We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location central to everything!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Save Saved
You added Hotel Barcelona Catedral to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cultural and Gastronomical Activities | Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 517 hotels in Barcelona
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Denia, Spain
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Amazing location central to everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful hotel whilst not cheap the location as perfect for everything in the City Centre.
One negative was the rather flat atmosphere in the lounge bar at night, due in the main to the barman! Seemingly too much trouble to serve coffees at 9pm to go with our brandy and baileys!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay.
After the comments you left us before your departure, we had arranged about coffe at nightime with the waiter.
Thank you very much for your visit, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    535
    423
    55
    9
    9
See reviews for
189
541
25
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

I arrived early in the morning to find my fantastic room ready and waiting for me. The staff were friendly and spoke good English. I could not have asked for a better location - right at the Cathedral, yet quiet and safe. I was able to wander from my door around the best parts of Barcelona's old town. I will definitely be back and have already recommended the hotel to two lots of friends travelling to Barcelona next year. The perfect hotel for everyone.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for the time of writting your comments in Tripadvisor, and we are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay.
We only can thank you for your recomandation and we hope to welcome you back in our hotel in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed here over a long weekend. The hotel is in an excellent location, 30 metres from the Gothic Cathedral, approx 5-10 minutes stroll from the Aerobus stop at Plaza Catalunya.
The room was really nice, modern and kept very clean. The toiletries were excellent and it also had a large selection in the mini bar. There was also a kettle and cups plus free tea, coffee and milk to brew a reviving cuppa.
All the staff we met were very nice which makes this a really good hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for the time of writing in tripadvisor about our hotel.
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay, and that you have at least found the service expected.
We are lucky that we try to be a wonderful team in the hotel that helps to our guests to enjoy theyr stay.
We look forward on welcoming you on your next trip to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

A modern hotel, near the Ramblas and all the shopping, but on a quiet street. Perfect service and nice rooms with wooden floor and very modern bathrooms. Nothing fancy, but the design is modern and appealing.

Room Tip: Smoking and non-smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the comments about our hotel.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed the city of Barcelona, and we hope to welcome you back i n your next trip.
Best regards and best wishes for 2013.
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Spent two days here on my way to Rome and found this delightful hotel. It's nice and clean and cozy. Stayed on the 5th floor.
The hotel employees were very efficient and helped whenever they could. Easy to get around. No complaints. Thanks :-)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest
We would like to thank your comments that you have writte here in tripadvisor.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed the hotel and Barcelona.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards.
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST NEW YORK
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at this wonderful hotel many times when we make our semiannual trips to Barcelona. It is perfect in every way. The rooms are not small, very clean and comfortable. The front desk service, manager, and service in general go out of the way to be always helpful and polite. And it is so very well located, a few feet from the Catedral plaza with two fine tapas bars, and always some kind of activity. The metro station is easily within walking distance, past good shopping areas, as is the famous La Rambla. And our favorite store, Desigual, has its back entrance directly across from the hotel's front door. So what's not to like? Nothing...and everything to like. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you come often to our hotel and that you like it.
We hope that you have had the opportunity of doing our free walking tour that is held on wednesday nights and sunday mornings exclusevely for our guests.
We look forward on welcoming you again in your next trip.
Best wishes for 2013.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for two nights at this hotel. The location is just in front of the historical catedral, so it was very easy to walk from the aerobus stop at the Catalonya plaza. We could see the wall painting of Picasso from the window see of the our room.

The staffs are very friendly and kind. The room we stay was quite large. We are totally satisfied at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear guest,
we would like to thank you for the time of writting your comments about our hotel.
We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay, and that you recommend us.
We look foward of welcoming you in the near future.
Best regards.
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Address: Cultural and Gastronomical Activities | Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#26 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#28 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#54 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 93% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, à la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Barcelona Catedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.