We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location in a great city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Barcelona Catedral to your Saves list
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cultural and Gastronomical Activities | Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great location in a great city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I spent a considerable time searching out a good hotel for my wife and myself to stay in for four days and nights. I chose the Barcelona Catedral because it has what I wanted. I wanted the four stars and got it. I wanted the central arae of the city and got it. Barcelona is a big place yet quite compact and here in the Barri Gotic area you are very close ot everything. There are buses, the Metro, and so many lanes to walk around. This hotel is really by the Cathedral yet in a side road and very quiet. We took the A2 Aerobus from the airport and got off at Placa Catalunya where its only a 2 or 300 metre walk to the hotel. It cost 5 euro.90 each oneway. Only took 20 minutes.The rooms are just what you need for comfort with big beds and a great bathroom with all the clean towels and hot water and gels and shampoos you could wish for.
The guys at the reception are just the best. No matter what you require or want to know, they are right on it. Good english as well.
We opted for breakfast and that was lovely. Good bread, hot and cold dishes, loads of tea and coffee and juice,just right to set you up for a days walking and sightseeing.Everything is cooked to order so there is nothing of the fast food factor with everything lying in its own juices for hours.
We did look at the pool area although it was March and I'm sure a bit cold to dip ones feet into but I'm sure it will be great in the summer after all the heat and clamour of the city. All in all, an extremely wonderful and enjoyable city and hotel.
Yes, we wil return.

Room Tip: Our room was on the front of the hotel and with the window open we could hear the sounds of the city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We are very pleased that you choose our hotel, and that you found what you expected.
We are glad to know that you had enjoyed Barcelona.
We really look forward on welcoming you on your next trip to our city.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    469
    59
    8
    9
See reviews for
222
625
31
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We spent 4 days (19-23 March 2013) in Barcelona Catedral Hotel. Most aspects of this hotel are highly enjoyable. it is modern but in a quiet taste, fantastic location in the center of town : near the city cathedral and plaza catalunya and short walking distance to Bari Gotic, Raval, Eixample and Born districts, 5 minuts walk to the impressive Catalan music palace (where great concerts are offered, we heard Andras Schiff playing 7 Beethoven Sonatas on March 22), and lovely small designers shops in the vicinity, with the world marks on Passeig de Gracia and Diagonal, also walking distance (15-20 minutes...). The staff is small and very helpful, all manage very well in English. The breakfasts are especially nice, with many options and pleasant seating in a room facing the street. Hotel offers lunches but only room service with limited choice at night. Gym is very small but has a nice view and the pool is a lovely addition for summer days. Our room (201) was a bit small but included all that is required for a pleasant stay. Bathroom is lovely and spacious. Wifi is free and we had minor problems with connectivity. Days were a bit cold and heating was not efficient enough, which was taken care by the staff immediately. Our room had a large single bed which we asked for, and a non-smoking room.

Room Tip: Naturally, a non-smoking is a first request in Spain... ask for a larger room with possibly a view t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the tripadvisor users.
We are very glad to know that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel, and that you enjoyed Barcelona.
We hope you had the opportunity of joining our free walking tour that we offer to our guests visiting the surroundings of the hotel with the explanation of the legends of Barcelona.
We hope of welcoming you back in the near future.
With our best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawalli, Kuwait
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

very nice hotel great location near every thing la rambla,plaza catalunya,cathedral and shopping streets easy to reach you can use Aerobus from airport to plaza catalunya and then 5 min walk to the hotel.Breakfast was expensive (19 Euro) you can go to any near by resturant to eat and save some mony.....recommended

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for the time you use sharing your experience with the rest of the Tripadvisor users.
We are very glad to know that you had a nice experience in your recent stay, and that you find our hotel in the correct location.
We hope you had the opportunity of joining our free walking tour offered to our guests or our taiji class.
We look forward on welcoming you in your next stay in Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The hotel has a very good look - modern, with a comfortable common space in the lobby and good-looking, adequately-sized rooms. The rooms are bright and the beds very comfortable. We did not try the restaurant, as there are lots of places to get breakfast nearby. The desk staff was knowledgeable and friendly. The location is perhaps the best aspect - literally around the corner from the Cathedral, making it very easy for cabs to get close to it even though it is in the Gothic section, and to get back to it from anywhere. Besides being in the Gothic section, it is a short walk to the Metro and to Las Ramblas. The free WiFi was nice, but a little spotty.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the time of sharing your comments with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We are very glad to know that you had a nice stay and that you recommend our hotel.
We look forward on welcoming you in your next stay in Barcelona.
Best regards.
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We enjoyed our first visit to Barcelona. The hotel was conveniently placed to reach most of the major sights on foot,which meant we really explored the narrow streets of the old parts of the city. Our bed was large and comfortable and had a good bathroom. Breakfast was excellent and the staff helpful. I would recommend this hotel. We did the walking tour from the Town Hall and the museums of Catalan history as well as the usual sights such as Picasso museum, Sagrada Familia, Parc Guell and Montjuic. It's a great city for all tastes as well as having a lovely beach front. I personally would not want to go in very hot weather though. It was not a cheap holiday as we wanted a decent hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for the comments that your have written about our hotel.
We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and that you find our hotel conveniently placed.
We hope of welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Loved this hotel. It was nice, perfect location, staff was friendly, breakfast was great, complimentary wifi and city tours were wonderful. Located near airport transportation, hop on and off bus tours which are great, starbucks, lovely restaurants, atm, the Catedral! Gotic! The staff recommended places to eat and they were wonderful. Wifi was great. The beds were big and comfortable. The hotel is very nice, similiar to a nice marriot, but a little worn, the maids the first day did not do a good job, but we asked for them to clean the floors again and they did. Breakfast was worth purchasing in price and night gotic tour was lovely. Restaurant at hotel is open for breakfast and afternoon not dinner. Would stay there again. Also they gave us a pack an display for our son and did not charge us extra for him, or his breakfast, hes 2. Cleaniness could improve, shower a little akward but plenty of hot water and pressure.

Room Tip: Quiet with good heat no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay and that you are pleased with the service given by our team and the location of our propierty.
We hope we have the oportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in January, after our 3 nights in Bilbao. The decor is modern and simple, the room was comfortable, spacious enough for the two of us, and the bathroom was clean and bright. The breakfast was plentiful with a full range of offerings.
We were the only people on the Sunday morning tour and can't praise the tour guide enough. He gave us such a good overview of the maze-like Barri Gotic that we were very comfortable on our own for the rest of the stay. This tour is an excellent feature of the hotel.
The wifi tended to be intermittent and I sometimes stepped into the hallway to pick up a signal, but it worked well enough. The TV worked fine as did the safe and we used the teakettle and provided teabags every day with no additional charge.
We feel the location of this hotel can't be beat - on a quiet side street but within reach of everything this wonderful city has to offer. A few minutes' walk to Playa de Catalunya brought us to the Aerobus for our departure - very easy. We arrived by taxi from the main rail station and I have to say that the driver, while friendly, couldn't find the hotel entrance, much to the disgust of the front desk staff, and left us off a block away. If you plan to arrive by taxi or car, ask the hotel for directions ahead of time!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know tha you find our hotel conveniently located and that you have enjoyed your stay.
We are glad to know that you did the free walking tour that we offer to our guests on wednesday night and on sunday morning, and that you were so lucky to have it for a private tour.
We look foward on welcoming you again in the future.
Best Regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Address: Cultural and Gastronomical Activities | Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#19 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#27 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#66 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 95% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, a la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Barcelona Catedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.