We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location - brilliant pool for summer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Save Saved
You added Hotel Barcelona Catedral to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cultural and Gastronomical Activities | Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 516 hotels in Barcelona
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Brisbane
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Perfect location - brilliant pool for summer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is a very located hotel right off the Cathedral square. It is easy walking distance to La Rambla, Boqueria Market, Santa Caterina market, Placa Catalunya and El Born. When we checked in we were informed that our Executive room wasn’t ready yet and to return in a few hours. We we returned we were promptly given the keys to our room, however on entry we were dismayed to find it was a twin room, which I found frustrating since my husband and I share a last name and I was visibly pregnant. However when I returned to reception once more and requested a queen room I was given new rooms keys straight away. The room and bathroom was quite spacious, the bed was exceptionally comfortable and the wifi worked perfectly. The rooftop pool was a welcome retreat each afternoon from the high July temperatures. Although it was always crowded there was a pleasant atmosphere and we always found loungers to sit on. I would certainly recommend Barcelona Catedral Hotel to others, however perhaps make a point of requesting a queen bed if that’s what you prefer.

Room Tip: Be specific if you want a queen bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We woulld like to thank you for sharing your comments with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We are glad that we could arrange to move you to a double beeded room.
We hope of welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    519
    412
    53
    8
    9
See reviews for
192
542
26
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is a very good hotel, great location by the cathedral, very central for sight seeing etc. We had some difficulty locating the hotel by car due to the one way system and eventually had to approach it by travelling the wrong way down a one way street for a short way. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was a reasonable size for a city centre and very clean. We used the parking garage which is underground and next to the hotel but there is no lift from it to the lobby or rooms so without the help of staff it would have been quite difficult to get our luggage to the room as there are kerbs involved and a short distance along the footpath. However the garage is very secure although it does cost 36 euro per night. Breakfast was very good with cooked food available to order and a buffet also. We were slightly disappointed that the restaurant did not open in the evenings but we did have an excellent lunch there and there are excellent restaurants in the immediate location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the time of writting your comments about Barcelona Catedral Hotel.
We are very pleased to know that youi have enjoyed your stay.
We would like tot explain you that we do not have the restaurant open at night time, and in on the weekends due that most of our guests while they are visiting Barcelona, they prefer to have dinner and know other spots in Barcelona. We have tryied on the beginng of the hotel to have it open but it did not work.
We hope of welcoming you soon in your next stay to Barcelona.
Best regards.
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Spotless hotel in a great location near the Cathedral. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The roof top pool is small and was rather crowded (with beer drinkers) on one of the days when we were there, but it's still a nice touch. Breakfast costs €18 per head which is really a bit much, however the Chocolat Cafe next door does good special offers - we had juice, a small sandwich, croissant and a coffee all for only €5 - perfect! The hotel kept our luggage for us all day on the day we left, for no extra charge, which we really appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the rest o fthe tripadvisor users.
We are very glad that you found our hotel for a perfect break in Barcelona, and that you enjoyed it, with the simpathy that we try to offer to our guests.
We hope of welcoming you back in your next visit to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend break at the Barcelona Catedral Hotel what an excellent central location everything in walking distance and a spotlessly clean and friendly hotel.

Staff were amazing and breakfast very good just outside the hotel is a bakery come coffee shoppe with great staff and the bonus of late night ice cream. If you want to slash out book room 512 top floor suite next to the pool although corridors can be noisy at night which can be a bit thoughtless to other guests.

Overall a very good hotel and we will go back.

Room Tip: 512 top floor suite spacious great bed and very clean if you want something special choose this room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for rating us as a great hotel in a central location.
We are very pleased to know thta you enjoyed your recent weekend in our hotel and the stay in our Suiite.
We look forward of welcoming you in your next visit to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Hotel Barcelona Catedral is a very nice designhotel centrally located in the Gothic area just around the corner from the.. cathedral. Rooms are modern and stylish, breakfast is excellent (you get to choose from a menu!) and there is a nice pool on the roof. Staff is also very friendly and helpful (although we got a very poor restaurant recommandation..). This hotel is an excellent choice when in Barcelona.
.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for writting your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay in the hotel.
We regret on the poor recommandation that you received from the restaurants, will talk with the team to improve it.
We hope of welcomin you back in your next trip to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there with my husband for 4 days: the room was quiet, clean and modern though quiet small for an Executive Room category. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The location is perfect for city visit and beach is 30min walk or 2 metro stops away, nightlife is also easily accessible.
The only disappointments were breakfast (served at the table, therefore long waiting time, poor choice of fresh fruit. The coffe was quiet good though) and fitness room (poor equipment, located on the rooftop, next to the pool and not aircontinooned).
Late check out was not available though requested several times.
We would still recommend the hotel, mainly for the location, quietness and modernity.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for writting comments about our hotel.
We are very pleased to know taht you found our hotel perfect for a short weekend stay.
We also would like to explain you that we have such a high occupancy that we are unable to give late check out, depending the booking, and we regret for the service of the breakfast.
We hope of welcoming you again in your next trip to BArcelona
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Cork, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This hotel is located in the gothic quarter very near the cathedral. It is in a great location,just a few minutes from la ramblas ,place de catalunya and numerous restaurants. Room was very clean and comfortable. Nice small rooftop pool. Breakfast was excellent. All staff throughout the hotel were extremely nice and efficient. The only downside is the opening times of the restaurant are very limited,but there are lots of restaurants nearby. Would definitely go back there if we were to return to barcelona.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 5th floor so had very easy access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay and that you rate as a excellent locationa and friendly and efficient staff.
We hope to welcome you back in your next stay to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Address: Cultural and Gastronomical Activities | Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#23 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#27 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#55 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 93% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, à la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Barcelona Catedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.