We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly, safe and clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Alogar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Alogar to your Saves list
Hostal Alogar
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Street Laforja 98-100, 08021 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #226 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“friendly, safe and clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My 15 year old son and I stayed here for 4 nights on our first trip to Barcelona. We had an ensuite bathroom which was clean, with fresh towels and lots of hot water. The rooms were made up every day and there was even a hairdryer - hostels have certainly improved since my student days! The receptionists were friendly and the information sheet provides excellent clear advice as to how best get around the city. Local shops and cafes seemed reasonable and full of Spanish people - it was good to be away from the more touristy areas. The area felt very safe and everyone we met was kind and friendly.

Room Tip: book ensuite so you can have a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela L, Gerente at Hostal Alogar, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear guest,


How wonderful to read that you enjoyed your time in Barcelona and at the Hostel Alogar.

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions on TripAdvisor.

Your comments in regards our services and staff are very much appreciated.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in our hostel!


Yours sincerely,

Daniela L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    40
    13
    2
    6
See reviews for
10
48
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights as part of a group of seven people, so we booked four rooms. All of the rooms were clean and comfortable and there was the added bonus of a shared kitchen for everyone. The staff were very friendly, the location was good and it was very quiet, despite being in a pretty busy area. Prior to our arrival we received an email with detailed instructions on how to reach the accommodation, which was very useful. Definitely a good place to stay and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela L, Gerente at Hostal Alogar, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for choosing our hostel and also for your kind comments. They are a source of motivation and encouragement for all our staff members. We would be glad to see you with another ocasion.


Best regards,
Daniela L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Timis, Romania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We truly enjoyed the 7 nights’ accommodation at Hostal Alogar that we booked at the beginning of October. To begin with, all the personnel, from receptionist to the house keeper, were not only the friendliest and politest people I have ever met, but they also did their best to make our stay be as comfortable as possible. For example, the front desk was stacked with maps of Barcelona translated in at least 5 languages, discount packages and coupons for most of the see sights; they even had souvenirs at special prices, of course. However, what impressed me was that they had carefully put together a sightseeing itinerary which included 3 different ways of visiting Barcelona, which is by subway, by touristic bus or on foot. What is more, once you arrive to the hostel, you are welcomed as if you were a close friend who’d be spending the night. After having checked in, we were made the tour of the hostel, starting with our double room, the down-hole bathrooms and ending with the spacious and modern kitchen. So, in case you do not speak Castellan, don’t worry, the receptionist speaks 5 languages (English, French, Italian, Castellan and Romanian). The room we had was exactly what we needed as it was cozy and spacious. The furniture was modern and the mattress of the bed was excellent. Every day the room was cleaned, the bed was made perfectly and the towels were changed despite they hadn’t been used previously. As our room didn’t have a private bathroom, we had to use the two bathrooms down the hole. I was really surprised to notice that they were always impeccably cleaned, the white tiles shone as if they were being constantly brushed with a tooth brush. I’m not exaggerating. Also, what I liked was that the kitchen was very well-equipped and organized as it had separate cupboards, dishes and cutlery for the guests of every room. So, we could cook at any time of the day. The kitchen was also the place where we met some other guests coming from all over the world and it was a good opportunity to socialize. Bottom line, we had a great time and we made quite some friends in Barcelona which is why we would definitely come back to Hostal Alogar anytime.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deiva Marina, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We just wanted a cheap place to crash for a night and were pleasantly surprised by this place. We had a double room with shared bathroom. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean throughout our stay, and the shared bathroom comes equipped with soap and a hairdryer. There is also a fully decked out communal kitchen (also very clean and well kept). The only downside is that rooms with shared bathroom have no windows and no soundproofing, but for one night it wasn't an issue. If you're staying a few nights, maybe fork out an extra 10 euro a night for the rooms with bathrooms, as they have windows.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela L, Gerente at Hostal Alogar, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear guest,

It is a real pleasure to read that you have been satisfied with our hostel.

Thank you for the kindness of sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and we are looking forward to welcome you back to the Hostel Alogar!


Best regards,
Daniela L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were welcomed and brought to our room upon our arrival. They also arrange shuttle to and from the airport. They have a very nice and well organised kitchen with great facilities. Kitchen and communal bathrooms are impeccably clean. Rooms are quaint and quiet location. Not far from Catalunya square.

I would definitely go there again.

Room Tip: Best to get a room with your own private bathroom but the shared bathrooms were clean and well equip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

What I appreciate about this hostel is, firstly, its ideal location. It is located in a safe, quiet, and fairly up-scale neighbourhood where the residents are cultured, educated, and friendly. There are plenty of amenities nearby for you to buy groceries and induge in delicious pastries and Spanish food. The metro station is just a stone's throw away from the hostel too; it is very easy and fast to reach the city-center of Barcelona. Secondly, the receptionist is helpful and speaks comprehensible English; she also gives good advice and tips on the sights and sounds of Barcelona. Thirdly, each room's occupant(s) is/are allocated his/their own fridge space, utensils, and cutleries in the common kitchen space. The kitchen itself is clean and well-maintained; thus, it is not off-putting to travellers who want to cook and prepare their own food.

On the flip side: What I don't appreciate about this hostel is, firstly, its "wafer-thin" walls; you can literally hear a pin drop in the adjacent room. If you are a light sleeper like me, you can get around this problem by using foam ear plugs to sleep--this method worked well for me. Secondly, because the hostel is located beside a school, it can get a tad noisy in the morning when the children come out of their classrooms to play during their break. Thirdly, the wifi-signal that I received in the room wasn't very reliable: I had to try numerous times before I could get a wireless connection on my laptop.

Overall, despite the above-mentioned shortcomings, I will still recommend this hostel to stay in: Indeed, what it lacks in its infrastructure, it more than makes up for it in its ideal location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed 4 nights -on the last night I was bitten 20 times (twice on my face). We’d checked out by the time it was clear just how bad it was so contacted the hostel by email. They checked the room –found that ours (room E) and another had the little insects and emailed us a pdf of the bill as an explanation about why they couldn’t refund us the last night’s stay. I’m sure they haven’t contacted the people who stayed before us to warn them they now might have bedbugs taken the bedbugs home with them.
The room was clean but the walls thin. On the last night people next door had sex which was quiet funny but might be a problem if you were traveling with children.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela L, Gerente at Hostal Alogar, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
We have already answer to this client, but she tell us that if we don´t refund her she will let a bad review on the internet. What we don´t understand is why she didn´t complain when she make the check-out. Our answer was this:
´´ We have already apologised us for the situation that we didn´t know about it. Unfortunately this happens to you and in this way we find that we have the problem with the bedbugs, but we have taken steps to resolve it. We have already make a disinsection, like you can see in the bill that I have attached you, in the rooms C and E, because we make a revision in all the rooms and we find only in these two. So, we are sorry, but we can not refund you the cost of the last night. We are very grateful that you inform us and we were able to resolve the problem immediately.´´
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Alogar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Alogar

Address: Street Laforja 98-100, 08021 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#175 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Alogar 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the best districts of Barcelona, Sarria-Sant Gervasi, Alogar Hostel enjoys a privileged situation, safe and quiet. In the district you will find the best shops, malls and restaurants in Barcelona. Alogar Hostel has a total of 13 rooms of different types: single, double and triple rooms with a total capacity for 27 people. Some of the rooms have private bathrooms and others share, but all have air conditioning and heating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostal Alogar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Alogar Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Alogar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.