We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olivia Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Olivia Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Olivia Plaza Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Catalunya, 19, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Medina, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This hotel is lovely, beautiful and is characterized by an excellent location. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Breakfast is limited but could be suitable for those who are in diet. Everything was fine however the noise of that busy street can't be solved for the first floor rooms. Anyhow Barcelona is a great city and Spanish people are so kind so nice and polite, I like them all.

Room Tip: Customers staying in the first floor rooms could be suffering from the street noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    426
    96
    25
    19
See reviews for
198
621
44
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

This was a lovely hotel right next to Plaza Catalunya. 2 minute walk from the airport express bus. Metro stations are 2 minute walk away. Lovely coffee shop next door. Really close to Barcelona Cathedral. Staff were wonderful and the room was comfortable and had everything I needed - very modern. Loved it - highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Down
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed in July 2013 - as this seemed to be the most popular month it was more expensive than what I would normally pay, however it was worth it!

The location was excellent - only a few minutes walk from the main shopping district and La Ramba which made it really convenient for a weekend break. The room itself was clean, modern and bed very comfy. They also made excellent use of the space (try finding the shower when you go in!) I would definately consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

When my friend and I checked-in at the hotel's standard room, we were quite surprised to find it small in size, with an awkwardly looking pillar in the middle of the room, while the separation of the toilet and the shower isn't ideal if you are sharing a room with a friend, as there is no privacy. However, after our feedback to the Front Office Manager, Martha, she was kind enough to upgrade us to a top floor, superior room. It was definitely better than our experience at the standard room. We had a great view of Plaza Catalunya, a door that provides privacy for the bathroom area, although the toilet and shower were still separated. But if you are open to contemporary style hotels and great location, then this is the hotel for you! In addition, service at the front desk was excellent, as the whole Front Office team was always hospitable, friendly and helpful. One of the Front Office staff even walked us to a nearby ticket kiosk when we wanted to buy the tickets to the Sagrada Familia. Martha, the Front Office Manager has certainly set a great example to her team. Stayed 4 nights and would choose the hotel again but would stay at the superior top floor room.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room or suite as a standard room is quite small and not comfy to move around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Olivia Plaza as a part of our honeymoon, and we really enjoyed it! It provided a GREAT base for sightseeing (right on Plaza Catalynya), and the staff was able to answer all of our questions. The room was comfortable and well appointed, and we really appreciated the extra gift for our honeymoon. The breakfast service was delicious as well!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This hotel is not business friendly. A joke actually. Maybe good for tourists. Wifi is spotty and when you do get, it is after 11:00pm. And if you can figure out their strange authorization method after an hour, you have to keep re authenticating every 15 minutes. GRRRRRR
Great, now where to work.? No where other the bed (2 in mattress). So I leave and get fresh air to recharge laptop since it went dead getting online. Come back and.... It's still dead... They KILL all power to the room when you leave. See joke comment. Guess I have to pack a UPS next time. Sheesh! There is no iron or coffee maker in the room... Like I'm going to make off with 23 watts of power and then resell it to charge a street person's iPhone.


doesn't stop there....That includes all power to a/c too - which doesn't work when you are in the room any away ...or I guess a 2 degree cooler improvement over 4 hours is supposed to acceptable.? The Seasons change faster than that. Buy ice on the strip and some cold drinks before you get back.

Here's the worst... One light switch option. 1,800 watts of harsh, glaring halogen lighting -every single bulb goes on!!! No museum painting in the world endures this kind of lumen assault. the room, bathroom, hall everywhere al at once. Flashbulb. Bring sunglasses. OK, option 2- total darkness. I actually bought some candles (since electricity is apparently scarce to supply) to be able to read work documents before bed. See joke comment again. Guess I have to pack table lamps now. Hopefully no one has to get up in middle of night and not wake partner....pulling the fire alarm is less jolting out of bed than the 18 light bulbs that fire up to roast your retina.

Staff are outstanding.... Unfortunate the product is just crap.

Room Tip: Try a hotel that hasn't had a renovation based on the space station layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Excellent location, Service and staff. We stayed in this hotel after sevens days cruise. We arrive early in the morning and the Room Was ready at this moment. We recieved an excellent Service from the staff. I strong recomended this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Olivia Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia Plaza Hotel

Address: Plaza Catalunya, 19, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#37 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#42 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#118 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Olivia Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olivia Plaza Hotel is a 4-star boutique hotel located on Plaza Cataluna in Barcelona, in the heart of the city. It's the perfect choice to be just moments away from Modernista Barcelona, Las Ramblas, the financial and shopping districts and the best museums. This modern, urban building opened its doors in February 2006. The Hotel has 113 rooms, each stylishly decorated with special care and good taste. The hotel combines style, comfort, quality and personalized service to provide all guests, whether business or pleasure, with the best possible service. Its privileged location allows guests to walk to Barcelona's most emblematic monuments, as well as to the city's best shopping areas. Likewise, it is very close to many public transport options so guests can move around the city or to and from the Barcelona Airport, with the Aerobus just outside the hotel. At Olivia Plaza Hotel, YOU are the center of Barcelona. Olivia Plaza Hotel belongs to the Olivia Hotel group, alongside Olivia Balmes Hotel, in the center of Barcelona in the Eixample, and the Cava & Hotel Mastinell, a 5-star enotourism hotel in Vilafranca del Penedes. All of this combined with exquisite service from the Olivia Hotels staff will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Splendia, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Olivia Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia Hotel
Olivia Plaza Barcelona
Olivia Plaza Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olivia Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.