We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Nuevo Colon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Nuevo Colon to your Saves list
Hostal Nuevo Colon
Avenida Marques de l'Argentera 19, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (Sant Pere - Santa Caterina i la Ribera)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #306 of 708 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Clean and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I read all of the reviews and they are definitely fair. The rooms are clean but VERY VERY hot (no A/C) - we stayed in a double with bathroom. If you aren't planning on spending much time in there it is a great location and extremely reasonable price.

The staff we friendly and our rooms were cleaned daily.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    50
    40
    8
    13
See reviews for
12
41
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Have stayed here many times over the past years and have to say the service has not always been exemplory mainly due to the language barrier. However its reliable, cheap and in a good position.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Great location (opposite Estació de França Station), nice staff and free, fast WiFi connection. Our room was facing the street and we were a bit afraid of the noise but in fact the third floor and new windows were enough to keep the room quiet. Also, the room itself was big and comfortable (we had a double with bathroom), the view from balcony spread from Ciutadella Park to Columbus Monument and Montjuic hill.

We loved their old fashioned lift, it may not be the fastest or biggest one in the world but most definitely has a certain charm, reminded us of this old Bunuel movies!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Hostel is perfectly situated. Easy access to all attractions. Great value for money.
We had a shared bathroom but clean and fine, no complaints! Room was at the back, with no view but desired silence after day long visiting.
Great for a short stay and as Barcelona is an expensive city, good rate for accommodation is an important matter!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011 via mobile

Directly opposite the Franca railway station on on the edge of the Born district, this hostal is easy to get to and perfectly located for exploring. Although quite small, the room seemed to have been recently refurbished to a high standard and was very clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. A great budget place to stay. A small point - this is a Spanish hostal with an "a" (a small family run place) rather than a hostel with an "e" that most travellers are used to. It is a bit unfair to make comparisons.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

After looking for a hostel for hours, my friend and I finally came across "Hostal Nuevo Colon" in the district of Born. There is a train station(Estación de França) across the street and a metro station just a couple of blocks away! Its location is great, its clean, and the staff was very friendly. The rooms are simple, this is no five star hotel, however, it is a very good value for a centrally located hostel in Barcelona. I would recommend it for a short stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

For £45 a night I was very disappointed. I was aware it was an hostel and so shared bathroom. But decor and furniture very low standard, no safe in the room. Security into the building was quite good, buzzer entry system (not that you were asked who you were), separate keys for room and entry to our floor and cctv. Exterior signage poor, and once inside confusing to work out which floor you need. Not even a portable TV in the room. Ok if all you want is somewhere to lay your head and then sod off again quickly. Location is very good.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Nuevo Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Nuevo Colon

Address: Avenida Marques de l'Argentera 19, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Sant Pere - Santa Caterina i la Ribera
Hotel Style:
Ranked #306 of 708 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Hostal Nuevo Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Nuevo Colon Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Nuevo Colon Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Nuevo Colon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.