We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel for a fantastic honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olivia Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Olivia Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Olivia Plaza Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Catalunya, 19, 08002 Barcelona, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #45 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“fantastic hotel for a fantastic honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

My wife and I stayed at his hotel for one week for our honeymoon, and we absolutely loved it. It was my second time in Barcelona, so I had a good idea of where I wanted us to stay. First of all, getting there from the El Prat airport was almost too easy: just ask where you can take the bus that takes you right to Plaça Catalunya. I believe the ride was 5 euros a person, so have some cash ready. A short while later we were getting off the bus and crossing the street to our hotel.
Upon walking in we were greeted by only smiles and polite people. The bellhop helped us with our luggage to the room and gave us a little tour. We were on the 8th floor with views to the courtyard. I was hoping for street views, but I was actually very well pleased with the views that we got over the city roofs to the beach. I can't say how happy we were with the workers at the hotel with one exception (I'll get to that). To give some examples, we brought cava back to the hotel to drink in the courtyard which I then spilled all over the place; the bartender heard and rushed with towels to clean it up and extra ones for us. Also, the bellhop who was patient enough to let me practice my Catalan with him and give us the 411 on attending the Camp Nou for a match (I got tips on that too, if you want them). Everybody tried their best to answer our questions and were very helpful. My only complaint was that the cleaning ladies could get pretty loud outside our room when we wanted to sleep in. That only happened a couple times, though.
As far as the room goes, we were very pleased with it. We got a triple, which included a sofa-bed that we sometimes used to watch tv. It was all very clean and neat. The layout of the room was unique and had a very efficient use of space. We loved the shower, although you can't leave the door open with the shower head running, or it could spill out of the shower. No bath tub, but we didn't miss it. There were some imperfections with the construction of the room, but you had to look pretty closely to find them, and they didn't really affect us at all. I will say that the lights took some practice to figure out what each button did. I did love, however, that I could raise the blinds with the push of a button in the morning without getting out of bed. One thing that did bug us, however, was the wifi connection which was very weak. They should do something about that.
As far as the location goes, well you really can't beat it as a tourist. Las Ramblas is literally around the corner and Passeig de Gracia is across the plaza; those two streets have very different feels, so each night we could easily decide which feel we wanted for our dinner. The buses and metro are also so close that you'll feel spoiled. If you want to do some grocery shopping to save on meals, go to the bottom level of El Corte Ingles, which is also on the plaza, and eat on the plaza or take it back to the nice lounge in the hotel on the 2nd level. And for the Americans that get really homesick, there's a Burger King and a McDonalds also on the plaza. We found it perfect for grabbing something before heading to Barça match.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and would definitely love to go back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    408
    90
    25
    18
See reviews for
188
585
42
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Staffordshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

Olivia Plaza is a lovely modern hotel in an excellent central location. The location does not get much better with great views (we had a room on the 10th floor overlooking Catalunya square) & easy access to public transport (the airport bus, underground & city sightseeing buses stopped across the square). Barcelona is a great city for sight seeing with plenty to see & do with lots of good places to eat, drink & shop. As in any city eating & drinking within the main tourist trap areas ie the Ramblas can be pricey but we found plenty of places just off the main areas which served good quality food at sensible prices. Would fully recommend the Olivia Plaza as a good clean modern base to stay in Barcelona.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

We just returned from 2 nights at the Olivia Palace. The location was great for the metro buses, shopping and general sightseeing. A large number of rooms ( from 11 to 14 on each floor) look out over the inner courtyard which is contained under a glass roof, with the bar and reception being on the lower floor. These standard rooms had no access to fresh air, when opening the windows and the nosie from below would echo. The A/C was very good and quite. Our room (14) had a small window and looked out on to a corridor and there was very little natural light. There is a roof terrace giving a good view of the city. Breakfast was expensive at €20 per head, there is a cafe at the front of the hotel selling coffee and pastries. Free internet available too.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

Perfect location...off airport bus at Plaza Catalunya and cross the road.
We celebrated my wifes' birthday during our stay..I requested cava and flowers (like you do!), reception staff were extremely courteous & helpful with a nice birthday greeting and strawberries dipped in chocolate....a perfect start to the holiday.
The hotel room had a great view of Plaza Catualunya, and if you looked the other way you had a view of the glass walled shower...a bit wasted on ourselves as we are a little bit the wrong side of 65! Open plan bathrooms look great, but not sure on praticalities.
Breakfast was good, with most tastes catered for.Nice bread... good coffee... hot food (eggs, sausage, ham) if that's your thing, and you could eat between 7 - 11am.
Didn't get chance to sample dinner...too many good places around!
Thanks to all at the Olivia Plaza for helping to make it a memorable visit.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

Fantastic new hotel on Plaza Catalunya! Perfect ! Wonderful rooms and breakfast buffet. Helpful staff.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahus, Sweden
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

We got a spacious room facing Plaza Catalunia. Very trendy interior that suited us fine. The breakfast was perfect in we had ours outside in the small garden on a glassfloor.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Olivia Plaza hotel for 2 nights prior to our cruise departure. Like previous reviews, the location is fantastic. We took the Aerobus from the airport to Placa Catayluna and the hotel was just a very short walk away. There is easy access to taxis, double-decker buses, las Ramblas, etc.

We enjoyed the modern look of the rooms. The open style bathrooms may not be for everyone. We did not eat at the restaurant . The staff spoke Engligh and were very helpfull. The airlines had lost 1 of our bags and the hotel staff took care of arranging the delivery of our bag to the hotel for us.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Olivia Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia Plaza Hotel

Address: Plaza Catalunya, 19, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#51 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#113 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Olivia Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olivia Plaza Hotel is a 4-star boutique hotel located on Plaza Cataluna in Barcelona, in the heart of the city. It's the perfect choice to be just moments away from Modernista Barcelona, Las Ramblas, the financial and shopping districts and the best museums. This modern, urban building opened its doors in February 2006. The Hotel has 113 rooms, each stylishly decorated with special care and good taste. The hotel combines style, comfort, quality and personalized service to provide all guests, whether business or pleasure, with the best possible service. Its privileged location allows guests to walk to Barcelona's most emblematic monuments, as well as to the city's best shopping areas. Likewise, it is very close to many public transport options so guests can move around the city or to and from the Barcelona Airport, with the Aerobus just outside the hotel. At Olivia Plaza Hotel, YOU are the center of Barcelona. Olivia Plaza Hotel belongs to the Olivia Hotel group, alongside Olivia Balmes Hotel, in the center of Barcelona in the Eixample, and the Cava & Hotel Mastinell, a 5-star enotourism hotel in Vilafranca del Penedes. All of this combined with exquisite service from the Olivia Hotels staff will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Agoda, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Olivia Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia Hotel
Olivia Plaza Barcelona
Olivia Plaza Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olivia Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.