We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, middleclass service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Barcelona Catedral to your Saves list
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cultural and Gastronomical Activities | Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good location, middleclass service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Hotel is nice and new. Rooms had everything, WIFI connection was very good and the location is perfect. The receptionist was very slow though and it took about 10 min to check in. Everything was registered by hand, not very technological...

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    453
    56
    8
    9
See reviews for
213
605
29
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was a great choice in Barcelona and is a small hotel. I would recommend to have instructions to reach the property as our taxi driver had problems locating this hotel. The rooms are spacious and cleaned to high standards. We also took one of the free walking tours and is a great initiatives of the hotel. The guide was good and told you a few facts you wouldn't know if you explored the area by yourself.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Really good hotel, great situation for the centre and travelling around. Breakfast at 18 Euros we thought was very expensive but we didn't try it because the cost put us off. Go out of the main entrance, turn left and left again; there is a great cafe called Estruch that serves good food at a reasonable price.

You are in easy walking distance of main sites and a short walk to the metro to take you further afield.

Friendly, clean and helpful. We will be going back.

Green Features: The towels are changed daily even if you don't put them in the bath :(
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments, and we are really happy that you have shared them with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay, and we would like to present our apologies for misundertanding you on changing towels. We do change them daily and if the guest request not to we don't change it, as the green sign that is in the bathroom says.
Thank you for choosing our hotel and we really hope of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Wow I am impressed. Very nice entrance, clean modern boutique style but comfy. Beds are comfortable, window opens for fresh air, bathroom is good size, shower is modern and lots of hot water every time. Location is just tucked round a corner from the main cathedral square which means its on a quieter side street . Its about a 7min walk to La ramblas and a 10 min walk to Marina . Good shops on the way. Pool is on roof top but too cold to try looked nice for summer. Staff all helpful good english. If i was pushed to be really picky the only thing we strung;led with was locking he room safe as it was slightly complex to say the least, but that is only a slight thing.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the lifts, if you want robes you need to book a premium room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you had enoyed your stay and that you recommend us.
We try to give our best to please our service to the guests.
We really look forward on welcoming you again soon.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed in this hotel for 5 days and enjoyed it very much. It is wonderfully located - right across the corner from the Cathedral with easy access by foot to major sites and to the lovely beatiful little streets of the gothic quarter and the born quarter. The hotel is nicely decorated, the room clean and comfortable with a spacious bathroom. Service is impecable. You can find cheaper breakfast out of the hotel, but if you like the ease and convenience then the hotel's breakfast is very good with a wide variety of products. The hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the rest of the tripadvisor community.
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay, that you are pleased with our hotel, and that you highly recommend us.
We really hope of welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The price is a bit high regarding it's not the season,the Internet speed is slow it depends on when you are at the hotel and the pillows are not comfortable so you need at least 3 of them to equal the normal one pillow

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay and that you recommend us.
We really look forward on welcoming you again soon.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I spent 2 nights here with friends in early Dec14 for a short break in Barcelona. The Hotel is perfectly placed to explore many of the sites by foot or short Taxi ride. As the name suggests, the Hotel is literally right on the square at the front of the Cathedral. At the time of our visit this square was host to a Christmas market and during the afternoon and evening was HEAVING with people. Despite this, the room remained quiet and relaxing.

Our room was large for a European city hotel and was clean, tidy and well maintained (as was the rest of the Hotel). I was especially impressed with the 'rainforest' shower head ... once I worked out how to use it (the trick is to pull the end of the tap forward!). The room was equipped with TV and tea and coffee making facilities.

Reception staff were well presented, friendly and helpful with enough English to ensure no communication problems (sorry, my Spanish is non-existent). Importantly given our early arrival and late departure they were very willing to hold our luggage in a secure room before check-in and after check-out.

The Hotel is around 30 mins by Taxi from the airport, 35 - 40 Euro each way.

Room Tip: Our room was on the front of the hotel, we had no issue with noise despite it being very busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that you recommend us.
We really look forward on welcoming you again in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Address: Cultural and Gastronomical Activities | Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#21 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#75 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 95% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, a la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Barcelona Catedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.