We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a break in Barcelona.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Barcelona Catedral to your Saves list
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cultural and Gastronomical Activities | Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect for a break in Barcelona.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Spotless hotel in a great location near the Cathedral. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The roof top pool is small and was rather crowded (with beer drinkers) on one of the days when we were there, but it's still a nice touch. Breakfast costs €18 per head which is really a bit much, however the Chocolat Cafe next door does good special offers - we had juice, a small sandwich, croissant and a coffee all for only €5 - perfect! The hotel kept our luggage for us all day on the day we left, for no extra charge, which we really appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebdubel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the rest o fthe tripadvisor users.
We are very glad that you found our hotel for a perfect break in Barcelona, and that you enjoyed it, with the simpathy that we try to offer to our guests.
We hope of welcoming you back in your next visit to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend break at the Barcelona Catedral Hotel what an excellent central location everything in walking distance and a spotlessly clean and friendly hotel.

Staff were amazing and breakfast very good just outside the hotel is a bakery come coffee shoppe with great staff and the bonus of late night ice cream. If you want to slash out book room 512 top floor suite next to the pool although corridors can be noisy at night which can be a bit thoughtless to other guests.

Overall a very good hotel and we will go back.

Room Tip: 512 top floor suite spacious great bed and very clean if you want something special choose this room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for rating us as a great hotel in a central location.
We are very pleased to know thta you enjoyed your recent weekend in our hotel and the stay in our Suiite.
We look forward of welcoming you in your next visit to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Hotel Barcelona Catedral is a very nice designhotel centrally located in the Gothic area just around the corner from the.. cathedral. Rooms are modern and stylish, breakfast is excellent (you get to choose from a menu!) and there is a nice pool on the roof. Staff is also very friendly and helpful (although we got a very poor restaurant recommandation..). This hotel is an excellent choice when in Barcelona.
.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Svein H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for writting your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay in the hotel.
We regret on the poor recommandation that you received from the restaurants, will talk with the team to improve it.
We hope of welcomin you back in your next trip to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there with my husband for 4 days: the room was quiet, clean and modern though quiet small for an Executive Room category. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The location is perfect for city visit and beach is 30min walk or 2 metro stops away, nightlife is also easily accessible.
The only disappointments were breakfast (served at the table, therefore long waiting time, poor choice of fresh fruit. The coffe was quiet good though) and fitness room (poor equipment, located on the rooftop, next to the pool and not aircontinooned).
Late check out was not available though requested several times.
We would still recommend the hotel, mainly for the location, quietness and modernity.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nastya2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for writting comments about our hotel.
We are very pleased to know taht you found our hotel perfect for a short weekend stay.
We also would like to explain you that we have such a high occupancy that we are unable to give late check out, depending the booking, and we regret for the service of the breakfast.
We hope of welcoming you again in your next trip to BArcelona
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This hotel is located in the gothic quarter very near the cathedral. It is in a great location,just a few minutes from la ramblas ,place de catalunya and numerous restaurants. Room was very clean and comfortable. Nice small rooftop pool. Breakfast was excellent. All staff throughout the hotel were extremely nice and efficient. The only downside is the opening times of the restaurant are very limited,but there are lots of restaurants nearby. Would definitely go back there if we were to return to barcelona.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 5th floor so had very easy access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 222irish222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay and that you rate as a excellent locationa and friendly and efficient staff.
We hope to welcome you back in your next stay to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Chose this place safe in the knowledge that little time would be spent on site. Good rooms, comfortable beds, free wifi, effective air-co. Eating options are limited in house. Plenty nearby. Good grub and great drinks at the Vietnamese restaurant across the street. Nice chill pool on the roof. Kids loved it and the view is pleasant. No complaints, friendly staff and a great location to see the city without being exposed to too much noise

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank outtahere-gva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel with your family.
We hope of welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We chose this hotel based on reviews on here. It's in a great location at the edge of the Gothic quarter and within walking distance of Las Ramblas, the harbour and botanical gardens. Our room was very comfortable and clean and had everything we needed for a weekend stay. Reception staff were very friendly and pointed out some restaurants that were off the beaten track and shopping streets we may have missed had we just set straight out to the more touristy areas. It was a bit cool for swimming on the rooftop but we did go and sit up there in the sun for a bit. The view is only of other rooftops though! We didn't eat here, choosing a cafe for breakfast instead, but we'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparky0378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the rest of the trip advisor users.
We are very glad to read that you had a nice stay.
We look forward on having the oportunity of welcoming you back again.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#32 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 919 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#11 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 3,493 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#9 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#10 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 508 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#105 of 519 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 stars 1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Address: Cultural and Gastronomical Activities | Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#30 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#33 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 95% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, a la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing