We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location...but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Barcelona Catedral to your Saves list
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cultural and Gastronomical Activities | Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Location Location Location...but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I am just back from Barcelona and what can I say, this Hotels location is perfect.
We even called the Catedral "OUR Catedral" as we were so close.

BUT...I have a light sleep. In the morning and also late evening there are the steep alleys around the Hotel where everything appears twice as loud as it is...garbage trucks, delivery vehicles all around. also we could here our neighbors in the room speaking.
for me I was only able to sleep with earplugs unfortunately. But it is a city trip, so I will not complain about it.

Breakfast is EUR 18,50, which we did not have as some nice bakeries are all around.

Very friendly staff indeed!!!

I would recommend it for a 3 night trip...

Room Tip: book upper floors from 4-5
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel.
As you wrote we are very well located, and with the recently re-styling and our service we try to give to our Guests-friends, a very good experience in order to made they stay in Barcelona unique.
We hope of welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    453
    56
    8
    9
See reviews for
214
606
29
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Two adults and two teenagers stayed here over the Christmas break. The hotel provided two connecting rooms with the bed sizes requested (two singles in one, a king in the other). There were very few hotels in Barcelona that offered the option of connecting rooms and we were appreciative. The rooms were clean and quiet and modern and relatively spacious. The breakfast was delightful -- bread and pastries and fruit on the table -- a buffet to choose from and hot food could be ordered. The staff was very helpful and kind and cheerful. They got us cabs, made restaurant recommendations, gave directions and helped with the aftermath of a theft (elsewhere -- not in the hotel). This was a good place to stay for teenagers -- lots of shopping and tapas nearby -- and a good base for touring the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel.
We also would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We hope of welcoming you in your next trip to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The location of The Hotel is excellent. Nice and clean and also very big rooms. You can reach the bus,metro , city tour busses and everywhere easily. Come and stay in this Hotel without thinking...
Haber a nice lovely holiday....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the rest of the tripadviosr users.
We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that you review us as excellet.
we hope of welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We been visiting on October 2013. We'v experienced an excellent service in the hotel. Room was perfect, clean, everything functioning perfect. The team is very very nice, would help you in everything! We were amazed from the hotel team for helping us get a lost package that were sent to us while we were staying there. Even after we left, they kept helping us retrieve the package and ship it to us, an excellent handling of the problem, byond all expectations, and all this was after we left the hotel! We are thankful and appreciate the help very much! No doubt, next time we're in Barcelona, we'll be staying in this hotel! team- many thanks!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the feedback given about your stay from October.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you have received the correct treatment.
We really look forward on welcoming you again soon.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My husband and I spent four wonderful days in Barcelona at this hotel in the old city. A great bonus was the tour of the old town with the hotel' s guide. The hotel is a block from the Cathedral and walking distance to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The hotel is very comfortable with instant coffee and tea in the room. The staff helped with restaurant suggestions and our very early airport transfer. As in one other post, our only complaint was the noise from the street below. Try to book a room off the street or bring ear plugs.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel.
We hope of welcome you back in your next trip to Barcelona.
Best regards and we wish you a great 2014.
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We wondered if our return visit would be as good as our first in 2007...it was!

On check in with our friends we were asked if we wanted adjacent rooms, twin or king beds plus courtyard or street facing rooms, plenty of choice. I should add that they were more than happy for us to check in early too.

The hotel is superbly located, right next to the Barcelona Cathedral, 5 minutes from Jaime 1 metro and about 15 minutes stroll from Catalunya metro via Las Ramblas. We didn't take breakfast in the hotel, walk out of the hotel to the left and there is a lovely tapas restaurant diagonally to the right, you can get breakfast (sandwich plus coffee and orange juice) for around 3 euros.

Our visit didn't fit with the free hotel walking tour this time so we picked up the free runner bean walking tour instead - Katherine was a brilliant guide!

The reception team were very helpful and happy to answer all of our questions, meal recommendations, travel arrangements, weather forecast etc.

Room 102 faces the courtyard and we had no problem with any noise, the courtyard rooms are a little darker though which may bother some - this was explained to us during check in. There are tea and coffee making facilities, a fridge, a safe and the usual toiletries, plus razor, toothbrush and shoe shine in the room. The only thing we missed was a full length mirror but not enough for it to be an issue.

We would certainly be happy to return to Hotel Barcelona Catedral next time we visit Barcelona.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We are very glad to know that you came back after 6 years and you keep rating us as Superb.
We would like to explain you that we are now finishing a re-styling on the rooms and we have located 3 full-size mirror in the room. :)
We really look forward on welcoming you in your next trip to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I stayed for the weekend and upon arrival I was very pleased to see the hotel lived up to it's pictures. Very clean, very modern, very relaxing.

What made the hotel stand out even more for me was that during my trip I lost a bag with important contents inside. I lost it in a bar/restaurant - no where near the hotel. I couldn't retrieve it as it was closed on the Sunday (made worse by the fact I was leaving that day!).

I asked the Hotel staff for help. Not only did they take all my details, calling and emailing the bar, but they actually took time off the next day to GO TO THE RESTAURANT and get my bag for me!!!!

This is above and beyond in my book! A really kind thing to do and I am so appreciative to them!

What was in the bag? A toy muppet that my son loves!! IT WAS VERY IMPORTANT THAT I GOT IT BACK!

I can't recommend the Hotel Barcelona Catedral enough - thanks Luca and Carlos and everyone else!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We look foward on welcoming your again soon.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Address: Cultural and Gastronomical Activities | Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#73 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 95% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, a la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Barcelona Catedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.