We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Save Saved
You added Hotel Barcelona Catedral to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cultural and Gastronomical Activities | Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 516 hotels in Barcelona
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Good hotel. Stylish and no nonsense comfy rooms. The pool on the roof is really nice, lovely spot. It's certainly not my favourite hotel - the decor is somehow just not right, bit boring and the rooms too soulless. BUT all in all this is an amazing spot to stay and see the city. You could not get better and so I would definitely choose it again.

Room Tip: Yes looking to the courtyard is quite but I don't think anywhere in the hotel is that noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are pleased to know that you had a nice stay in our hotel, and that you recommend us.
We hope to be able to welcome you back in your next trip to Barcelona.
Bet regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    527
    419
    55
    9
    9
See reviews for
184
537
25
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Fla.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Most of our comments can be found in the section marked by "Tips on room". Just felt it was
easy to combine everything in one place. This hotel is a nice spot to stay; very convenient to
the old historical quarter, the huge cathedral, multiple transportation modes, and just a short walk to La Ramblas where you'll find everything. Hotel is a secure spot, and that is a plus. Check out more below.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper levels facing away from the Cathedral plaza are more quiet. Rooms are not overly la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are pleased to know that you find our hotel convenient, and that you have enjoyed your trip to Barcelona.
We look forward on welcoming you again in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here prior to our twelve day cruise. The staff was very helpful and friendly and all the service was
excellent. Our room on the fourth floor was clean and comfortable, wish we could have stayed longer than just the one night.
We would not only recccomed this hotel, but its location is great also. We were unable to use all the hotel has to offer as
it was just the one night. Again we cannot say enough about how helpful and pleasant the front desk staff was.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your trip and that you would recommend us.
we hope that in your next trip you can stay fo a longer stay and discover a little bit more about our city.
Best wishes for 2013.
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angels
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My wife and I could not have been more pleased with either the location of this hotel or the courteous attention that the staff gave us, We needed to extend our stay due to the recent storm in NY and everyone helped us with our needs both within the hotel and our site seeing adventures. The front desk staff in particular was very helpful and very friendly. The location is central to the nicest parts of town as we saw it. We would certainly visit this hotel again if we were to return to Barcelona.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay in our hotel, and that you have enjoyed Barcelona.
As we send you in our mail, we hope everything is ok with your relatives and your properties.
We look forward on welcoming you in your next stay to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Nice big rooms, good location, nice breakfast and rooftop pool. Overall rating is lowered by less than great service. It's not bad, but not 4-star quality. Think moderately engaged "kids" in their lower 20's. Also, dishes on room service menu range from plain to plain disgusting, which is a bit of a mystery since breakfast and lunch restaurant is really nice. These little flaws make value for money only average.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are really surprised about the inconvenients of room service that you had, due that we have a nice quality presentation and quality.
i think you had fill in already our quality quiz, and we did not find what the problem was, we will try to improve in this service.
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay in our hotel, and that you have enjoyed Barcelona.
We look forward on welcoming you in your next stay.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very central hotel right next to the Barcelona catedral- very convenient for sightseeing and the port. Excellent breakfast and comfortable rooms and the reception and restaurant staff are very nice and helpful. Our stay was only spoiled by an over eager maid who made a terrible racket on Sunday morning, waking up the entire floor at 9.30- to get us all up so she could make up the rooms!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay in our hotel, and that you have enjoyed Barcelona.
We present our more sincere apologies for the inconveniet with the made waking you up on Sunday.
We look forward on welcoming you in your next stay.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Great location, very helpful staff, good sized bathroom. Room was super quiet (5th floor). However, no drawers to put clothes in.

Our one big problem was the safety in the shower. It's in a bathtub with a slippery surface, a half door that can open out and spill water onto the floor, and a shower head located in the middle of the tub (not the end). Don't know if all of the rooms are like this. If they are and you like to take a shower, then I can't really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay in our hotel, and that you have enjoyed Barcelona.
We not to try to make something in this type of room, due that not all of the bathrooms are the same.
We look forward on welcoming you in your next stay.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Address: Cultural and Gastronomical Activities | Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#27 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#30 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#52 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 93% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, à la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Barcelona Catedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.