We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven in Barcelona” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Save Saved
You added Hotel Barcelona Catedral to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cultural and Gastronomical Activities | Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 517 hotels in Barcelona
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Adelaide
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A haven in Barcelona”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Located by the Cathedral and the old part of town this is an excellent base for wandering around the alleys and shops. The Ramblas is only a short walk away with its own attractions. Close to the hotel are several good restaurants and tapas bars which make excellent places to stop for a drink or meal.
The hotel is modern with a patio area where one can relax away from the bustle of the town outside. The rooms are well maintained and reasonably sized (but we would have appreciated more than one chair in a double room). Breakfast was exceptional and a limited but very good menu is available for lunch but no evening service.
A character of the hotel was the universally pleasant and helpful staff throughout.
We would certainly stay here again when in Barcelona.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay in our hotel.
We look foward to hear from you soon.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    516
    411
    53
    8
    9
See reviews for
190
541
26
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

If you are after a good clean hotel in the Barri Gotic area then this hotel fits the bill.Our room (214) was spacious,well appointed with a very comfortable bed.Breakfast was included in our deal and was ok - the coffee wasn't the best however. There are some really great bars and restaurants near by and the whole area was really vibrant. The Hotel is situated only 5 minutes walk away from Placa De Catalunya where the Aerobus terminal is located.Easy to explore other areas from the location with the Ramblas,El Born and Port area close by.There was so much to see and do that we had no time to use the swimming pool!

Room Tip: Room 214 faced the front of the hotel - not too much noise from the street below
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the rest of tripadvisor users.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay in the hotel and that you found our hotel in a good location.
We hope of welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washngton, DC
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has everything I look for in a hotel. Lets start with location. It maybe 100 feet from the plaza in front of the Barcelona cathedral. It is a short walk from the Plaza Catalunya. The aerobus from the Barcelona international airport (BCN) is only 6 euros (35 minutes from BCN to Pl. Catalunya) and a short walk to the hotel. Buses run every five minutes.

The hotel is only a couple blocks from the Ramblas (a big attraction). It is located mid-way between stops on two lines of the Barcelona metro. The Barcelona metro is clean, safe, easy to use, etc. Close by Metro stops makes much of Barcelona so easy to visit.

The rooms are great--large, clean, airy, well-lighted. The free wi-fi worked, the bathroom was nicely appointed appointed with big towels. The bed seemed larger than any I had ever slept in.

The only negative is the hotel does not have a restaurant that serves dinner. Of course, I would not eat in a hotel unless the only other restaurant in town was named Eats. (I have eaten in a place named Eats but that is another story.) Maybe a lifetime of business travel has left me jaded but hotels are for sleeping. Restaurants should stand or fall on their food. In any case, you need not fear going hungry in the center of Barcelona...your only problem will be choosing from so many places. The Born district with all of its restaurants is only a 10-minute walk.

We had lunch in the market located next to the Ramblas. The market is worth a visit as you stroll down the Ramblas...if your timing works have lunch at a market restaurant. Stretch your taste buds...I had anchovies on country bread as an appetizer.

The hotel offers a free walking tour of the cathedral area on Wednesday nights...if your visit includes a Wednesday night stay, plan a late dinner after the tour.




Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments!
We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed all of our services and that you did our free walking tour that is offered to our guests.
Thank you again and we hope of welcoming you back soon.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Rooms are beautiful. Breakfast was lovely. Location was fantastic - just a stone's throw from Las Ramblas and just off a lovely square with a cathedral, bars & restaurants. There is a beautiful chill-out area just beyond the main reception - the only problem was that the bar closed really early (around 9.00 p.m.) so we didn't get to use this chill-out area as much as we would have liked.

Room Tip: Any room is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and that you wanted to share it with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We would like to inform you that our bar closes at midnight.
We look fowards on welcoming you in the near future.
Best regard
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The best things about this hotel is the location and the roof top swimming pool.
The rooms are a good size.
On our arrival our safe was not working and the staff made no effort to sort the problem out, their excuse was it was new and no one knew how to work it, they did say the guy who would know was off until Monday and he would sort it out then. They were fully aware it was not working on our arrival on Saturday as they said the last people reported it.
No one did come to fix it.
They did give use the use of a small locker in their office, but it was only big enough for our passport and money so not ideal.
It was the attitude of the staff that let this place down.
There is a great little coffee shop with pastries for breakfast next door.
Be sure to try the tapas bar on the corner of the square Bilbao berrin I think.
It's good value for money and very popular.
The hotel is located right by the cathedral and a 5 minute walk to la Rambla.
I would return to this location but probably not this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We would like to present our more sincer apologie because your safe was not fixed during your stay and we very much apologie for not offering two or as many safe you needed at the reception, due that we have them at the back office in order to be used by our guests.
A part from this we hope you give us the opportunity of welcoming you back in order to arrange this inconvenient .
We really will share your comment with the rest of the team to arrange the attitude you have pointed to us.
We really apreciate your comments that will surely help us to improve.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limoges, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Already written to Hotel Reserves staff, (12-19 september 2013)
Hello,
we are now back home, after leaving the hotel thursday.
So pleased , the week we spent in Barcelona was such a great time for us,
with the hotel location, the atmosphere in the town, the visits...the welcome and comfort
you gave us.(nice room, quiet, pretty decoration, "XXL bed!..) It has been a real pleasure to be your guests.
And you pleased us the last evening, even more, with the drink you brought to our room !
Thanks, for all, to you all we met, and keeping your coordinates...
With our best regards,
F. & P. Lacotte
Limoges. France.

Room Tip: Room on the opposite side to cathedral place- level 1 ( N° 106 recently renewed)- completely enjoyab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you have a good stay and that you enjoyed our city, our hotel, and that our team made your stay confortable.
It is really a luxury read your comments and we are pleased to know that you have enjoyed our pilot room that will be reproduced to the rest of the hotel this next autumm.
We hope of welcoiming you back again very soon.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Easy to find 5- 10 min walk from Aerobus stop. By Cathedral Square lots of people watching. Hotel clean. Room spacious very big comfy bed with good pillows. Large bathroom with shower/bath enough toiletries. Good mirrors & lighting. Breakfast was plentiful and very efficient, as soon as you sat down a tray with roll & pastries was brought to you followed by fresh squeezed orange juice & very strong coffee !! with hot milk. Then you had a menu to choose eggs cheese meats if you wished but also there was a counter with cereal fruit cakes & bread for toasting. Plenty.
Lovely roof top pool.
Water from mini bar expensive at 2.18 euro a small bottle.
Kettle for hot drinks in room with snaks extra charge.
Would recommend this hotel for Gothic area & Las Rambles (5 min walk).
99% staff very nice & helpful. Arious (I think ) bit of a jobs worth & a missery lets the place down. Lighten up & smile.
Would def go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for floor 5 to be near pool . Also quieter the higher up from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would llike to thank you for sharing your comments with the rest of the tripadvisor users
We are very pleased to read that you had a nice stay in our hotel.
We hope of welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Address: Cultural and Gastronomical Activities | Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#27 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#54 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 93% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, à la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, EasyToBook, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Barcelona Catedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.