We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Barcelona Catedral to your Saves list
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cultural and Gastronomical Activities | Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Usually when coming back from a city break (Many have been taken over the years) there is at least one thing I can find about the hotel which was not to satisfaction.

This time, there is not a single thing I can find to criticise. Not even a tiny, unimportant detail. Everything, from the staff, to breakfast, to the room, to the facilities were perfect and made the trip just that little bit better.

Will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the time of sharing your comments with the rest of the tripadvisor cummunity.
We are very pleased to know that you have had a perfect Stay and that we have help to make your trip a little bit better :)
We hope of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Best regards.
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    478
    60
    8
    9
See reviews for
225
642
31
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I had booked this on the Internet, not the easiest of places to get to by taxi if the driver does not know where to go but you can use the train very easily. Food a tad pricey but room is first class and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We are very glad to know tha you had a nice experience in our hotel.
We hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

First a couple of small negatives. Room and bathroom were nicely appointed but room was on the small side with only one desk chair for our double room. Breakfast at €18+ was a crazy price but decent cafes available just across the square.
That was one of the great features of this hotel-the location. In a quiet square and close to everything. Staff were great too. Very helpful and all spoke good English.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and that you found that our location and our Staff i excellent.
We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good hotel with a Ikea type decoration/upgrade. Tile baths. The beds were close together. Stainless steel elevators. Helpful staff. Killer proximity to a public square, food, gelato, tourist stuff too. I recommend this.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you found a solid value on your stay, and that you found our hotel well located.
We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again,.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a brilliant four day trip to Barcelona and this hotel made it perfect. The location as other reviewers say is the best. Great rooms and service. There is a lovely small pool though we didn't use it and there is a bar/terrace but we didn't use that either as it was always deserted though looked very nice. We did sample breakfast though and at €18 it was well worth it. Delicious but I wish I had had a glass of cava.... Next time!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed y our stay in our home, and we look forward to hearing from you very soon.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel is well-situated off the plaza of the Barcelona Cathedral. Comfortable, convenient, and clean. Friendly and helpful and accommodating staff even for the most trivial request. Its ranking is well-deserved. We hope to go back to Barcelona and we will definitely book at Hotel Catedral Barcelona. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Ask for Sergio or Soraya or whomever is available and they will help you pick a room In advance of y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest
Firts of all is us that we have to THANK YOU for coming to our hotel.
We would like to thank you for the time of sharing your comments and we als are very pleased to know that you had a outstanding stay in our hotel.
We look forward on welcoming you again soon, and please let me know it so I can personally welcome you.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Middx
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Spotlessly clean, very comfortable beds, great bathroom with fantastic shower, room was lovely and exceeded my expectations. Only small niggle was that the tv only had Sky or BBC World News in English and you had to pay 17 Euros per day for any extra channels which I thought was too expensive. I know you dont go to Barcelona to watch tv but in the mornings and at night we like to watch it and the news got very repetative every day and I think there should have been a bit more choice for English visitors. Also very noisy outside at night and early in the morning with mopeds revving up and the refuge collectors coming every day (usually between 12 and 1am!!) I would prefer a room not overlooking the street next time I think. But I did love the Hotel and the breakfast was lovely with so much choice and lovely touches like the freshly squeezed orange juice and the fresh fruit every day. I will definitely go back there one day as it was right near Las Ramblas and the Cathedral so in a perfect spot really. Loved the swimming pool on the roof too !! A Hotel to recommend.

Room Tip: As I have already said rooms overlooking the road, even though it is a side road, are noisy so try t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that we have pleased your expectations.
We look forward on welcoming you again in your next stay in Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Address: Cultural and Gastronomical Activities | Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#18 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#22 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#42 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 95% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, a la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Splendia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Barcelona Catedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.