We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, Great view from the balcony” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona to your Saves list
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Princesa 33 - 35, 08003 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #172 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Location, Great view from the balcony”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Hi all,

Just returned from our trip to Barcelona; what an amazing city! I found the hotel to be in an ideal location; bang in the city, walking distance from the Barri Gothic Quarter, Las Ramblas and the beach, etc. Though be aware that walking from the hotel to the beach might feel like a long distance (15-20 mins walk, when you're going there for the first time) but if you're up for a walk then it should not matter. In any case, you'll be visiting Barcelona whilst taking the walk to the beach. If you prefer getting there quicker, take the metro to Barceloneta and walk along the road to the beach (if in doubt, follow the crowd and don't be afraid to ask passersby).

We walked an awful lot whilst on our holiday, and although it was sometimes tiring, it was at the same time pleasant and i found that in some cases, it was the only way to explore and experience some parts of the city. Food-wise; get a guide and adapt your food preferences to the guide, simply because a lot of the places offer the same deals (15 euro for a 3 course lunch meal - but how good is it really?). If you want to eat a lot of seafood and need to know the places which are good value for money, then it may be a good idea to get a guide or research online. We would recommend Cafe Delfin in the Ribera area where we had the octopus and squid, respectively as tapas dishes and the lobster paella.

If you're otherwise not bothered, there are an incredible amount of bars, restaurants, gelaterias (an excellent one opposite the hotel), and eateries around the hotel area.

The hotel also had free wifi which we used daily to check the weather forecast (unfortunately in September it can rain a bit) and the computers on the first floor was a nice touch when it came to booking tickets to La Segrada Familia and Barcelona FC matches. There is a printer that you can use to print your tickets and this is to be seen as a god send if you have ever witness the queues outside the Cathedral!

The room was slightly on the small side and quite basic looking. There was a lovely power shower but no bath (at least not in our room). A lot reviewers talked about the noise level. If you have a balcony room, and the doors are open, there is quite some noise coming from the road below (although how likable or disruptive that is will depend on your preferences). However, when the doors are shut, you can hardly hear any noise. It is true that some noise can be heard from the hallways of the hotel from guests, however, we did not find it to be exceedingly disruptive. You can use the chairs to sit out on the balcony and watch the world go by. Also, on the Princessa Road, there are at least 2 supermarkets where you can buy cans of beer for 70 cents each (Damm Lemon is the spanish equivalent of a Radler and is refreshing after a day's visiting Barcelona. Alternatively, an Estrella will do the thing). Another great touch was the free water available on each floors (to be appreciated to infinity).

If you would like a fun way to visit the city, you can get an electric scooter (£20 pounds for 2 hours with a £50 deposit). It's great for exploring the coastline or simply speeding across the roads of Barcelona.

In addition, the hotel offers a luggage storage service. We checked out at 12 pm and stored our luggage in their locked room. We came back at 7 pm to collect our luggage and made our way to the train station.

Travel-wise; get a T-10 ticket (10 journeys for 9 euros 60 in Zone 1 - don't worry about the other zones, most of the things you will visit will be in zone 1). You can make your way to the hotel by public transport from the airport. From the aiport, follow the RENFE train signs to the train station. Buy a T-10 ticket from the ticket machine. Get the train to Passeig de Gracia. Be aware that from Passeig de Gracia renfe train station to the Passeig de Gracia metro station is a long walk; you'll be required to get out of the train station and walk to the metro. When you are outside, look down and follow the green line to the metro station (its like when you're outside Old Street station in london and you have to follow the green line to Moorfields eye hospital!). You can use the T-10 tickets for the whole journey (it should only be one ticket if it's within an hour).

Money-wise; I brought 300 euros (£261) and managed to have an excellent time. Food is plentiful and good. Drinks are really cheap. I found that the local bars offered local prices (£2.60 for a large glass of house red wine) and the same price for a pint of beer. Most of it will be spent on attractions I think.

If you are not bothered about the pool, you could get a more value for money hotel than the Ciutat de Barcelona. In September, you may not use the pool as often and it is also not a 'pool' - as it comes up to waist length. There is also no fitness centre here. So, if you're a fitness fanatic, or you're just used to getting some exercise, you might find this lacking. HOWEVER, we would thoroughly recommend the hotel because of the location and the atmosphere.

Have a lovely time in Barca!

Room Tip: Recommend whatever kind of room you prefer (balcony, quiet, double bed, etc) and they should accommo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    240
    56
    12
    16
See reviews for
87
228
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Having previously stayed at the Laietana Palace Hotel (see previous review) I tried to book the same hotel due to familiarity and excellent location. Unfortunately (or fortunately) the price to stay since our last visit had gone up considerably leading me to question the 'value for money' aspect. It was good, but not that good. Wanting to stay in the Gothic quarter, I found Cuitat de Barcelona by accident more than anything else, and having checked the price, I thought 'why not!' and duly booked 2 rooms. I was admittedly a bit apprehensive as I remembered walking down Carrer de la Princesa on our last visit and didn't see anything that looked remotely like a hotel. Just lots of old buildings that looked like they could do with a bit of a scrub up to restore the masonry.

Anyway, come the holiday, we arrived at the hotel (having found the location on Google Maps) and what a surprise. Lovely clean marble floored entrance, and very helpful English speaking staff on reception. So far so good. On to the rooms. We were allocated 507 which (like all rooms) was finished to a high standard. I guess the place has had a refit in the last few years as it was very clean, and well decorated. No bath in this room just a nice walk in shower.
There's a mini safe in the bottom of the wardrobe (which could be difficult to access for someone elderley or with poor joints) and the rooms don't have tea & coffeee making facilities. That was the only downside. But on the upside there is fridge at the end of the corroidor with plenty of cold water free to take away, which was always welcome. Aircon in the room is also a Godsend.

Breakfast we paid for as we went and to be honest here, we were going to go to Dunne's Irish Bar (as we did on our last visit) but they have changed opening times and now don't open until 10:00am - so that was a bit late for us as we wanted to be out and enjoying the sights. The range of food available was, toast (although the bread needed to go through the toaster at dead slow speed to give it any kind of complexion as the heating element was almost dead), scrambled egg, bacon (which looked a bit too fatty for my liking) 2 cereals, croissants, pastries, yoghurts, melon, fruit juice, tea and coffee. I stuck with scrambled egg on toast, cereal and fruit juice and a cup of tea.€11.70. Not bad but would have been better with some sausage as well and a toaster that worked - but ho hum, it was food and it set us up for the day. I think they cater more for the European client rather than the Brit, and Dunne's would still have been the preferred option.

Now, most visitors to Barcelona want to go visit Sagrada Familia. On our last visit there were hardly any queues. This time the queue went around the block. I guesstimate at least an hours wait to get in. So we left it and went back to the hotel where there is internet access on the first floor. And not only that, the PC's are linked to a PRINTER! So we logged on, booked trickets for the next day, printed them off and were able to jump the queue. So that facility is an excellent plus point!!

As for location, you are just a 5 minute walk from Parc Ciutadella (beautiful park), and in the other direction at the end of the road is the Jaume1 Metro stop. You are in the Gothic quarter with lots of side streets and alleys with their shops and bars, so you'll find it hard to not find somewhere to eat. And right opposite the entrance to the hotel is an ice-cream parlour. And for tea and coffee lovers you can get your Earl Grey or latte just a few dors away and then take it up to the rooftop area of the hotel and enjoy it in the sun on a lounger, or in a chair at a table under a sun shade. From here you have a view of Torre Agbar, Sagrada Familia, and in the far distance the church at Tibidao.

In a previous review I stated that I would be happy to stay at the Palace Laietana again, mainly based on the location. However, Ciutat has just as good a location and better quality rooms. Although the free water was welcome, you can't beat a nice cup of tea at the end of a days sighseeing. Despite this, Ciutat is now our first choice of place to stay on our next visit. All in all an excellent choice to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms lower down are closer to the internet corner. Rooms higher up are closer to the roof and pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heverlee, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed here for 6 nights with my girlfriend. The hotel has a very good location: close to many cafes, restaurants, places to visit, etc. Our room was nice: modern, very clean and quite large for European standards. We could have use a bit more closet space in the room. I asked for a quiet room while booking online and they gave us a room on the second floor, at the back-side of the hotel. The back-side is quieter than the front, but you don't have view (I don't mind not having a view). While we didn't have any street noise, we did have some noise from the neighbors. The walls aren't very thick, you can easily hear people talking in the hallway and you can hear the neighbors' air conditioning and shower quite clearly.

The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The pool on the roof is small but it's a nice little extra. I was pleasantly surprised to find out there is a cat that often walks around on the roof! The only real downside of the roof deck in my opinion is the number of smokers. I suppose the rooms are non-smoking, so all the smokers come up to the roof deck to smoke.

We did not have breakfast at the hotel, because you can easily find some good breakfast for a good price in one of the many small streets around the hotel.

All in all, we can certainly recommend this hotel and we would stay here again if we pay another visit to Barcelona.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Agree with the other reviews. The location is fantastic (El Born is great for cafes, bars, walking around etc.) The service is great - staff are all friendly and knowledgeable. Thought the hotel itself was really good: room was clean and had everything we needed. Pool and deck on the roof really nice to relax/ sun bake. Restaurant/ bar attached is good if you need something quick or easy. Big thumbs up from us!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I went away with my Mum, and stayed here for 6 nights in September. I had looked at the reviews on tripadvisor before we booked it and so we knew what to expect. The location of the hotel is really great, close to the metro and the old town so it is easy to get to all the attractions. There is also a lot of great restaurants in the vicinity and in El born area right on the door step and a great coffee place over the street. The room was smallish but comfortable. We has a room at the back of the hotel, which, although quiet, it looked out onto another wall and so was quite dark as you tended to keep the curtains pulled. Shower was good and the rooms were cleaned well. The free water was a nice touch, although my mum did miss having tea making facilities in the room. The great thing was the ability to go up to the roof and enjoy the sun and a dip in the pool at the end of the day. The staff were also really helpful. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the end of August and had a great time in Barcelona.
The location of the hotel is great, really central for the city, close to the beach and close to the Metro if you want to go further afield. If we go to Barcelona again would definitely consider this hotel again and would definitely stay in the same area.
The welcome at the hotel was very friendly and they found a plug adaptor for us to use for the duration which was a huge help. The bottled water on each floor is also a great touch as it means you dont need to buy any and can grab a bottle on the way out for the day.
The rooms were not huge, but more than large enough and were very clean. The bed was a bit hard for me personally but not really an issue for 2 nights. We had a room with a lovely balcony looking out over the street and while this is great in the day, there was quite a lot of traffic noise, especially on the Monday morning where the bins also seemed to be emptied which caused a lof of noise. The rooms are double glazed but it was still a bit noisy with the occasional scooter as well. Noise from people on the street was not an issue. There is also a safe in the room which provided peace of mind for the stay (not that there was ever an indication of a need for it). Air conditioning was also excellent in the rooms!
We did not have breakfast as there were so many great places to grab something nearby and we prefer not to eat in the hotel.
Roof terrace is nice, although the pool is small but enough to cool off. We were not there in the daytime where it may have been busier, also thought a bar to get drinks would have been a great touch at the end of the day.
The quality of sleep is the only thing preventing a 5 star rating as I found it a bit noisy, but this could be prevented by getting a room higher up of facing the other way.

Room Tip: It may be worth getting a room which does not overlook the front street if you are not a very heavy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

As an American traveling to Europe I knew not to except the super blush king size bed and oversized room. The Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona was perfect - the beds were nice, wifi was good and complementary water bottles was huge. We are planning to visit Barcelona again next year and will be staying here again. Breakfast was super good too! Hotel staff was very friendly and accomidating.

Room Tip: If you're doing a lot of site seeing and just need a place to come relax and sleep - this is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona

Address: Princesa 33 - 35, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#142 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#167 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciutat Hotel Barcelona
Ciutat Barcelona
Hotel Ciutat De Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.