We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel. Perfect location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Barcelona Catedral to your Saves list
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cultural and Gastronomical Activities | Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Kfar Saba, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel. Perfect location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We spent 2 nights in this great hotel. It is just by the Cathedral of Barcelona at the center of the Gothic quarter. The hotel has a very pleasant modern decoration. Our room was specious, clean and nicely decorated with a large bathroom. We enjoyed our stay very much. The breakfast was huge and excellent with a large varayety. It has a good air-condition. Very good free Wi-Fi. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed at room #414 and enjoyed it very much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    477
    60
    8
    9
See reviews for
225
642
31
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Hotel is situated in the Gothic quarter, which is a beautiful quarter and close to many attractions. Hotel room are new, clean , well equipped, and service and staff is great. Very good breakfast. I recommend it with a good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IzakaBCN, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your review.
we are very glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We really look forward on welcoming you soon.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very happy about this hotel.Nice and friendly staff.Clean and tidy room.Right in the centre of Gothic area,about 10 minutes to walk to La Rambla street.Also very quiet hotel.I would recommend this hotel to everyone .Definitely will be back here on my next visit.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IzakaBCN, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for rating us aas a very good hotel.
We are very pleased to know that you will recommend us to your friends and that you will come back in your next stay in Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having looked at various places on trip advisor chose this one as we wanted to be near th cathedral area.... we were not disappointed. Front desk staff were ALL friendly and kind...more than willing to give helpful hints regarding places to see. We took advantage of the "book at the hotel" facility for all the major attractions which meant no long queues .

The room was beautiful...we had a superior terrace...lovely! big, clean and with a lovely bathroom. sooooooo clean!!!!

Not wanting to be a hunter gatherer out looking for breakfast we ordered breakfast at the hotel.....what a treat...fruit, cereals, cheese, meats.....bread...juice...the list is endless....delicious.!

We had dinner in the hotel on two evenings and were very pleased.

Only one criticism........stay was too short!!!!

Room Tip: We had superior terrace 403
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IzakaBCN, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest,
Thank for your review.
Best regards
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent hotel. Excellent service. Excellent breakfasts. English speaking concierge was helpful and gladly assisted with taxi's. Perfect location for tourists in the Gothic area. Worked out very well for us.

Room Tip: Not sure what this requires?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IzakaBCN, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest,
thank you for rating us as excellent as your writte in your review.
We are very happy to know that you had a nice stay with us,.
We really work hard to please our guests, and we really look forward on welcoming you in your next trip to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Right in the centre of the Gothic quarter of Barcelona. Really comfortable rooms, fabulous breakfasts and the evening meals looked good though we didn't use this facility. Close to a beautiful part of the city and only 3 or 4 minutes walk from Catalonia Square the main transport hub.

Room Tip: I don't think it matters which room you get
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IzakaBCN, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for you review.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We really look forward on welcoming you soon.
Best regards
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Chosen (as always) due to the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor, the hotel did not disappoint.

Staff were good english speakers (much better than my terrible spanish) and were friendly and accommodating throughout our stay. The room was large, quiet, cool, clean and ultimately perfect for a city-break for two.

What made this hotel so good was its facilities and location. The rooftop pool, whilst not ideal for those practicing for an olympic team, is a good size, clean and surrounded by loungers and a small but functional gym. 10 strides out the door is a great cafe (we never stay B&B, as we like to sample the local cafes) and another 10 yards are you're in the Gothic Quarter just opposite the Cathedral.

Make this your base for a Barcelona trip and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IzakaBCN, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and that your recommend us.
We hope of welcomng you back in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Address: Cultural and Gastronomical Activities | Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#18 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#22 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#42 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 95% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, a la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Splendia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Barcelona Catedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.