We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Barcelona Catedral to your Saves list
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cultural and Gastronomical Activities | Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    477
    60
    8
    9
See reviews for
225
639
31
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The best part of this hotel is the location. For tourists interested in the Gothic area, this is the best location. It is close to a busy avenue with taxis and transportation to other parts of the city, but when you walk out of the hotel it opens onto a large plaza in front of a cathedral. The hotel itself is clean and the rooms are large. The rooftop pool is unheated, so it was too cold to really enjoy while we were there. Also, the rooftop is on the same level as neighboring buildings so they can watch you. Not that private. The bathroom was sort of odd. The shower had a half glass door. It looked very modern but water tended to get everywhere. The people were nice. We didn't try the restaurant, but it was busy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments about our hotel.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Barcelona, and that you found our hotel Modern, we are allready planning a new re-styling for next year.
We look foward on welcoming you on your next stay in Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heusden-Zolder, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel has a central location in Barcelona. All staff is very friendly. The rooms are modern, spacious and very clean. The breakfast all-in has many choices and is of a very good quality. Perfect hotel for a city trip in Barcelona!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the resto of the tripadvisor users.
we are very pleasede that you found our hotel great and the staff very friendly.
We look forward on welcoming you in your next trip to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here with our daughter and her boyfriend. We chose this hotel because it was central to all attractions and easy to walk into the city and to the beach without having to use public transport all the time. It did not disappoint us; it was a clean and friendly hotel. The rooms were well equipped and comfortable and the staff were very helpful making recommendations and arranging taxi's or advising on how to find places of interest. We were able to catch the Barcelona tourist tour bus from the square to take us to different places of interest.We were pleased with the rooms and the hotel. Breakfasts were good and so was the service; we would stay here again on future visits. It was also a very quiet hotel with no disturbances outside to wake you during the night which often happens in city centre hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the time of sharing your comments with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed our hotel and that you find our hotel convenient for your stay.
Our location is a must and we work a lot with service in order to satisfy our guests.
We hope to have the oportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

It was my partners 30th birthday and we stopped here. The staff , management was fantastic . Ordered room service and after a little mix up , when it came it was fantastic . So couldn't of wished for anything more

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very glad that you had a nice stay and that finally we could pleased with your partners Birthday.
We hope of welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here in July 2010 and would most definitely return! Wonderful location, minutes to the cathedral and old streets of Barcelona..about 10 minutes to the main shopping area. For a hotel in the centre it was lovely and quiet. We ate in the hotel just once, but the food was delicious if slightly more pricey than you would find in the city. Our room was large (we had a suite with a private terrace backing onto the pool) but there were two adults and a young baby with lots of accompanying paraphernalia and so needed the space! They really welcomed the baby too unlike lots of places that aren't so accommodating! The standard rooms were ample sized too I thought...and most importantly they were clean and fresh! Staff were incredibly friendly and polite! Wonderful place and I would advise anybody to check it out! Don't expect allot from the pool though - it was a lovely place for a drink and a dip but not one to choose if you wanted to keep up a fitness regime! Good length but narrow! Lucky that certainly wasn't top of my agenda!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you for your comments.
We are glad to read that you found our hotel fresh.
We hope of welcoming you back in your next trip to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solna
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We found Hotel Barcelona Catedral to be of excellent standard with friendly staff, a well equipped room with all the expected amenities, an unrivalled central location and superb breakfast! It is difficult to see how one could find something better!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We are pleased that you find our hotel convenient, and that it pleased your expectative.
We work to give to the guests a nice stay.
We hope of having the opportunity of welcoming you in your next stay to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Address: Cultural and Gastronomical Activities | Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#21 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#21 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#28 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#41 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 95% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, a la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Splendia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Barcelona Catedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.