We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in a hectic city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olivia Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Olivia Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Olivia Plaza Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Catalunya, 19, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Oasis in a hectic city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Wonderful, quiet oasis bang in the centre where the old town and Las Ramblas meet. Room bright and colourful with a lovely view of remnants of the old town. Quirky arrangement of sink in the room and bathroom having a sliding glass door only, so probably not ideal for everybody. Room not soundproof, neighbours' conversations could be heard as well as doors being opened and closed. Dining area – especially the outside part – very nice, though difficult to maneouvre with plates and mugs in your hands as you have to navigate a tricky threshold. Often saw people close to tripping. Breakfast hit and miss in that on some days trays were replenished and coffe/milk/juice containers refilled, while on others they were simply left empty. As I had booked a special deal, which was almost half their regular rate, I would recommend it, but for twice the price I would not.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia P, Director General at Olivia Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear ijnlg, thank you for your comments. We will work to improve access to the dining terrace and we will improve refilling the buffet at peak times. Your sincerely, Manel Ortiz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    426
    96
    25
    19
See reviews for
198
621
44
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Booked three nights initially but extended to five due to comfort and location. Friendly staff on check in, speedy free WiFi and super comfy bed. Rooms modern and clean. Shower great...in fact the shower head delivered a life experience of awesome. Had a meal in the restaraunt, not expecting much, but we were both blown away with quality of the food. Will stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We were initially greeted warmly and with our room not being ready until the afternoon the porters were more than happy to store out luggage while we had a fabulous breakfast and a first tour of the city!

The staff were more than helpful upgrading us to a higher rate room as we were not happy with the twin bed room we were first allocated and there had been a cancellation. The staff were also very helpful in advising us of local attractions and bars and restaurants that are a must to visit. Our room was fabulous, very modern, open plan and comfortable! I could have done with a few more hangers in the wardrobe but maybe that was just me packing too many clothes as always! I had thought there was a pool and I was disappointed that there was not but I had read so many hotel reviews and descriptions that I hadn't realised this one did not have spa facilities, however, for a city break, the location was fabulous right near the main bus terminal, the metro and la rambla. I would stay again and would highly recommend Olivia Plaza.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hod Hasharon, Israel
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Hotel is ideally located in the center of Barcelona. Easy access to any touristic site.
Breakfast is rich. Staff is friendly and any request is promptly fulfilled. Rooms are large.
BUT the modern design of the rooms' interior is not human. No cupboards, just some shelves and racks. No bathroom. Just 2 cabins: A shower and toilets with opaque glass walls . Sink is outside near the bed (with a mirrored sliding partition). No privacy when exiting the shower. No hangers for the towels.
I Would not recommend staying un the hotel more than 1 night especially if travling with children.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia P, Director General at Olivia Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear isr2014, thank you for your feedback. We regret that you would not liked the modern design of our bathrooms and we appreciate all the positive comments about the rest of our services and staff. Your sincerely, Manel Ortiz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful recent few days at Olivia Plaza with my family. From our initial encounter with the front desk staff to the moment we left, our stay was exceptional. Location could not have been more convenient with everything needed to explore the breathtaking city at the doorstep. The hotel is boutique-like and ultra modern and the rooms clean and quiet. The shower was a pleasure to use. Room service was always on time and brought with a friendly smile. The staff, particularly the ladies at the front desk are fantastic- highly professional and extremely helpful. We would recommend the hotel to all and very much look forward to future stays.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We have just returned from a short trip to Barcelona staying in the Olivia Plaza hotel. We loved it. The staff couldn't do enough for you and were extremely friendly. The location was ideal and just looking out of the window on to Placa Catalunya was just like watching a silent movie. The room was so soundproof. Loved the quirky decor and the shower was amazing. Probably the best hotel we have stayed in in Barcelona and believe me we have stayed in a few. Will definitely stay there again, provided everyone reading this review decides the same!!!

Room Tip: Try rooms 307,308 or 309
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is perfectly situated. The aerobus stops very near, the metro is there, the tourist office also, La Rambla on your doorstep. The hotel is spotlessly clean, our room on 7th floor had a great vue of Plaza Catalunya. The bathroom arrangement is slightly odd but perfectly adequate. The staff are all polite but vary on how helpful. One helped us for ages trying to get tickets for Sagrada Familia on the internet (not an easy task as when you have a ticket the site rejects a perfectly good card time and time again) and said reception would print but when we got there receptionist was less than happy to do so. Also we arrived april first on the day Barcelona FC were playing at home, we didn't want to book ahead as it is a lot of money to waste if your plane is late. The receptionist said they could get tickets but they offered us agency prices (almost twice as much) and said if we didn't want those we would have to chance it at the gate. She forgot to mention that there is an official Barça shop across the road that sells tickets at the proper price (tourist office sell them too). On top of that, there was an issue with our bill, they had miscalculated when we arrived, but instead of letting us know (4 days to do so), they waited until we were leaving and called us back to say the bill had not been paid. Was very miffed and looked stupid in front of other guests as if we were trying to pull a fast one by leaving without paying. All in all a good hotel, clean, good rooms perfect location, hit and miss on the service.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Olivia Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia Plaza Hotel

Address: Plaza Catalunya, 19, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#37 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#42 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#118 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Olivia Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olivia Plaza Hotel is a 4-star boutique hotel located on Plaza Cataluna in Barcelona, in the heart of the city. It's the perfect choice to be just moments away from Modernista Barcelona, Las Ramblas, the financial and shopping districts and the best museums. This modern, urban building opened its doors in February 2006. The Hotel has 113 rooms, each stylishly decorated with special care and good taste. The hotel combines style, comfort, quality and personalized service to provide all guests, whether business or pleasure, with the best possible service. Its privileged location allows guests to walk to Barcelona's most emblematic monuments, as well as to the city's best shopping areas. Likewise, it is very close to many public transport options so guests can move around the city or to and from the Barcelona Airport, with the Aerobus just outside the hotel. At Olivia Plaza Hotel, YOU are the center of Barcelona. Olivia Plaza Hotel belongs to the Olivia Hotel group, alongside Olivia Balmes Hotel, in the center of Barcelona in the Eixample, and the Cava & Hotel Mastinell, a 5-star enotourism hotel in Vilafranca del Penedes. All of this combined with exquisite service from the Olivia Hotels staff will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Splendia, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Olivia Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia Hotel
Olivia Plaza Barcelona
Olivia Plaza Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olivia Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.