We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Barcelona Catedral to your Saves list
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cultural and Gastronomical Activities | Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Wiltshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location with helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A wonderful location just by the Cathedral a few minutes walk from the Las Ramblas area and all the big shops. Just 20 minutes or so from the airport, taxis seem to find this place difficult to find or get to (happened to us 3 times), but once there the staff are friendly, mulitlingual and helpful.
We never had the breakfast so can't comment.

We booked a suite and had a very large room with a seating area and a huge very comfortable bed. This overlooked a very small square, about the best view that could be got in this tightly built up area. Poorly cleaned rug on the floor was a bit of a let down.
Bathroom was large, with both bath and separate shower cubicle. Reasonably well cleaned, but let down by no shelf for soap in the shower, and a heavily leaking shower hose,- shower over the bath saved the day. All in all a good stay in a wonderful city, with a very well placed hotel. I would go back.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IzakaBCN, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for reviewing our hotel.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay and we would like to thank you for recomending us.
We will check the shower with maintenance in order to check that works propertly.
we really look foward on welcoming you again soon.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    466
    59
    8
    9
See reviews for
221
622
31
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here for three nights and I first would like to give the positive: I cannot fault the staff, location was perfect for us with a lot of sights within walking distance and very close to shops, restaurants and the tourist bus stop. Breakfast was brilliant and really set us up for the day. The hotel pool was out of use but we didn't need it as it's a little chilly and we spent most of our time out anyway. For a city break the hotel room had everything we needed, good wi-fi and was spotlessly clean. On to the one major bad point: the walls are not adequately soundproofed at all with the result that we were disturbed by other guests several times each night (from all directions) and found it very difficult to sleep. We didn't see the point in asking to switch rooms as we would have had to be put in a room with no-one staying in the rooms either side, above or below us which is too much of an ask and you can't predict which guests will sound like farmyard animals and which will not! The walls are so thin that I could smell cigarette smoke from the room next door at one point, which is pretty unpleasant as a non-smoker. None of this is the fault of the staff and it is such a shame as if this were not a problem I would love to stay here again but as it stands, If I were to return to Barcelona I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IzakaBCN, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
we will check all your comments in order to find out what happened to the room where you have stayed.
We really look forward on having the opportunity of welcome you back again soon.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited Barcelona for valentines weekend with my partner. Barcelona, what beautiful city. Plenty of things to see and do. I booked this hotel because of its rating, it had a gym and a swimming pool. Arrived on Friday 13th to find that the pool was closed for the weekend. Very dissapointed. Saturday night/Sunday morning around 1.30am my partner and I were woken up by a fight happening in the corridor outside our room. Lots of shouting and swearing so I phoned reception to tell them and they just said "it's sorted" and put the phone down on me. The shouting & swearing continued for another hour or so meaning we were very tired on the Sunday. Very dissapointed with how this was dealt with. The hotel itself is very well placed, very central and we'll placed. €45 taxi ride to/from the airport. The rooms are quite noisey you can hear people in the other rooms. The bed was very comfy. Minibar had a good variety selection but as always, hugely overpriced. Rooms were clean. Overall I would say the hotel is well placed, but with the issues I experienced, I'm not sure I would return or recommend as there are other hotels close by.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IzakaBCN, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for your review.
We very much regret for the inconveniences during your recent stay.
We did have a problem with a drunk guest, but it is totally unusual to our hotel, and as you saw our security team went up absolutely fast in order to finish with the matter.
We can not control what the guests do, and unfortunately this guest drunk too much.
We really hope of having the oportunity of welcoming you again in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel offers an excellent location to Central Barcelona, attractions and cathedral, the rooms are quite, the hotel staff are very polite and informative about local attractions, the breakfast is 5 star, you can eat inside or out on the terrace, would recommend and come back here again, rooms with minibar and a vietamanise restaurant opposite, tapas bar Just down the road to recommend

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IzakaBCN, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your review in Tripadvisor.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and that you recommend us.
We really look forward on welcoming you again soon.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have had a fantastic time in Barcelona. What a City full of history. The hotel very basic and modern and very clean, that's most important. We will back again hopefully the restaurant will open for dinner.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IzakaBCN, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for your review.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and that you will come back.
We hope of giving you the welcome very soon.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Estonia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent hotel in excellent location, right in the middle of old town. The hotel is a boutique type, with nice stylish rooms. Breakfast is excellent, but can take some time, as you order from the menu.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for highly recommend our hotel to the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay and that we have pleased your expectations.
We really look forward on welcoming you again soon
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is a good choice for being choose to the Catedral. If you are looking for a luxury hotel, this is not the best place. The rooms are small and the view from the roof top is not as good as expected. I was not completely disappointed by the hotel. But, if I were to travel back to Barcelona I would probably look for a different hotel.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your review.
We are pleased to know that you had a nice stay.
The service, the location and the boutique style of our hotel with the rate of our product is what we expect to the guest to give a good relation with the value received, we also do give extra products like free bikes, free walking tour and free wifi. .
We really look forward on welcoming you again in the future.
Best regards,
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Address: Cultural and Gastronomical Activities | Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#18 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#27 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#61 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 95% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, a la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Barcelona Catedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.