We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Barcelona Catedral to your Saves list
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cultural and Gastronomical Activities | Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Calgary, Canada
“Great Hotel with Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is an excellent hotel, with very friendly and helpful staff. Im surprised it isn't ranked higher on this site. It should be!!
Thank you to Pedro for your excellent service. You are an asset to this hotel!

The location is in a very central part of Barcelona in the Gothic area and its fantastic. Just steps away from the Cathedral. Couldn't be better.
We only stayed here one night before our cruise and booked a different hotel for 5 nights after our cruise. That hotel is listed higher for ranking and It wasn't as good as this one for location, bed comfort and for hotel facilities! We of course wished we stayed here for the 5 nights after the cruise. I highly recommend this hotel, as my room was comfortable, quiet and very clean. We would book here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    496
    63
    8
    9
See reviews for
232
672
33
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The location is brilliant, just 5 min walk to Ramblas and the Catalunya square. Only 10 walk to the sea side. Easy to find bus and underground. Restaurants all around in 1000 meters. So much to see in this city. This was my 7th visit to Barcelona and I can´t get enough of it.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IzakaBCN, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your review.
We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Our service is one of our goals of the hotel, and we are pleased to know that our location was good for your stay.
Best regards.
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We chose this hotel for our second visit to Barcelona for the location; right in the middle of the Gothic Quarter. The location is unbeatable! The food at the restaurant was delicious and the room was very comfortable and quiet.

Room Tip: Our room looked over to the inside courtyard and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IzakaBCN, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Alex628
We would like to thank you for reviewing our hotel.
We are very glad that you have had a nice stay at the hotel and that you rate us as an excellent hotel.
We hope of welcome you back in your next stay in Barcelona.
Best Regards
A. Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great hotel, perfect location in the Gothic area directly across from Barcelona Catedral - always a lot going on in the plaza with lots of little cafes very close by. Very clean and modern hotel and great amenities, although we didn't have time to take advantage of relaxing on the roof pool. I know that European rooms are generally smaller than American hotels, but we had our adult daughter staying with us in our room and we were relatively comfortable. Walking distance to Las Ramblas, the waterfront at Port Vell and more. You really feel embedded in the Spanish culture in the gothic area surrounded by so much old architecture and little streets and so close to so many great restaurants. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Barcelona and can't wait to get back there.

Stayed June 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IzakaBCN, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Robjsen
We would like to thank you for your review.
We are very pleasedto know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and that you recommend us.
We really have a very good location, and we try to invest in order to have the hotel update always.
We really hope on welcome you back again in the near future.
Best Regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herentals, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is perfect for a citytrip to Barcelona: friendly staff, beautiful, spacious room for 3 persons with nice view on a square and comfortable beds and brandnew bathroom (room 312). Delicious breakfast, partly served on table, partly buffet and a la carte menu without extra charges. We also enjoyed the sunbeds and swimming pool on the rooftop. The hotel is located in the beautiful area Barri Gotic near the cathedral and 200 meters from the Ramblas. We will certainly come back!!

Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IzakaBCN, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dearest Guest,
thank you for your review.
We are really happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We are pleased to know thatyou found room 312 cosy and confortable.
We hope of welcoming you back soon.
Best regards
A. Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved our stay. Fantastic room, so, so helpful staff and a really good location close to all Gothic quarter and easy to access all the major sights via metro or the hop on hop off bus.

It is always the staff who make a difference and we are very grateful to Pedro who helped us throughout our stay. Design etc lovely but would have been nothing without the staff.

Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IzakaBCN, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you we are very pleased to know that you rate us as a Brilliant stay.
We are very glad to know that our team has made the difference helping you to have a very nice stay with us during your holiday. We will share your comment with all the team, and Pedro Will be very happy to know that you have menthion him on your review.
We really hope of welcome you back again in the near future.
Best regards
A. Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Address: Cultural and Gastronomical Activities | Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#28 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#50 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 95% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, a la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Splendia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Barcelona Catedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.