We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Benidorm

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hostal Benidorm to your Saves list
Hostal Benidorm
Rambla dels Caputxins, 37, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #169 of 706 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel wasnt clean, had no balcony, the room was incredibly small and the worst was that we found our room unlocked after returning from a city tour!!! Of course everyone should know this is a huge problem considering the fact that Barcelona is famous for its numerous thieves!!! After reporting the incident to the hotel staff nothing happened and no measures were taken..... Not even appologies......the hotel staff was completly unfriendly and didnt care to help with anything.....we will never go back there again for sure and would not recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    120
    57
    12
    12
See reviews for
31
76
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montpellier, France
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The room is very small, no view, no balcony, too simple for me. And at first when we take the room they give me a room with 2 bed but we booked one big bed in the site ,after 30 minuts discuss the give us another room ,The bed is small for 2 people (135x190) and the acoustics is terrible (our room was too close to the reception so we heard too much). For the price of 85 Euros per ,this hotel didn't worth that , bad choise

Room Tip: Confirm your reservation before you arrive. , terrible hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Spent 4 nights here with a friend in June. Considering the price, I was very impressed with the room. It was no frills but comfortable and very clean...which was perfect for us since it was pretty much just a place to sleep anyway. The staff at the front desk was very helpful. It's right on Las Ramblas and a short walk from the metro. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramsgate united kindom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Cheap and clean. Probably not the quietest place to stay, But the location means you are right on the amazing Rambles. From here you can easily walk to the Market,beach, and Metro . The Airport bus drops you off at the Plaza De Catalunya which is Also a short walk from the Hostal.This is a good base, and just 40 km away from the beautiful Montserrat mountains. The metro will take you to just about anywhere you want to go. It is clean, easy to use, and efficient, but watch your bag ! ( We booked again for June 2013, will update this then )

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Heart of Las Ramblas. Spent 3 nights here and will definitely return. Just steps away from fine restaurants, artists, street mimes, and Sangria. The office staff were friendly, knowledgeable, and assisted us in touring and finding places to eat. My room was spotlessly clean. Bathroom new. And my bed was so comfortable I could rest easy. BTW, the coffee machine made some delicious cappuccino.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

If you're looking for a no-frills place to essentially just lay your head down for the night, this fits the bill. Room and bathroom were very basic, but very clean and well looked after. No issues with security or anything like that, although staying on Las Ramblas naturally means you're face to face with all varieties of nightlife as soon as you walk out the main entrance. I wouldn't call it a fun or particularly warm place to stay though. There's somewhat of an institutional feel to it, the lack of sound-proofing of any kind means you run the risk of having to put up with the odd racket outside your room door, and the staff are as functional as the establishment itself. It's efficient in every sense, and this is all you should be expecting if staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Hostal Benidorm is very well located along La Rambla. Staff were very helpful and even lend us their Lonely Planet book for our stay in Barcelona. They had the standard amenities like towels, tissue paper, comfortable bed sheets, etc. They do not have toiletry items like shampoo, soap, tooth paste, tooth brush, and hair dryer, so make sure to bring your own.
No breakfast or anything but not a big problem since La Rambla has so many cafe's and restaurants open from the moment you step outside.
Security was OK as well and I recommend using their safe to keep your valuables. The ground floor gate closes at night so, you would have to "buzz" in for them to open the gate.
The room we stayed in had a balcony, which was right at the back of the Guell Palace (Palau Güell), making it more interesting as we see the palace's "backyard"

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Benidorm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Benidorm

Address: Rambla dels Caputxins, 37, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 706 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hostal Benidorm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Benidorm Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Benidorm Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Benidorm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.