We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BCN Urban Gran Ronda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BCN Urban Gran Ronda to your Saves list
BCN Urban Gran Ronda
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ronda Sant Antoni 49, 08011 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #250 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Amman, Jordan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

My friend recommend this hotel for me. It is in a very quite and safe area in Barcelona the rooms are tidy and clean, the staff are friendly and helpful. I will stay in this hotel every time I visit barcelona.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    189
    85
    24
    14
See reviews for
58
175
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This hotel is very close to main square Las Ramblas. From airport, take aerobus, get down at Universitat stop and just 2 minute walk to the hotel. You may have to ring the bell at the door open as the automatic doors are not kept open. But once you get the key you can open it by urself. Btw they give only 1 key.
Staff is good. Breakfast is for 9 Euros per person, we opted to have outside and check out cafes everyday. There are many cafes every step you keep from hotel to main square. And much more cafes on the Las Ramblas. So its a good oppurtunity to explore them. 9Euro is way too expensive. We could have a good breakfast for 4Euros in many cafes.
We stayed in room 603 with Terrace. Will surely recommend this room. By mid day if you want to soak in sun, there is loadz of sun in room and terrace. But Sadly no lounger is provided. So we got a picnic mat and soaked up all day.

Tea coffee making facility is there, but they dont refill sachets. So get your own tea coffee milk powder.
There is a 24hr supermarket just behind the hotel, (which the hotel staff seem have no clue)sells all stuffs. And if you are Samosa Lover, he sells that too....!
Overall will recommend this place for its location and 603 room is good for sun!

Room Tip: 603. Terrace, lot of sun all day, quiet and away from sound of road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I had a very pleasant stay at this hotel for 3 nights.
The receptionists were very friendly, kind and helpful.
The room is vety clean and comfortable for the price we have paid.
The centralised air conditioner is not switch on yet due to winter but weather is abit warm.
We have to leave the window open at night to enjoy the cool breeze.
It is a few minutes walk to metro Universitat and about 10 minutes to La Ramblas.
I will definitely book this hotel in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is not the best, by any stretch of the imagination, but it is clean, friendly, very well located and fantastic value for money. We stayed just one night, whilst on business, so didn't really get to see too much of it, but I had a nice clean room, comfortable bed and a 5 minute walk to the very centre of the city.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I don't write poor reviews in general and think people deserve the benefit of the doubt, but my wife and I did not have a pleasant experience here at all. Having said that I will describe both pros and cons.

Let's start with the pros:
Location is decent and close to La Rambla, but this place is not worthy of 3 stars... maybe 1.5 stars, but not 3 for sure.

Cons:
The staff was RUDE, and not helpful. I expected a delivery to this hotel but they rejected it multiple times despite my multiple messages to hold it for me! Furthermore they demanded that I give my credit card information to hold it (over insecure email, so I insisted on faxing it to them), and when I arrived they then demanded cash instead (huh?). All of this may have been acceptable if the staff wasn't so belligerent about it.

The rooms had floor boards that were not aligned properly and were loose/sliding around, there was hair in the sink and in the bedsheets, and the beds themselves were two twins pushed together, but easily slid apart. No facial tissues expect a small travel size for one person, a pitiful soap dispenser in the shower that was supposed to serve as shampoo, conditioner and body wash. Generally a flimsy excuse for a room...

The are two elevators for the hotel and at least one generally did not work properly (doors would not close upon entering and selecting a floor) or elevator would not arrive to the floor when called. Not exactly confidence inspiring...

Barcelona is an incredible place, but please do yourself a favor and find a different hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

(Stayed here for 3 nights in August 2012 but trip advisor won't let me select it). The hotel was clean, the staff were really helpful and knowledgable about the area. It also felt safe and was close to the main street. I would definitely stay here again if I return to Barcelona.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Booked through BA Holidays. Had read previous comments on TripAdvisor so expected a reasonable stay.
Arrived and was checked in in 5 minutes, friendly staff! Hotel is modern, very clean throughout. Room was a double, and may be a little small but was in excellent order throughout. It was also very quiet for a city centre hotel.
Breakfast included and I was surprised by the amount of choice on offer - (I did not need lunch on both days after their breakfast!).
Was given lots of advice on where to visit by the reception staff, who were very pleasant and friendly and helpful.
Location of this hotel is great, cost was very reasonable and I will definitely use again and recommend to others! (I did take a picture of the room, and deleted it in error!!)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BCN Urban Gran Ronda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BCN Urban Gran Ronda

Address: Ronda Sant Antoni 49, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval , Sant Antoni
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #250 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BCN Urban Gran Ronda 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your BCN Urban Gran Ronda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsis Gran Ronda Hotel
Apsis Gran Ronda Barcelona
Gran Ronda
BCN Urban Gran Ronda Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BCN Urban Gran Ronda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.