We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olivia Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Olivia Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Olivia Plaza Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Catalunya, 19, 08002 Barcelona, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #44 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Writing this from room 810....great room, join the membership program for free before you check in and you will most likely get upgraded. This hotel could not have a better location...exactly in the middle of the touristy ramblas and the great restaurants of the exaimple. We literally got off the bus from airport and were right at the hotel....couldn't have been easier if it tried. Room is awesome, especially bathroom and staff is really friendly...could not recommend enough! Saw lots of hotels while here that I had looked at before picking this one and didn't see one that I wished I had booked instead

Room Tip: 810 is a great room! View of the square, quiet, beautiful room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia P, Revenue Manager at Olivia Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear FMBurns1,

Many thanks for sharing you experience in Tripadvisor's community. We hope you enjoy the benefits of becoming membership. And we would like to thank your for choose us during your stay in Barcelona.
Hoping to see you again, kind regards,

Francesc González
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    408
    90
    25
    18
See reviews for
188
585
42
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This was my second time at Olivia Plaza over last few Years. The hotel rooms are simplistic, yet well designed and very comfortable, free WIFI. My room was clean with almost no wear and tear and one of the best rain showers I have recently seen. I do like the modern bathrooms with open space to the guest rooms. A few things for the hotel to work on is the free WIFI code that you must enter into your device almost every time you want to sign in. My room 103 had an interesting view, but was next to the service entrance, where staff was banging the door all morning and I could not sleep, this should not happen. Also did not find the staff overall friendly. All together, you can not beat the location of the hotel and it is for sure value for money. Book them direct!

Room Tip: Rooms with Plaza Catalunya Views are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We spent two nights before and one night after our cruise vacation. The Aerobus (airport bus) stop, Metro station, Tourist Information Center are just across the street. Popular restaurants, major shopping district, La Boqueria Market are all within easy walking distance. Staffs are very polite & friendly, especially Fernando at the Front Desk. The Room we had was small, but functional and very clean. One thing is Hard Rock Café just next door of the hotel, so groups of people crowded outside the hotel whole day long.

Room Tip: Rm # 311 was very small, only has a single panel slide door for both toilet and shower. (Maybe this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

It was in the centre of everything .. Great staff, felt the rooms were a tad bit small, however it was a great experience .. And the air conditioner didn't work properly. But apart from that nice hotel

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Very modern hotel facing Catalunya Sq. i cannot fault the location as we were able to walk everywhere. The Aerobus stop is literally over the road.

Service is good, very polite & friendly.

Rooms are spacious & comfy. I love the rain shower. Only thing i didnt like was although hotel was very contemporary in design, there were lots of snags in the room - floor was cracked by sink, shower door has no internal handle so difficult to slide & tears in carpet.

Overall very good, safe location.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We spent at Olivia Plaza hotel 5 days during October. It is a nice, clean and modern hotel in an excellent location. Everything is easily accessible - main tourist spots, restaurants, shops, subway etc. Friendly staff, clean, quiet and modern room with a nice view. Only food was average - we decided to eat outside.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stay regularly in BCN and still find Olivia hotel the best in terms of price Quality an Location. The friendly staff and service of the people behind the Frontdesk are excellent and everytime they give me the feeling of coming home. No remarks and since i travel a lot i know people make or break the pleasure of your stay. I highly recomnend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olivia Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia Plaza Hotel

Address: Plaza Catalunya, 19, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#51 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#113 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Olivia Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olivia Plaza Hotel is a 4-star boutique hotel located on Plaza Cataluna in Barcelona, in the heart of the city. It's the perfect choice to be just moments away from Modernista Barcelona, Las Ramblas, the financial and shopping districts and the best museums. This modern, urban building opened its doors in February 2006. The Hotel has 113 rooms, each stylishly decorated with special care and good taste. The hotel combines style, comfort, quality and personalized service to provide all guests, whether business or pleasure, with the best possible service. Its privileged location allows guests to walk to Barcelona's most emblematic monuments, as well as to the city's best shopping areas. Likewise, it is very close to many public transport options so guests can move around the city or to and from the Barcelona Airport, with the Aerobus just outside the hotel. At Olivia Plaza Hotel, YOU are the center of Barcelona. Olivia Plaza Hotel belongs to the Olivia Hotel group, alongside Olivia Balmes Hotel, in the center of Barcelona in the Eixample, and the Cava & Hotel Mastinell, a 5-star enotourism hotel in Vilafranca del Penedes. All of this combined with exquisite service from the Olivia Hotels staff will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Olivia Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia Hotel
Olivia Plaza Barcelona
Olivia Plaza Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olivia Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.