We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located and excellent hotel with a rooftop pool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Save Saved
You added Hotel Barcelona Catedral to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cultural and Gastronomical Activities | Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 517 hotels in Barcelona
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Oslo
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Centrally located and excellent hotel with a rooftop pool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Hotel Barcelona Catedral is a very nice designhotel centrally located in the Gothic area just around the corner from the.. cathedral. Rooms are modern and stylish, breakfast is excellent (you get to choose from a menu!) and there is a nice pool on the roof. Staff is also very friendly and helpful (although we got a very poor restaurant recommandation..). This hotel is an excellent choice when in Barcelona.
.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for writting your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay in the hotel.
We regret on the poor recommandation that you received from the restaurants, will talk with the team to improve it.
We hope of welcomin you back in your next trip to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    516
    412
    53
    8
    9
See reviews for
190
541
26
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there with my husband for 4 days: the room was quiet, clean and modern though quiet small for an Executive Room category. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The location is perfect for city visit and beach is 30min walk or 2 metro stops away, nightlife is also easily accessible.
The only disappointments were breakfast (served at the table, therefore long waiting time, poor choice of fresh fruit. The coffe was quiet good though) and fitness room (poor equipment, located on the rooftop, next to the pool and not aircontinooned).
Late check out was not available though requested several times.
We would still recommend the hotel, mainly for the location, quietness and modernity.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for writting comments about our hotel.
We are very pleased to know taht you found our hotel perfect for a short weekend stay.
We also would like to explain you that we have such a high occupancy that we are unable to give late check out, depending the booking, and we regret for the service of the breakfast.
We hope of welcoming you again in your next trip to BArcelona
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Cork, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This hotel is located in the gothic quarter very near the cathedral. It is in a great location,just a few minutes from la ramblas ,place de catalunya and numerous restaurants. Room was very clean and comfortable. Nice small rooftop pool. Breakfast was excellent. All staff throughout the hotel were extremely nice and efficient. The only downside is the opening times of the restaurant are very limited,but there are lots of restaurants nearby. Would definitely go back there if we were to return to barcelona.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 5th floor so had very easy access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay and that you rate as a excellent locationa and friendly and efficient staff.
We hope to welcome you back in your next stay to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Chose this place safe in the knowledge that little time would be spent on site. Good rooms, comfortable beds, free wifi, effective air-co. Eating options are limited in house. Plenty nearby. Good grub and great drinks at the Vietnamese restaurant across the street. Nice chill pool on the roof. Kids loved it and the view is pleasant. No complaints, friendly staff and a great location to see the city without being exposed to too much noise

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel with your family.
We hope of welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We chose this hotel based on reviews on here. It's in a great location at the edge of the Gothic quarter and within walking distance of Las Ramblas, the harbour and botanical gardens. Our room was very comfortable and clean and had everything we needed for a weekend stay. Reception staff were very friendly and pointed out some restaurants that were off the beaten track and shopping streets we may have missed had we just set straight out to the more touristy areas. It was a bit cool for swimming on the rooftop but we did go and sit up there in the sun for a bit. The view is only of other rooftops though! We didn't eat here, choosing a cafe for breakfast instead, but we'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the rest of the trip advisor users.
We are very glad to read that you had a nice stay.
We look forward on having the oportunity of welcoming you back again.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

location was great, in the middle of the city. staff was friendly. breakfast was excellent. room was very clean, nicely renovated. There was a nice pool at the top, it was a bit small but we wanted to go to the beach which is actually 10 min away on foot.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the time of writing your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you found our hotel in a perfect location and that you enjoyed your stay and the city of Barcelona.
We look forward of welcoming you in your next trip to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I spent a week her with my wife and our 1.5 year old. We wanted a hotel in downtown BCN with a pool for the little one. Hotels with swimming pools in BCN are not that common and most are little bigger that a hot tub. Barcelona catederal has a good sized out door pool (bigger than many I saw) with plenty of space to relax. The check in was the most efficient I have seen in a long while and the room we were given was slightly larger than others to accommodate the baby cot. Breakfast was very good and the staff were very helpful with our little girl.

The only down side was that the restaurant did not open in the evenings - although there is a bar menu available.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to than kyou for sharing your comments with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel with your family and that you enjoyed Barcelona.
We hope to have the oportunity of welcome you again soon.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Address: Cultural and Gastronomical Activities | Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#27 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#55 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 93% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, à la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Barcelona Catedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.