We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Local with great suckle pig” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El cochinillo loco

El cochinillo loco
Mercado de la boqueria, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)
666913663
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,053 of 6,673 Restaurants in Barcelona
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Eixample
St. George, Bermuda
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Very Local with great suckle pig”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The atmosphere is very local, clean and very friendly. The food is good quality for the price. We had the roast pig and it was very authentic and tasty. the portion are very large and easy to share. I would retund to have the seafood platter that look amazing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    62
    16
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
miami
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best seafood platter!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This restaurant serves the best seafood platter!! We ordered the grilled seafood platter, which is A variety of seafood that is seasoned and cooked to perfection. Definitely buy some bread at the market to soak up the juices. Price was very reasonable and the service was good. A must go if you are I'm Barcelona.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We went here last August for a 4 day trip and stumbled across this place while walking through the Food Market. Wow, the seafood platter was amazing all fresh and hot. Served with a couple of bottles of White it was the best food we had the whole trip. You HAVE to go if you are visiting the market.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic seafood platter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stumbled upon this small restaurant in the Boqueria (by the side of the market off LaRambla) and decided to try the seafood platter for lunch. We shared one portion and it was enough for a light lunch. The portion was generous ( do see the photo). Seafood was really fresh and I wished I had bread to soak up the juices! I ended up scooping up the juices with the mussel shells - yum! There is limited seating and we were lucky to get a place for lunch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good Seafood at the Boqueria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Feared a tourist trap but quick check of Trip Advisor app made us take the risk. There were four of us and it was a good sign that the waiter was recommending the seafood platter for 2 instead of for 4. He said it was more than enough for us. He was right! Loved the razor clams, mussels and fish. Very generous serving and good friendly service.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El cochinillo loco also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to El cochinillo loco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El cochinillo loco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.