We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely comfortable Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Save Saved
You added Hotel Barcelona Catedral to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cultural and Gastronomical Activities | Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 516 hotels in Barcelona
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Enfield, Middx
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lovely comfortable Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Spotlessly clean, very comfortable beds, great bathroom with fantastic shower, room was lovely and exceeded my expectations. Only small niggle was that the tv only had Sky or BBC World News in English and you had to pay 17 Euros per day for any extra channels which I thought was too expensive. I know you dont go to Barcelona to watch tv but in the mornings and at night we like to watch it and the news got very repetative every day and I think there should have been a bit more choice for English visitors. Also very noisy outside at night and early in the morning with mopeds revving up and the refuge collectors coming every day (usually between 12 and 1am!!) I would prefer a room not overlooking the street next time I think. But I did love the Hotel and the breakfast was lovely with so much choice and lovely touches like the freshly squeezed orange juice and the fresh fruit every day. I will definitely go back there one day as it was right near Las Ramblas and the Cathedral so in a perfect spot really. Loved the swimming pool on the roof too !! A Hotel to recommend.

Room Tip: As I have already said rooms overlooking the road, even though it is a side road, are noisy so try t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that we have pleased your expectations.
We look forward on welcoming you again in your next stay in Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    523
    418
    55
    9
    9
See reviews for
183
533
25
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Pre stay reviews proved to be correct when we considered this hotel for our stay in Barcelona. The staff was exceptional and did everything possible to assist us and make our stay pleasant. The biggest problem was the noise in the evening hours. We overlooked the court yard from the 3rd floor and between the restaurant and garbage trucks it made sleeping more difficult. Try and stay on an upper level floor. I would have liked robes to have been provided but understand that 4 star hotels may not provide this service. Hotel is convenient to activities and sightseeing in the Gothic Area. Only had breakfast at hotel once but it was excellent.

Room Tip: stay on higher level floor and not overlooking courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay in our hotel.
We very much regrett to know that you heard noise in the room, and it is totalu unusual due that we have all the rooms insonorizied. We will check this point and we thank you for your comments.
We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again in your next trip to barcelona.
Best regards.
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed just before Christmas 2012. It was just fantastic the room was lovely but the bathroom was even better. But the breakfast was one of the best we have ever had - we loved the idea of the tray and all the lovely things that were on it. It's ideally located to visit all the sights in Barcelona and great value too. Go and enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know tha you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and that you recommend us.
We are very glad to know that you found our breakfast good and that it was one of the best that you ever had.
We hope of welcoming you in your next visit to Barcelona, and please let us know that it's your second time in order to be able to made your stay unique.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Small, modern, conveniently located hotel. Rooms were clean and comfortable. However the helpful, smiling front desk staff was enough to make one want to return if in Barcelona. Only real negative was we felt the price of breakfast was too much, consequently we never tried it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you you found our hotel convently located modern clean and confortable.
We are glad to know that our smily front office team made your stay even better.
We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Barcelona Catedral in May of 2011 and were very pleased. We had an opportunity to spend a couple days in Barcelona again and didn't hesitate to book another stay. We were very glad we did. Upon arrival, we were greeted very warmly as repeat visitors. We had anticipated that our room wouldn't be available due to our arrival time in Barcelona (8:30 am) and were able to store our luggage. When we returned in the afternoon, our room was ready. A few minutes after we entered our room, reception surprised us with a complimentary bottle of Cava and fruit. Very unexpected and appreciated.

The hotel is in the perfect location for visiting Barcelona. When we return, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that your second stay in our hotel was as good as the first one in 2011.
We work very hard on service in order to make the most confortable and unique stay to our guests.
We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you in your third stay in Barcelona and we hope you have the opportunity to come back to our wonderful city very soon.
Best regards.
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Excellent location and highly recommend this hotel. Very nice, quiet place, clean room and good service, breakfast was expensive but luxury. Rooftop small poolarea, near by the Cathedral area was wonderful. Few minutes walk to La Rambla, Placa de Catalunya, Gothic Quarter... and metrostations. Lovely place to spend wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you found our hotel a lovely place to spend a wonderful vacation.
We are very pleased to know that you highly recommend us.
We look forward on welcoming you in your next stay at Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Location, comfort, level of service, pool...it has it all. Right around a quiet corner from the Cathedral and a short walk to almost everywhere you would walk. I have absolutely nothing negative to say! Price was not bad either.

Room Tip: top floor puts you on same level as pool/roof deck. i liked that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the time of writting your comments about our hotel.
We are very pleased to know that you found what you needed.
We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Address: Cultural and Gastronomical Activities | Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#26 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#52 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 93% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, à la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Tingo and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Barcelona Catedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.