We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything You'd Want” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Barcelona Catedral to your Saves list
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cultural and Gastronomical Activities | Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Everything You'd Want”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Location, comfort, level of service, pool...it has it all. Right around a quiet corner from the Cathedral and a short walk to almost everywhere you would walk. I have absolutely nothing negative to say! Price was not bad either.

Room Tip: top floor puts you on same level as pool/roof deck. i liked that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the time of writting your comments about our hotel.
We are very pleased to know that you found what you needed.
We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    477
    60
    8
    9
See reviews for
225
636
31
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Highly recommend this hotel. Very good location right next to the cathedral and 5 min walk to Las Ramblas. Very clean and new looking hotel with great, friendly and informative staff. Rooftop pool great to relax with large comfy beds. Pool towels provided. All in all this hotel is perfect for a stay in Barcelona and would definately return when I go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you have found our hotel excellent, and that our team pleased your expectatives.
We hope to welcome you back in your next stay to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Great location and yet quiet, close to everything in the gothic quarter, lovely clean room, fully furbished, free tours, made our romantic vacation fully enjoyable-highly recommended. Staff friendly and helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear guest
We would like to thank you for the time of writting your comments and sharing it with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We are very glad to know that we have made your romantic vacation fully enjoyable and highly recommended.
We look forward on having the opportunity of welcoming you again in your next stay to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Once we'd found the hotel we found it an excellent location to set up base for a 3 day stay! Great facilities and near to all the major attractions. Staff were fantastic and couldn't have been more helpful. Wold have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to you.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Gerente at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you for the comments that you shared with the rest of the tripavisor users.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you have found our team helpful.
We hope you had the opportunity to do one of our free activities proposed to our guests, like the free walking tour, held on wednesdays night or sunday morning, or our Taichi.
We look forward on welcoming you in your next trip to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I went to Barcelona with a friend and we stayed at this hotel. The Location is amazing. its in the Goth quarter and is practically walking distance to either everything you need or walking distance to the transport to get you to the other parts of town. Hotel was clean, spacious and very helpful staff, the breakfast was great but the only negative was the bar....bar tender was a little grumpy and had the worse margarita i have ever had! Anyway, on the bright side it was perfect for what we needed and i would definitely stay there again. Great value for money.

Room Tip: i suppose higher floors would be better for access to pool and away from street noise. but it is in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Gerente at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We are very glad to know that you had a good stay and that you find our team helpful.
I will personally check with our food and beverage mgr. about the problem that you had with the cocktail.
We look forward on welcoming you again in the future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This modern hotel is ideally placed just round the corner from the Gothic Cathedral, an excellent central location for a 4 day visit to Barcelona. Rooms are spacious and clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. We drove into the city from another area of Spain and there is parking available underneath the hotel - quite expensive but cheaper than the majority of car parks in the city. The breakfast is varied with a good selection of both cold and hot food. We were on the first floor and even though the hotel was busy our room was quiet with no noise in the corridors or adjoining rooms to disturb our sleep. An excellent hotel, within easy walking distance to many of the tourist attractions and also near metro and buses.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Gerente at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We are very pleased to know that you found our hotel Hotel Excellent and well located, and we are very glad that you found our team helpful.
I will share your opinion with the rest of team and we look forward on welcoming you again soon!!!
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights, had rooms 303 & 304, perfect for travelling with two teenagers as we all had our privacy (additional large door shutting our two rooms off from the hall). Located right in the centre, walk everywhere inc beach, shopping street just behind hotel and easy metro to nou camp for the football (catalunya to Maria Cristina direct about 15 mins, then 10 min walk to stadium). Rooms were spacious and clean, beds large and comfy, no noise at night, reception staff very friendly, great pool terrace on top overlooking barcelona and wonderful "chocolate box" next door for goodies! Will def stay at this hotel again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Gerente at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the comments that you have shared with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with your family.
It is true that for a family it is a very good option to have rooms 3 and 4 from our floors where they have an extra door to have the doors open, and also we have some rooms that have connecting doors.
We really appreciate your comments that we will share with the rest of the team, and we look forward on welcoming you in your next trip to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Address: Cultural and Gastronomical Activities | Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#21 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#21 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#27 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#54 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 95% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, a la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Barcelona Catedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.