We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Barcelona Catedral to your Saves list
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cultural and Gastronomical Activities | Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very central hotel right next to the Barcelona catedral- very convenient for sightseeing and the port. Excellent breakfast and comfortable rooms and the reception and restaurant staff are very nice and helpful. Our stay was only spoiled by an over eager maid who made a terrible racket on Sunday morning, waking up the entire floor at 9.30- to get us all up so she could make up the rooms!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay in our hotel, and that you have enjoyed Barcelona.
We present our more sincere apologies for the inconveniet with the made waking you up on Sunday.
We look forward on welcoming you in your next stay.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    479
    60
    8
    9
See reviews for
225
644
31
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Great location, very helpful staff, good sized bathroom. Room was super quiet (5th floor). However, no drawers to put clothes in.

Our one big problem was the safety in the shower. It's in a bathtub with a slippery surface, a half door that can open out and spill water onto the floor, and a shower head located in the middle of the tub (not the end). Don't know if all of the rooms are like this. If they are and you like to take a shower, then I can't really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay in our hotel, and that you have enjoyed Barcelona.
We not to try to make something in this type of room, due that not all of the bathrooms are the same.
We look forward on welcoming you in your next stay.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenpoint, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for our wedding anniversary in May this year.
There was a bottle of Cava with chocolates waiting in our room on arrival.
Room was clean and tidy though we thought they could do with a little more storage for clothing.
The rooftop pool was great to chill out at the end of the evening.

What's good at this hotel,
Location
Pedro at front desk
Breakfast
Rooftop pool
Free walking tour
Chill out Terrace

What's not,

Wi-fi not great.

We enjoyed this hotel and location that much we have booked to return next year.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay in our hotel, and that you have enjoyed Barcelona.
We look forward on welcoming you in your next stay, if you celebrate your anniversaries, please let us know in advance so we can do something special for you.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My son and daughter-in-law stay here several times a year so it came highly recommended. We were not disappointed. We arrived early after an over night trans-Atlantic flight and asked if we could have our room. The front desk clerk said the only rooms available at that time were on smoking floors. He offered to show us saying there would be no smoke smell and I reluctantly agreed to at least look. He was right...the room was immaculate without even the slightest trace of smoke in it or on the floor. Nap time then off to explore the Gothic Quarter. Truly an excellent location. There was a Food and Wine Festival at the Plaza between the hotel and the Cathedral. I had a little trouble initially with the Internet connection, but the front desk staff were very helpful. Love the modern bathroom bubble doors and the roof-top pool. Booking and communicating with Hotel Barcelona Catedral was a breeze!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay in our hotel, and that you have enjoyed Barcelona.
We look forward on welcoming you in your next stay.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

First time we got to Barcelona 4 years ago we got to this nice hotel by chance.
Second time (last month) we looked for it and ordered it. And again a great experience.
The location, the service, the breakfast...Very recommended again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay in our hotel, and that you have enjoyed Barcelona.
We look forward on welcoming you in your third stay.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in October after perusing most of the hotels in Barcelona and realising we would have to opt for a modern design hotel rather than a more traditional choice to please mum and in order to get the standard we'd expect from a 4star hotel. The hotel is an easy walk from the aeroport bus drop off and its location is second to none for the price paid. We opted for breakfast on two mornings and for just a few more euros, breakfast can be served in your room and is highly recommended, fresh, delicous and abundant and quite a treat because of the silver trolley in-room service. This pleased mum very much and we were able to share a breakfast for two persons between the four of us. On arrival, and on request we were showed three roooms and opted to change our allocated rooms, based on the room design and shapes. Some rooms appear smaller because of the layout. Nothing was too much trouble for the really friendly staff on reception throughout our stay.

Likes:
Excellent service by all staff
The coffee at the bar
Breakfast in our room
Spacious bathrooms
Big fluffy towels
Nice toiletries

Dislikes:
Having to keep asking reception for someone to serve coffee at the bar
The lovely terrace was always empty and needs some promotion as it was one of the main reasons we chose this hotel over others
The mugs provided in our rooms for tea and coffee were made of plastic
There was insufficient tea/coffee/milk sachets in the rooms, no trouble to ask for more but we'd prefer not to have to ask.
Sisters sharing twin rooms - beds were side by side with no room width to have much space between them, although the room size was good.
The pool is not heated, very narrow and disappointing - it was too cold to use
The lights in the rooms look nice but give you a headache because of the mesh shade design

We would stay here again because of the truly excellent service.

Room Tip: Opt for breakfast in your room and don't expect to lounge in the terrace bar because it was alwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments, and we loved how well explained they are, we will look after each one in order to improve the sattisfaction of our guests.
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay in our hotel, and that you have enjoyed Barcelona.
We look forward on welcoming you in your next stay.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This was our first trip to Barcelona and we fell in love with this wonderful vibrant city and look forward to returning in the not too distant future and would definitely stay at The Barcelona Catedral Hotel again. I had spent many weeks investigating and sifting through the huge choice of hotels and different areas for where to stay for our two nights pre-cruise and finally decided on the Gothic Quarter. For novices of Barcelona - this is a wonderful area to stay to see so many of the tourist sights, with so much in walking distance. Gothic Quarter decided on - now came the vast choice of hotels. We were more than happy with our choice of The Barcelona Catedral Hotel. This is a very well run hotel with exceptional staff who go the full mile to help with any query you may have, with polite and helpful answers, suggestions on where to eat and providing maps and taking the time to show you exactly how to get there - just excellent. The modern bedrooms are on the small side, but very functional and well equipped - more than adequate, clean and quiet, with comfortable beds and nice pillows - safe also provided. The bathroom was very pleasant, again so clean and modern, with some nice toiletries supplied. The breakfast was very good - served at the table by attentive waiting staff. There was also a cold buffet as well, if you desired. We arrived on a Wednesday - and the hotel offered a free of charge late evening walking tour, which we decided to join - I cannot recommend this enough, it was excellent. The tour guide was so informative and interesting and it showed how much he must love his job. We walked around the historic narrow walking streets behind the Cathedral - it felt like another world. I must say, my husband and I are not normally tourist people, but this and our following day walking La Rambla (La Boqueria food market a must!), catching the hop on/off bus at the Placa Catalunya - seeing the Sagrada Familia (Gaudi's unfinished cathedral) breathtaking, Parc Guell, etc - we loved it. We got a good deal on our two nights stay through Trivago.co.uk/ Olotels.com - worth checking, breakfast was included in our price. In short, if you want a clean modern hotel within walking distance of tourists sights, with wonderful staff..........this is your place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay in our hotel, and that you have enjoyed Barcelona.
We look forward on welcoming you in your next stay.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Address: Cultural and Gastronomical Activities | Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#18 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#21 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#45 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 95% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, a la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Splendia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Barcelona Catedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.