We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olivia Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Olivia Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Olivia Plaza Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Catalunya, 19, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed here for one night during a quick trip to Barcelona.
All I have is praise, the staff were fantastic, especially the front desk guy on the evening of the 19th of November. Extremely helpful.....thankyou!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The rooms are modern, quiet and different in a refreshingly good way, and had a fantastic view over Plazza Catalunya. The beds are also extremely comfy and cozy.
Great location, just a step from anywhere.

Next time in Barcelona I will definitely be back.
Thankyou!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: A room overlooking the square is fab. Nice to spend a few minutes just watching the people and worl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    422
    95
    25
    19
See reviews for
194
614
44
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
laguna niguel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We are currently staying at this hotel. We had booked a triple room, but we asked to be moved to a room with more private bathroom facilities as we are traveling with our 20 year old daughter and the walls are frosted glass. They were happy to oblige for 40 more euros per night. Our new room, a suite on the 4th floor has a great view and private bathroom area. However, there was no bedding provided for couch bed, and it was less than pleasant to see what the mattress looked like. Internet is spotty and the shower needed to be fixed, even though I asked about it earlier in the day. I had to ask for more towels, and we waited over 40 minutes for a new key to be brought so we could move rooms, despite being told 10 minutes. The tv didn't work in our original room. Other than these inconveniences, the location is perfect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor G, General Manager at Olivia Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear lj,

Thank you very much for your review and for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona. I'm very sorry for the inconveniences you had during your stay. You had a triple room, and unfortunately there was no enough privacy for three adults, so we offered a 60% discount on the upgrade to a suite room, so you could be more comfortable, as we have a sofa bed for cases like this one. Also, I take note of all the problems you had with the service, so we can arrange new procedures and avoid making those mistakes again.

Once again thank you very much for choosing us.

Kind regards,

Victor Godall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Spent 5 days in Barcelona at the Hotel Olivia Plaza. The rooms were a good size with the bathroom being a bit of a novelty with the sliding wall. :-) We were in a room on the first floor overlooking the plaza. The only thing missing was a tea/coffee in the room. All staff were very polite and welcoming. Hardrock cafe is next door to hotel and we popped in there for a couple of meals. There as also an ice cream shop which we found impossible to pass! The metro is just across the road so no matter where we wanted to go it was really quick and easy to get there. The other great point was the airport bus was virtually on our doorstep. We visited Monserrat, did a fat tyre bike tour, visited most of the "Gaudi" places of interest and the Magic Fountain. Would definitely recommend the Olivia Plaza for a comfortable and ideally situated place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor G, General Manager at Olivia Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear MagDav57,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Olivia Plaza hotel.

Kind regards,

Victor Godall,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is a good hotel, with a perfect location. The airportbus stops right outside :)
Nice design in the rooms, but you should ask for a room facing the Placa de Catalunya.
The beds are just heaven!
Very good breakfast, a bit expensive if you dont have it included.

Room Tip: you should ask for a room facing the Placa de Catalunya
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor G, General Manager at Olivia Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Samina5304,

Thank you for your nice review.

Kind regards,

Victor Godall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I picked this hotel as it is modern, right by the shopping area and also walking distance from the airport shuttle. The hotel is in a very lively area and great for those wanting easy access to the airport the next day. Walking distance to all the main shopping areas. The room was ok and quiet for the price and the hotel amenities are minimal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband, daughter and I stayed at Hotel Olivia Plaza this past weekend and it was fantastic in every way. The room, location and hotel staff were all beyond my expectations. I had read many reviews for this hotel on Trip Advisor and thought that people were exaggerating, but the Olivia proved as great as everyone says. I will stay here again next time I visit Barcelona.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 808 and it was quiet and had a spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel is a very good choice for a trip to Barcelona. First of all: location -> the Aerobus from the Airport stops 250 metres from it. Who wants to use the tourist buses has stops for the two lines at the same distance. Corte Ingles is across the street, Barri Gotic is 5 minutes by foot, also Eixample.
We had the luck to be upgraded from a superior room to a junior suite so I can only rate this one: it was an excellent room. Big bathroom, living room and sleeping room with view of Plaça de Catalunya.
As we stayed 9 days we saw all there's to see of the city. If I would go to Barcelona again, though, I wouldn't look for another hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Olivia Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia Plaza Hotel

Address: Plaza Catalunya, 19, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#43 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#119 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Olivia Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olivia Plaza Hotel is a 4-star boutique hotel located on Plaza Cataluna in Barcelona, in the heart of the city. It's the perfect choice to be just moments away from Modernista Barcelona, Las Ramblas, the financial and shopping districts and the best museums. This modern, urban building opened its doors in February 2006. The Hotel has 113 rooms, each stylishly decorated with special care and good taste. The hotel combines style, comfort, quality and personalized service to provide all guests, whether business or pleasure, with the best possible service. Its privileged location allows guests to walk to Barcelona's most emblematic monuments, as well as to the city's best shopping areas. Likewise, it is very close to many public transport options so guests can move around the city or to and from the Barcelona Airport, with the Aerobus just outside the hotel. At Olivia Plaza Hotel, YOU are the center of Barcelona. Olivia Plaza Hotel belongs to the Olivia Hotel group, alongside Olivia Balmes Hotel, in the center of Barcelona in the Eixample, and the Cava & Hotel Mastinell, a 5-star enotourism hotel in Vilafranca del Penedes. All of this combined with exquisite service from the Olivia Hotels staff will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Olivia Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia Hotel
Olivia Plaza Barcelona
Olivia Plaza Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olivia Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.