We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff make up for any shortcomings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Barcelona Catedral to your Saves list
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cultural and Gastronomical Activities | Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Malaga, Spain
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Friendly staff make up for any shortcomings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Small, modern, conveniently located hotel. Rooms were clean and comfortable. However the helpful, smiling front desk staff was enough to make one want to return if in Barcelona. Only real negative was we felt the price of breakfast was too much, consequently we never tried it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you you found our hotel convently located modern clean and confortable.
We are glad to know that our smily front office team made your stay even better.
We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    449
    55
    8
    9
See reviews for
212
600
29
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Barcelona Catedral in May of 2011 and were very pleased. We had an opportunity to spend a couple days in Barcelona again and didn't hesitate to book another stay. We were very glad we did. Upon arrival, we were greeted very warmly as repeat visitors. We had anticipated that our room wouldn't be available due to our arrival time in Barcelona (8:30 am) and were able to store our luggage. When we returned in the afternoon, our room was ready. A few minutes after we entered our room, reception surprised us with a complimentary bottle of Cava and fruit. Very unexpected and appreciated.

The hotel is in the perfect location for visiting Barcelona. When we return, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that your second stay in our hotel was as good as the first one in 2011.
We work very hard on service in order to make the most confortable and unique stay to our guests.
We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you in your third stay in Barcelona and we hope you have the opportunity to come back to our wonderful city very soon.
Best regards.
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Excellent location and highly recommend this hotel. Very nice, quiet place, clean room and good service, breakfast was expensive but luxury. Rooftop small poolarea, near by the Cathedral area was wonderful. Few minutes walk to La Rambla, Placa de Catalunya, Gothic Quarter... and metrostations. Lovely place to spend wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you found our hotel a lovely place to spend a wonderful vacation.
We are very pleased to know that you highly recommend us.
We look forward on welcoming you in your next stay at Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Location, comfort, level of service, pool...it has it all. Right around a quiet corner from the Cathedral and a short walk to almost everywhere you would walk. I have absolutely nothing negative to say! Price was not bad either.

Room Tip: top floor puts you on same level as pool/roof deck. i liked that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the time of writting your comments about our hotel.
We are very pleased to know that you found what you needed.
We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Highly recommend this hotel. Very good location right next to the cathedral and 5 min walk to Las Ramblas. Very clean and new looking hotel with great, friendly and informative staff. Rooftop pool great to relax with large comfy beds. Pool towels provided. All in all this hotel is perfect for a stay in Barcelona and would definately return when I go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you have found our hotel excellent, and that our team pleased your expectatives.
We hope to welcome you back in your next stay to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Great location and yet quiet, close to everything in the gothic quarter, lovely clean room, fully furbished, free tours, made our romantic vacation fully enjoyable-highly recommended. Staff friendly and helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear guest
We would like to thank you for the time of writting your comments and sharing it with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We are very glad to know that we have made your romantic vacation fully enjoyable and highly recommended.
We look forward on having the opportunity of welcoming you again in your next stay to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Once we'd found the hotel we found it an excellent location to set up base for a 3 day stay! Great facilities and near to all the major attractions. Staff were fantastic and couldn't have been more helpful. Wold have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to you.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Gerente at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you for the comments that you shared with the rest of the tripavisor users.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you have found our team helpful.
We hope you had the opportunity to do one of our free activities proposed to our guests, like the free walking tour, held on wednesdays night or sunday morning, or our Taichi.
We look forward on welcoming you in your next trip to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Address: Cultural and Gastronomical Activities | Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#22 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#23 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#51 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 95% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, a la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splendia, getaroom.com, Otel, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Barcelona Catedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.