your experience in C&T. It's really important for us to get your feedback as it helps us offer a better service day after day.
I'm really sorry we didn't meet up to your expectations. I feel sad indeed for that and sincerely apologize for the impression you got from the chef. Be sure I'll personally go over the matter with him.
We would certainly appreciate an opportunity to change your view when you visit Barcelona again.

Thank you again, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon!

Bego Sanchis
founder & ceo
Cook&Taste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    35
    9
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Such a Good Time.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My family and I took this class on one of the last days of our trip in November. It was worth every penny! Those who want to actively participate can and those who prefer to observe can do that as well. My girls, ages 6 and 9, love to cook and chose to actively participate. The Chef was great and gave them age appropriate tasks and they were able to do them with a little help and supervision from Dad. Without a doubt one of our favorite memories from our trip.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't need to be a foodie to enjoy this experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I attended a half day cookery course last Saturdayand really enjoyed it. "Kim" our guide and chef took us to the market to buy our produce and was really helpfully explaining every part of our experience. The cooking back at the kitchen was very relaxed and everyone was able to take part. Would recommend to anyone!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinebeck, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Cooking Class for almost any level of Cook”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

It's bit pricey but worth every penny. You'll prepare a full menu of Catalan food. Our chef-teacher was super friendly. Instruction was provided in English. The class begins with a great tour of La Boqueria then moves on to the cooking class. Wine was served liberally and the class is very hands on while keeping everything light and fun. Definitely one of my favorite attractions in Barcelona. I took my ten year old nice and while the group is not geared toward children, she was made to feel welcome and was encouraged to participate in the food preparation.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We heard about Cook and Taste through one of our Frommer's travel guide. It was great introduction to some traditional Catalan recipes. The recipes were easy to follow and you could be as hands on as you wanted to be. We tried some great white and red wines with the meals. Our chef was entertaining and informative, and the food was very tasty. Overall of the cost of the class was comparable to other cooking classes we have taken in the states. We would definitely recommend this class to others who have an interest in cooking and learning more about the Catalan culture.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cook and Taste Barcelona Cooking Classes also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Cook and Taste Barcelona Cooking Classes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cook and Taste Barcelona Cooking Classes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.