We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our finest experiences ever...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olivia Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Olivia Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Olivia Plaza Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Catalunya, 19, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
1 review
“One of our finest experiences ever...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We had a fabulous experience!!! The hotel and staff were great. We especially want to say great things about our experience with Rebecca. She was a consummate professional and not only took care of us like we were family, she consistently went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable.

Highly recommend this hotel, and suggest you see Rebecca if you have any issues or concerns. She is the best!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    422
    95
    25
    19
See reviews for
195
614
44
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The property is beautiful and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. In particular, Ms Rebecca Alonso from the Front Office was wonderful. She was most professional, knowledgeable and helpful with all our special requests and made us feel welcome straight away. Thanks to Rebecca, who did go above and beyond the call of duty - we had a fantastic time and made our stay at the Hotel Olivia Plaza the highlight of our trip. We will definitely be back!

Andrea

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia P, Revenue Manager at Olivia Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Andrea W,

We really apreciate your comments and taking your tame for share your experience in Tripadvisor site. All our staff always is trying to do its best in order to satisfy the expectations of our guests.
We hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards,

Francesc González
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I don’t normally write a review on places I stop at, but I am making an exception this time. The reason for this is because our recent weekend away was fantastic from the moment we booked in until we checked out. The staff are very friendly and offer great customer service. We had no complaints about the room we stopped in as it was clean and tidy.
On arrival the hotel had left a bottle of Champaign and chocolate coated strawberries in our room as a surprise for my wife’s birthday, which went down very well with he wife:)) also the view from the room was fantastic as it overlook the square, especially at night!!
Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitely stay here again. Thank You

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia P, Revenue Manager at Olivia Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Chris D,

We would like to say you: Thank's from all Olivia's Hotel staff regarding your wonderful review. We always try to amaze our customers to make your stay at the hotel Olivia becomes an unforgettable experience.
Do not hesitate to visit us again if you come back to Barcelona.
Kind regards,

Francesc González
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel is on Las Ramblas. The rooms were very modern, streamline and clean. We had double twin beds which were perfect for me and a friend. The staff were polite and helpful. We will certainly stay here again. The staff made excellent recommendations as to places to eat. They also made our reservation for the flamenco show in the area. This was fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights and had a fantastic time!! This hotel is in the perfect location to get to everything in Barcelona. Rooms were big enough. Novel bath arrangement but shower was nice and everything worked well. Only negatives were no washcloths and woefully slow of nonfunctional wifi.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Writing this from room 810....great room, join the membership program for free before you check in and you will most likely get upgraded. This hotel could not have a better location...exactly in the middle of the touristy ramblas and the great restaurants of the exaimple. We literally got off the bus from airport and were right at the hotel....couldn't have been easier if it tried. Room is awesome, especially bathroom and staff is really friendly...could not recommend enough! Saw lots of hotels while here that I had looked at before picking this one and didn't see one that I wished I had booked instead

Room Tip: 810 is a great room! View of the square, quiet, beautiful room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia P, Revenue Manager at Olivia Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear FMBurns1,

Many thanks for sharing you experience in Tripadvisor's community. We hope you enjoy the benefits of becoming membership. And we would like to thank your for choose us during your stay in Barcelona.
Hoping to see you again, kind regards,

Francesc González
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This was my second time at Olivia Plaza over last few Years. The hotel rooms are simplistic, yet well designed and very comfortable, free WIFI. My room was clean with almost no wear and tear and one of the best rain showers I have recently seen. I do like the modern bathrooms with open space to the guest rooms. A few things for the hotel to work on is the free WIFI code that you must enter into your device almost every time you want to sign in. My room 103 had an interesting view, but was next to the service entrance, where staff was banging the door all morning and I could not sleep, this should not happen. Also did not find the staff overall friendly. All together, you can not beat the location of the hotel and it is for sure value for money. Book them direct!

Room Tip: Rooms with Plaza Catalunya Views are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Olivia Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia Plaza Hotel

Address: Plaza Catalunya, 19, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#43 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#119 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Olivia Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olivia Plaza Hotel is a 4-star boutique hotel located on Plaza Cataluna in Barcelona, in the heart of the city. It's the perfect choice to be just moments away from Modernista Barcelona, Las Ramblas, the financial and shopping districts and the best museums. This modern, urban building opened its doors in February 2006. The Hotel has 113 rooms, each stylishly decorated with special care and good taste. The hotel combines style, comfort, quality and personalized service to provide all guests, whether business or pleasure, with the best possible service. Its privileged location allows guests to walk to Barcelona's most emblematic monuments, as well as to the city's best shopping areas. Likewise, it is very close to many public transport options so guests can move around the city or to and from the Barcelona Airport, with the Aerobus just outside the hotel. At Olivia Plaza Hotel, YOU are the center of Barcelona. Olivia Plaza Hotel belongs to the Olivia Hotel group, alongside Olivia Balmes Hotel, in the center of Barcelona in the Eixample, and the Cava & Hotel Mastinell, a 5-star enotourism hotel in Vilafranca del Penedes. All of this combined with exquisite service from the Olivia Hotels staff will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Olivia Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia Hotel
Olivia Plaza Barcelona
Olivia Plaza Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olivia Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.