We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon stay in Barcelona” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Save Saved
You added Hotel Barcelona Catedral to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cultural and Gastronomical Activities | Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 516 hotels in Barcelona
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Honeymoon stay in Barcelona”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon. It is a great location within walking distance of the airport airbus drop off point, La Ramblas, the Barcelona Cathedral, and the pier. The room was clean and the service was very good. It was a little noisy in the evening, as our room overlooked the outdoor dining area and what appeared to be an everyday living area. We did not eat in the restaurant, but chose to walk to a local market and had cheese, crackers, and wine. Overall, I would recommend a stay here if you will be in Barcelona.

Room Tip: Stay away from the center and move toward the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear guest,
we would like to thank you for your comments about our hotel.
We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay, and that you recommend us to other guests.
we work hard in service in order to read your kind of comments.
Thank you and we hope to have the oportunity of welcoming you in your next trip to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    523
    418
    55
    9
    9
See reviews for
183
533
25
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed 4 nights in Dec 2012.
It is a very nice hotel, walking distance to many interesting places and next to metro stations.
The rooms are new and clean.
I can not comment about the food, because we did not eat at the hotel, but it seemed to have a good in-house menu.
The gym spot is small, but the hotel is not supposed to have a Reebok center anyway!
I would definitively stay there again, great value and great alternative for a top 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel is not located at a busy street, so it really does not matter that much the number.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are happy to read that you had a great valued worth on your stay and that as you says is a great alternative for a top 5 star hotel.
We hope we can host you back in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I found this Hotel through Trip Advisor and it lived up to its great reputation. All the staff are very pleasant and helpful. The rooms are clean, the bed and pillows were very comfortable and the room temperature was perfect. Fantastic location too. Great value for money. I really didnt want to leave.

Room Tip: My room was opposite the lift so I was a bit apprehensive regarding noise but I didnt hear a thing a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased to read that you have so enjoyed your stay that you did not want to leave! We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed, and we hope to be able to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Hotel Catedral is a lovely hotel, the rooms are very modern and comfortable. The staff here
were very nice and helpful too. The hotel is in a great place very central for everything. It is
round the corner from some great bars and restaurants and near to all the sights. It is definately worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest
we would like to thank you fro your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you find our hotel Lovely and that you recomend it.
We look forward on welcoming you back in the near future.
best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Wonderful hotel in a great location. Friendly and helpful staff and a fantastic room which was comfortable and modern. Even though our room was at the front of the building we were not distrubed by the nightlight and though the room next to us was occupied we were never disturbed. The central location (Gothic Quarter) means you are never far from all of the great sites of Barcelona (Las Ramblas, Shopping District etc) and the cost of the room (ours was a twin and included breakfast for 3 nights - which was also fab and offered lots of choice) was really good for what you get.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit Barcelona and next time I visit will book in again for sure. Wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your direct recommandation!! pleas go to hotel Barcelona Catedral.
we are very pleased to know that your stay had bean pleasant and you find a worth value in our hotel.
We look forward on welcoming you in your next trip to Barcelona.
Best regards.
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denia, Spain
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful hotel whilst not cheap the location as perfect for everything in the City Centre.
One negative was the rather flat atmosphere in the lounge bar at night, due in the main to the barman! Seemingly too much trouble to serve coffees at 9pm to go with our brandy and baileys!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay.
After the comments you left us before your departure, we had arranged about coffe at nightime with the waiter.
Thank you very much for your visit, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

I arrived early in the morning to find my fantastic room ready and waiting for me. The staff were friendly and spoke good English. I could not have asked for a better location - right at the Cathedral, yet quiet and safe. I was able to wander from my door around the best parts of Barcelona's old town. I will definitely be back and have already recommended the hotel to two lots of friends travelling to Barcelona next year. The perfect hotel for everyone.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for the time of writting your comments in Tripadvisor, and we are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay.
We only can thank you for your recomandation and we hope to welcome you back in our hotel in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Address: Cultural and Gastronomical Activities | Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#26 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#52 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 93% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, à la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Barcelona Catedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.