We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in the centre of Barcelona” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelona Center Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelona Center Hotel to your Saves list
Barcelona Center Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Balmes, 103-105 | Esquina Mallorca, 08008 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #170 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very good hotel in the centre of Barcelona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Me and my fiance stayed at Barcelona Center Hotel over one weekend at the end of November. It did not seem to be full at this time of the year. The hotel is about 5 mins walk to the nearest metro and about 10-15 mins walk to the main train/metro terminal. It is minutes away from La Rambla and 15 mins walk to Sagrada Familia.

The check-in procedure was very expedient, however there was no assistance with the luggage. We booked a superior double room on the 5th floor. The room was in the middle of the front wall with well insulated windows so that almost no traffic noise gets in. The room was big and spacious, with a massive extra king size bed and some seating area. The bed was very comfortable and dark curtains ensured that you could sleep uninterrupted by the morning sun.

The bathroom was nicely decorated with good assortment of toiletries. There was a speaker connected to the TV so you could listen to music whilst having a shower. The room also benefited from a big walk-in wardrobe.

We did not use the hotel's restaurant, bar nor room service as restaurants and patisseries are all around the hotel.

Hotel highly recommended if you are looking for a quiet place to stay but still close to all what Barcelona has to offer. Staff is very helpful and not intrusive.

Room Tip: Worth spending a little extra on the superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    256
    74
    14
    8
See reviews for
80
284
27
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

It was an unforgettable holiday I had in Barcelona with my family. Even though it was late September but the weather was scorching and the water was gorgeous.
The hotel was very clean with nice facilities and delicious food restaurants inside of it. It was something I would live for again.
I would really recommend Barcelona Center Hotel.

Room Tip: Corner suits are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I have been at the Barcelona Center twice and i was totally satisfied both times. The facility is renovated and well maintained and clean. Rooms have a good size and all amenities with a modern pleasant decoration. The staff is very kind and professional. The location is perfect in the middle of the lovely Exaimple area, 5 minutes from Passeig de Gracia, 15 from lively Gracia and from Placa Catalunya giving the opportunity to explore all areas of Barcelona and not only the overrated Rambla! What else: the prices are absolutely appropriate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

It is a nice hotel but far from the city. It's a good 20 minute walk to Ramblas... The hub of the city. Why would someone want to spend a good amount of money to stay here as a tourist is what I ask. Everything was good, the breakfast was nice, staff was friendly, rooms were nice but location was a dampener.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This hotel is located on less than 5 mins walk of the Passeig de Gracia, 15 mins walk to the rambla. The underground station 'Diagonal' is some 5 mins walk. The rooms and bathroom are clean and there's everything you need. The beds are a little hard. Some noise comes in from the street during the night, but it is acceptable. Breakfast is ok, but not cosy. There's also a small restaurant/bar. We didn't try the food, but the restaurant looks nice and prices are great. Staff was helpful and friendly. In the neighboorhood of the hotel you find a lot of restaurants, breakfast locations and cervezerias.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We spent a long weekend in Barcelona at the beginning of November. The weather was better than expected too, which was a bonus - we'd not expected to be able to sit in a beach-side café on 3rd November, relaxing with a drink whilst watching people playing in the sea! This hotel is excellently located - just far enough away from the hubbub of the city to be quiet during the evenings, but only a pleasant 10-15 minute stroll to Catalunya Square. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Our room, whilst quite compact, was more than adequate for a 3 night stay and the bed was roomy and comfortable. Towels/toiletries were changed daily. Buffet breakfast was included in our package and we were always able to find something to satisfy our morning appetites, although we did find that the scrambled egg could have done with being a bit hotter for our tastes. There are plenty of decent bars and cafes within strolling distance of the hotel, so you should not have an issue finding somewhere to go in an evening. One observation though - we found the hotel bar itself very expensive, even for a city centre, when buying a couple of 'Spirit plus mixer' combinations. I would advise drinking 'out'. All in all a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Our room was on floor 5 - nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We had 4 nights here early September. Barcelona is a wonderful lively city to visit. it was our first visit and we wanted to be able to walk to a lot of places in the centre of the city, but not stay in a busy /noisy place The location was great, central but quiet, the room was clean and well fitted out, the staff were helpful, the breakfast was good.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room, so a view over the internal courtyard, but as we were out all day every d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelona Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Center Hotel

Address: Calle Balmes, 103-105 | Esquina Mallorca, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#107 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#132 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#191 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelona Center Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Barcelona Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Center
Barcelona Center Hotel Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelona Center Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.