We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are *very* basic, but everything else is ok. Excellent value and location is brilliant.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Abrevadero

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Abrevadero to your Saves list
Hostal Abrevadero
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   Calle Vila I Vila 79, 08004 Barcelona, Spain (Montjuic)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 312 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Norfolk, Uk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Rooms are *very* basic, but everything else is ok. Excellent value and location is brilliant.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

Very easy to find on Paral-lel and right by the subway station of the same name. Easy check-in (and leave room keys at reception whenever you go out). Small lift. Building is tall and narrow. Free Wifi, but signal only really covers reception (I could get a signal in my room - sometimes - by opening the window and putting the laptop on the windowsill). Storage lockers available for your last day after checkout - large, and 2 Euros a day (they're in a back room, ask at reception). Place does breakfasts, but didn't use them - this area of the city is absolutely packed with bars/restaurants/cafes/small-shops - must especially recommend the Chinese buffet, just round the corner on Carrer Nou de la Rambla.

Now the rooms, and bathrooms - they ain't great. Mine was 4th floor at the front (404), 2 very narrow single beds, cheapest possible furniture in the rooms, bare tiled floors (mine very chipped and damaged - but probably a comfort in high summer), and the en-suite bathroom had been fitted out extremely amateurishly. Bath enamel was very chipped, with a couple of big scabs of rust on it. Poor design meant shower leaked floods onto the (tiled) floor every day. Towels very thin indeed. My room also smelt a bit - I think this was because the floors are mopped over everyday (and the cleaners did do a very thorough job every day) - but bits of mop-water are getting into the very cracked tiles and sitting there to leave a not-so-great smell. Not awful, but not great.

This is also a pretty noisy area at night (any night), mostly due to the clubs and street-life. Doesn't bother me - might bother others.

However - overall - this hotel was excellent value. We stayed all week for the Mobile World Congress, and all the hotels are packed, and charging premium rates - 50 Euro a night for such a great location is a true bargain. The staff were all perfectly ok and helpful. It's a pity that the hotel doesn't have the rooms refitted to a good basic standard (rather than the comically bad workmanship) - it wouldn't cost them much, and would transform the place into an excellent budget hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    39
    37
    28
    32
See reviews for
20
39
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
warrington, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

This is a basic hotel make no mistake. Staff were friendly. Rooms old with peeling paint and basic furniture but this is a hostel.
The hotel were overcharging by around double because of a big exhibition.
However it is very well located for Metro and less than 10 mins to Ramblas. From a business perspective its 2 stops on the Metro to the exhibition centre or a 15 min walk.
Good enough for 2 nights as everywhere else was either not available, ridiculous price or far away,

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

Really unfriendly staff, very old hostel. Very noisy room, they could reform the hostel in general. Very bad experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

After travelling 20 hours to get to Barcelona from Californnia, My boyfriend and i finally arrived at Hostal Abrevadero on a hot day. We then had to wait 4 hours for our room. Once we received it, it was two singe beds in a very disgusting room facing a brick wall. It was nothing like what we saw in the pictures nor what we reserved. Thebed was like a stack of bricks and there was a condom left in the garbage. We asked to switch rooms b/c we did not want two singe beds for 5 days anyway and the owner/front desk person yelled at us and told us that what we saw was what we got and if we didnt want it then we could leave. He then said we had exactly 1 minute to decide what to do. When our minute was up, he decided to cancel our reservation for us and left us in the street to find a new hotel. He failed to mention to us that there was a medical convention going on and that every hotel had been booked for months. We searched for hours and finally found one place that had a room for 2 of the 5 nights we needed. We ended up leaving barcelona after the 2 days b/c there was no wehere to stay. The worse part is that once we got back to the states, we saw that Hostal abrevadero charged us for the full 5 nights after the guy swore he wouldnt. We had to then disput it on our credit card.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth,england
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights with some friends and the Hostel Abrevadero was within our budget. Don't expect anything spectacular but it's fine for somewhere to put your head down for the night. The owners were very friendly and helpful and the Hostel is close to la rambla and other sights.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

I thought this place was fine, better than the reviews suggested. Yes it's an old building and yes there are broken tiles, but it is kept very clean. Staff is helpful and to the point, and speaks English well. My room (a double room for single use) was quite spacious and the private bathroom was fine - the useful thingy on the wall to hold the shower head wasn't entirely functional, but the place was clean, big enough to move around, and there was hot water - for 40 euros a night, I think that's pretty good.

The location is good in the sense that it is close to the Rambla and all that. It is not a friendly neighborhood, but it didn't seem outright dangerous to me either.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay at the Hostal Abrevadero. The staff (mostly members of the lovely family who own the hotel) were friendly and gave great information about what to do and where to eat in Barcelona. The rooms were clean, comfortable and well maintained and I would definitely recommend this to any budget conscious traveler who doesn't like to compromise on comfort.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostal Abrevadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Abrevadero

Address: Calle Vila I Vila 79, 08004 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic , El Poble Sec
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 312 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Abrevadero 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel is a simple and comfortable place, ideal for those who want to experience the heart of the city from a quiet setting. Hostal Abrevadero has all the comforts for you to feel right at home. Our philosophy is to offer the guest a good level of comfort with friendly service. We like to give our visitors personalized service, offering them everything they need, from 24-hour reception to ticket reservations for events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, T4B, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Abrevadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Abrevadero Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Abrevadero Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Abrevadero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.